We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the Fancy Hotels and Spas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Forget the Fancy Hotels and Spas”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The owners of Lantern Light Inn, Ed and Kris, made our stay in Sedona outstanding. Our suite, The Ryan Room, was spacious and well-equipped with a kitchenette, fireplace, comfy bed and furniture and a big bathroom. The beautiful patios and gardens with the pond and fountains and flowers reminded us of our recent trip to Spain. Once past the wrought iron gates it was hard to believe that we were in the city. The breakfasts were out of this world with Ed and Kris being the most gracious of hosts. They made suggestions about sights to see and places to eat. We took their advice and were completely satisfied. We would recommend this place to any of our friends and family and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJHToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After combing through tons of reviews we landed on the Lantern Light Inn for a weekend getaway from Tempe, AZ. What a delight! We couldn't be more pleased with our choice. Ed and Kris are absolutely wonderful. Very accomodating, they made us feel right at home. The breakfast both mornings was delicious. My husband and I couldn't decide which one was better. We stayed in a courtyard room which is one of the smaller ones but it was perfect for us. It had a shared patio out back with a lovely courtyard. When we arrived Friday, they had a wonderful cheese plate set out for us and the corkscrew and wine glasses I had requested. Ed and Kris had great recommendations for hikes and area atttractions. My husband and I enjoyed their music room on Saturday night where we messed around on the keyboards and guitar. We can't imagine staying anywhere else now that we've been to the Lantern Light Inn. You can tell that the owners do it because they love it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksashbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stumbled onto the owners (Ed? and Kris) when we arrived in Sedona and couldn't get into our reserved room at another establishment. It was late a late sunday night on Labor Day weekend, and no place to stay. We happened to drive by their place, I called and they said, yes they had a room (but didn't take credit cards). We went over; and they were the nicest couple--and they lived on the premises. (Apparently a lot of B&B owners today don't live on premise). They had an elegantly furnished, smaller room which we spent the night ($129 or so). We gave them some cash, but they told us to just mail them a check. Amazing to find that kind of helpfulness, and sincerity in today's world where we are all so crushed for time.

Room Tip: Great value, wonderful people, and nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonzoboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This charming bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations. From the moment that I spoke on the phone with the innkeepers, I knew it was going to be a special experience. At one point, the innkeeper mentioned that they don't do it for the money, but because they enjoy being innkeepers. This was truly apparent and refreshing to meet people who really do what they love in life.  They were gracious hosts and staying at the bed and breakfast was a truly satisfying experience.   Here are a few of the things that justify my excellent rating:
-friendly and knowledgable hosts (they not only gave us several local maps and restaurant menus, but also provided detailed verbal recommendations and insider insight)
-clean, well decorated inn and guest rooms
-plenty of beautiful common space to enjoy both indoors and outdoors
-extra touches that made us feel very welcomed (cookies waiting in our room upon arrival, delicious breakfast delivered to our door in the morning)
-reasonable rates (I compared with both hotels and bed and breakfasts in the area and they were definitely the best rate-I could not have enough gotten a 3 star hotel for the same price)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife land I had the pleasure of staying with Kris and Ed for 4 nights in the courtyard red room at Lantern Light. The LL is perfectly positioned if you want to hike Boynton or Fay Canyon as they are super close to Dry Creek road. From the moment we met them, Kris and Ed were kind and generous. When we arrived, Kris met us at the interior door and immediately gave us several local hiking ideas and local restaurants. They had to leave for a few days for medical issues but left a knowledgable and friendly assistant innkeeper with us. We got a deal on the room because the kitchen was closed. We could hear a bit of the nearby street but it was never a major issue. The place is wonderfully decorated inside and out. Kris and Ed are the right kind of B & B owners - they care about their guests and their desire to have a good time. Couple of things to be aware of: the beds are firm, which is to some tastes and not others. The carrot cake and cookies are delicious. There is a nicely decorated meeting room if you want a small retreat space. If the old fashioned alarm clock keeps you up, just place it outside the room. If our travel plans call for it, we will be back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AZWiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Lantern Light Inn for 4 nights in March. Ed and Kris are incredibly warm and engaging and helpful. The facilities are comfortable and charming, the bed is yummy comfortable and the food is delicious. An easy great choice for enjoying Sedona with heart.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simileasItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We've stayed at the Lantern Light Inn several times over the past few years and are always happy to return. We truly consider it our home away from home. Most recently we were there in November 2011 and before that in September 2010. Although the inn is conveniently located on West Highway 89A, you experience peacefulness, quiet and a sense of solitude because of the way the inn is situated set back from the street. The rooms are beautifully decorated, careful attention has been paid to the landscaping, and the innkeepers are happy to accomodate, even anticipate, your needs. We have stayed in the Sedona Guest House Suite twice and the Ryan Room at least twice. The things I like best are the convenient parking, the spacious rooms, and the overall atmosphere (relaxing, quiet, pretty). Kris and Ed also prepare delicious and healthy breakfasts and we have always had a great time chatting with other guests in the morning. I highly recommend the Lantern Light Inn and know that we will continue to return in the future (as do many other guests).

Room Tip: The Sedona Guest House suite is spacious with a large living room, dining room, large kitchen, maste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.0 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Boots and Saddles
Boots and Saddles
#3 of 29 in Sedona
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alma de Sedona Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Apple Orchard Inn
Apple Orchard Inn
#19 of 29 in Sedona
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3085 W. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing