We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Much Different Stay”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A Much Different Stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at Sky Ranch Lodge half a dozen times in recent years, I have always opted for a rim view room and always enjoyed Sky Ranch Lodge up until this visit. It is an older facility with nice, casual 70's style decor. The reason to stay at Sky Ranch Lodge is for the view.

I find myself quite displeased with this experience. The first issue was on the deck patio the first night, we had 1 chair and had to request a 2nd chair twice before one was delivered the next day so we could not really enjoy the patio that evening at all as we would have preferred. The chair that was on the patio was filthy with old paint splatters all over it.

I also noted many insects in the room including ants, crickets and spiders--one of them on my bath towel when I looked down. Both my husband and I have several bites from some critter in the room, it looks spider in nature. I count 5 on my myself as I type.

The most annoying factor of the room was the fact that there was a big zero privacy. People who did not even appear to be residents of Sky Ranch Lodge thought it was just fine to come down and stand in the area immediately in front of our view and block the views, they bantered loudly, it included people doing photography and seemed like an endless parade. I really disliked that and felt I was booked into the worst possible room for that particular foopah. Sky Ranch Lodge has constructed a new little patio addition/common area right there which was a nice touch, but people did not stay on that, they wandered down and showed an amazing sense of oblivion to why those of us paid for the room with the upgraded view option. I am willing to live and let live but this behavior stepped way over the line.

The other thing that was most annoying was the incredibly loud AC unit, if watching TV when it came on, it required increasing the volume to be able to hear what was being watched and turning it back down when the unit switched off.

I also note that an email I sent expressing my concerns was completely ignored. I looked at my husband and we both agreed, this was not the experience we had in mind although we loved being in Sedona for our anniversary and found every other aspect of our visit to be beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DixieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    495
    130
    59
    34
See reviews for
389
575
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights prior to heading up to Lake Powell. The hotel sits on top of a hill and has a spectacular view of some of Sedona's Red Rocks. There is a patio where you can sit and watch the sunset behind the rocks, awesome! The rooms themselves were a little dated (giant old tv!!) and the wifi was a little flakey, but very clean and comfortable and provided a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. The grounds were very nicely landscaped and maintained and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We got a super rate on this hotel and our room was on the backside, if I go back I would definitely pay a little more to get one of the rooms overlooking the rocks, fantastic view, and after all that is what we were there for!

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with the views of the rocks, worth paying a little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

On our way back home to Lake Havasu City from a trip to visit our families back in Michigan, my husband and I (with our dog in tow) decided to make a detour trip to Sedona that evening. Somewhere on the New Mexico/Arizona border we used the Kayak ap to see what was available for that evening in Sedona, and the Sky Ranch Lodge was the cheapest option available that was pet friendly.

First of all, driving into Sedona is absolutely breathtaking, that's an experience unto itself. We drove through the village and meandered up the winding road to the lodge, we were thrilled to see what we'd booked!

The hotel sits high above Sedona offering gorgeous views of the mountains and the town below. The property is layed out in such a way that the buildings containing the rooms are all separate, circling around the hotel check-in area and pool. We checked in, got our room key, found the building our room was in and parked (right outside of our room which I really liked).

The room itself is a BIT dated, but huge and had everything you could need, including a kitchenette. We made good use of the balcony/porch off the back of the room overlooking the garden area. We also took the dog to walk off some energy after being cooped up in the car for three days, around the property & it's shady gardens, to the "sunset viewing patio" to take in the views.

We made our way back to the room for dinner after sunset, and came across a huge tarantula in the garden area near the pool. A woman who works there said it was "their" tarantula and we learned they're all over the property. Sadly, at sunrise while walking through the parking lot, we noticed there were a few unfortunate tarantula's that got ran over after the sun went down.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or room service, but there was a menu in our room for the grill at the airport right next door. I knew there was a Picazzo's there (a favorite of mine, but they one in our town closed) so we ordered pizza & salad from Picazzo's, just a short drive away, and ate back in the room on the balcony.

I wouldn't hesitate to come back to the Sky Ranch Lodge, and wish our trip could have been longer. The hotel isn't luxurious, so if that's what you're after you'll be disappointed. But, if you're like us and like a great bargain and the "experience" rather than the "stuff" this hotel should be at the top of your list!

Room Tip: They have "Rim View" rooms which are pricer, but sit right on the edge of the cliff offeri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstewart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glastonbury, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On Airport Mesa-so you can watch incredible sunsets every night. Walking distance to Mesa Grill.
Large comfortable rooms and reasonable prices. The hosts were very gracious. The rooms are set among gorgeous gardens. There are some rooms in three 2 story buildings which have great views of the gardens. Some rooms are on the edge of the mesa and have great sunset views. The wine bar is very convenient for a leisurely drink before walking down to enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A wonderful, unpretentious resort. Beautiful, well kept, good attention to details. Reasonable priced. BUT: One of the best features in the resort is the Sunset Patio, which was kept closed for the resort's guests because of a private event. That was very frustrating!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigatoni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay. Had never stayed at Sky Ranch before. Will definitely return. Very friendly staff. Even tho it is near the airport, you rarely hear anything. WiFi works well. I watched a movie, got email. There are several wifi connections throughout the property, so no need to worry about getting connected.

Rooms are very clean. To be honest, the rooms do not have the lastest decor, so if this is important to you go spend $200 a night more elsewhere. The rooms are great.

My suggestion for a room is to get a room with a balcony, as they are very private. The patios are much less private. Place has wonderful relaxing grounds.

Have stayed at the Enchantment at $400 a night, don't bother, stay at Sky Ranch!!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oilartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sky Ranch Lodge has become a regular getaway for us.
It's less than two hours drive from Phoenix for us.
The location is brilliant!
Being up on top of the Mesa near the Sedona airport means no noise from the busy main roads. But you're literally minutes away from the shops and restaurants.
Some people will argue that the rooms are a bit dated. Can't satisfy everyone I guess.
The grounds here are great.
We often bring our own breakfast items, and either sit on the patio or find a picnic table and just enjoy the peace and quiet early in the morning.
Then take a stroll over the the view area.
The staff has always been very friendly and accommodating.
And dogs are allowed (mega bonus!!)
Upgrading to the garden deluxe is worth it IMO.
Our next stay is already booked
That about sums things up

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,215 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.5 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Property: Sky Ranch Lodge
Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing