We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice, but needs improvement in a few areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just completed our 3 night stay at this property with our three young children. We stayed in a Garden Cottage (2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms).

Now....to the review:

A+ = setting / service / food service / ambiance

C = rooms (smaller than you would expect / queen size beds with rough linens / very small bathrooms in our cottage / a bit shabby rustic decor).

For the (expensive) price with additional fees for gratuities/etc, you would expect nicer/more comfortable accommodations. With the three kids, even though we had four beds, we were cramped as the Cottage was just too small and seemingly not as clean as you would expect.

This property attempts to be included among the best resorts in the USA, and it falls short a bit. If you are looking for a top notch resort property in a beautiful location without the drawbacks of this resort, try the AMANGANI (Jackson Hole) or AQUALINA (Sunny Isles, FL).

It is possible that this property is the best that Sedona has to offer, as I did not see the other resorts. But, that is a bit hard to believe, given that the Sedona area exudes wealth.

So.... would I come back? not likely, unless the room/cottage interiors were improved. I would try another property (perhaps the Enchantment, though I have not heard anything about that property).

At $ 300, this luxury resort is priced right. Since it is more than double (not including service charges), I do not think it is wrong to expect perfection all around ....

(just seems that management forgot about the room/cottage interiors)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are always working to improve our property to make it a place guests return year after year. Service is one of our top priorities so we appreciate the A+. We will take your comments on the cottage interiors and discuss improvements with our management team, we appreciate your honesty. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,409 - 2,415 of 3,388 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in November 2013. A friend had recommended it to us, and it definitely lived up to our expectations. The location and beautiful setting are what really set it apart. L'Auberge sits along Oak Creek in Sedona, and it is wonderful sitting outside and listening to the water. The restaurant sits right along the creek so you can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks in a magical setting. The service was great, and what was nice about the hotel is that they include tips in your room fee so you don't have to tip every time you turn around. They valet your car for you, take your bags to your room, etc. and you don't have to tip (they actually say the staff won't accept it).

Everyone was very friendly, and we enjoyed some of the activities the staff arranged for the guests, such as feeding ducks along the creek in the morning. The hotel doesn't really have a complimentary breakfast, but they do offer free mini muffins and scones with coffee. We didn't eat the restaurant on site but did have appetizers and drinks, which were good but a little pricey.

We stayed in a King room in the Lodge, and it was very elegantly decorated. The bathroom was small but nice, and the Lodge has two fireplaces downstairs where you can sit and play some of the board games they have out. Overall, it was a wonderful stay, and we would definitely come back to L'Auberge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and helping us keep the ducks fed! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and our non-tipping policy, our goal is to always give great service to our guests. We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our 2 nights at l'Auberge were absolutely wonderful. We had the Lodge room 55 which We highly recommend. It fully over looks the Oak Creek and the red rock mountains. It has a balcony and seating area and is steps from the main building. The room is pleasant, a good size and has the spa amenities. The service at the inn, hotel, dining and bar is excellent . The dining room has a creekside view as well as creekside dining. The food was also excellent. Built into a hillside, accommodations include cabins as well. We did not utilize any of the spa services. It is easy to see why people keep returning to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Room 55 in the Lodge. Facing east, It overlooks the creek with windows everywhere and a has a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We're glad you enjoyed #55, which is in our CreekHouse, great for individual rooms as well as renting out all 5 rooms. We hope to see you again when it's warm enough to enjoy the same excellent food, creekside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Everything is perfect. The setting, the location, the friendly and helpful staff, the restaurant serves superlative food extremely well, there are plenty of fluffy white towels in the bathroom, a heated pool and jacuzzi (which I had completely forgotten about) charming cottages with classic interiors that are welcoming and a log burning fire that makes the room cosy and warm. It made our Christmas Day very special. And our little boy loved helping to set light and get more logs for the fire. Duck feeding, star-gazing and morning yoga is also included. Dennis the friendly astronomer is so enthusiastic and has an impressive 7ft long telescope to show all the constellations in the sky. Wandering down the creek with my 6 year-old determined to jump from rock to rock in the sunshine will stick in my memory.

We loved being so close to nature with all the luxuries of a top resort and it has the individual feel of a very high quality b&b. The little cottages are very special. Loved it and will come back as we really thought Sedona was a great place to hike and visit.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank cockneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We're delighted that you had a great stay and your son was able to enjoy it too! Those rocks in the creek are quite tempting! We hope you do come back….spring/ summer is a great time to be in the creek and there are so many more hikes to explore! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a lovely room in a cabin with a fireplace, very luxurious with all the little touches that made it quite special. While it was too cool to use the outdoor shower, I imagine that would be special in the warm weather. The hotel is sitting beside a lovely creek and has a beautiful view of sedona.
The manager Graham was very helpful with great recommendations hiking routes and dinner reservations and I would definitely go back. Sedona is a "must do" and this hotel was charming and quiet.

Room Tip: Cabins on the creek are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsharon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We appreciate you staying with L'Auberge and making Sedona a "must do"! You'll have to come back and try the outdoor shower under the stars, can't be beat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family of three (wife, teenage son, myself -- with two small dogs) just spent Christmas week at this wonderful place. Terrific time of year to be there! Got in our Christmas "hit" of snow in the pines (driving down from Flagstaff) while the weather all week in Sedona was cool but clear and temperate. Warm sun felt grand every day!

Although we kept a low profile and chose not to avail ourselves of many of services and amenities, we all totally enjoyed just hanging out to "veg," spend time together, and explore Sedona at our leisure. (Including a Segway tour -- what a hoot!). Stayed in jeans and casual clothes all week.

Our Garden Cottage (# 9) worked just fine for all of us. Indeed, AZMerrie's "luxurious and rustic" is the right phrase to describe it. Quiet and cozy at night - we all slept great. Almost everything we needed was there. And what wasn't there (e.g. an extra small fridge for pet food and meds) was promptly provided by staff.

Each morning, we'd build a wood fired, throw open the curtains and slightly open the porch slider to look out at the red buttes through the trees vaulting the creek while listening to the tumbling water. All from bed! Nice. (I was tempted to stay in bed all week!)

We had a meal at the Veranda Bar and Christmas Dinner at the resort's Restaurant. Both were delicious and appropriately portioned, our plates lovely to look at ;-). Kudos to Chef Rochelle.

Can't agree strongly enough with all the five star recommendations about the wonderful customer service. Everyone, and I mean everyone, seemed happy to be there and happy to see us. What a delight! Not knowing what to expect, we arrived like the Joads with too much luggage -- the bellhop didn't even wince. Our pooches were welcomed like traveling pashas.

I could go on but all-in-all, whether you're traveling alone or with a family, and want to pamper yourself in spectacular Sedona, can't go wrong here. Is it pricey? Yes. But as they say, you get what you pay for. Should also say I've stayed at more expensive hotels that lacked L'Auberge's consistently enjoyable customer service.

PS. Other than in it's restaurants, this resort has a "no tipping" policy! Found this made our stay much more relaxed. Didn't have to think about keeping cash on hand. Should also figure this "savings" into your total cost of the stay.

PPS. For you stargazers, the night skies are remarkably clear here. The resort also provides, on site, a local astronomer's telescopic "tour" of notable cosmic sights -- satellites, constellations, planets -- that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: If you're wanting privacy and quiet, the individual "cabins" should fill the bill. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofcr_Friendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for spending your Christmas vacation with us! And thank you for the great review of your whole stay, we're glad the whole family (pooches included!) enjoyed L'Auberge. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sedona and were able to "just veg"! We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

L'auberge is both luxurious and rustic. Unlike many resorts in Sedona, this one is situated next to a bubbling creek, surrounded by trees. It is a little walk to the stores and restaurants in uptown Sedona, but L'Auberge has a free (sort of, it's covered in the resort fee) shuttle to take you there. My one complaint is that the pricing wasn't transparent. There is an extra nightly charge for the resort fee, parking, and a mandatory tipping fee. Restaurant was fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge, which had a wonderful rustic feel to it. If you have trouble with stairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZMerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and writing this review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the ease of getting to Uptown Sedona. I apologize that the service fee wasn't made more transparent to you, we will address this with our team. We do have a nightly service fee, which covers gratuities for the entire staff, excluding food, beverage and the Spa at L’Auberge. Also, there is a parking fee. All the daily activities offered are included in your stay including daily yoga, 3 times weekly stargazing, a photography tour and more. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $391 - $1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing