We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed by room and patio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I reserved a room at L'Auberge de Sedona based on it's great reputation and on- line reviews. When we arrived we where impressed by the beautiful location, grounds and friendly staff. Unfortunately, our room in the Lodge was a huge disappointment. For $500 a night we expected more. The patio greeted us by having a black thong on the ground that had not been picked up by housekeeping! The rest of the patio had a drainage pipe and a fence with no view. The bathroom was outdated and so small that we could barely close the door to get into it. The pool looks like a motel pool with little landscaping and the "spa" consisted of one dark room with 4 chairs where you waited uncomfortably for your therapist and were supposed to sit after the treatment. The whole place looks outdated and can use a major overhaul!
I should have complained when we checked in but I was trying to stay positive!

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't get the Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, General Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to write this review. I'm glad to hear that you were well taken care of by our staff. I apologize that you did not feel your expectations of your room were met. I would be happy to discuss this with you further if you would like. Jesse Alexander 928-204-4313

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,657 - 2,663 of 3,536 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I totally disagree with below review! I was so shocked to see a negative review for this place! Just got back from the loveliest 3 night stay I can remember ever having!

We stayed in a Spa Cottage. I didn't want to leave. Could have moved in! The cottage was modern, with a nice patio, comfy canopy bed, and the best bathroom I've ever seen. A huge spa Jacuzzi tub, gorgeous indoor shower, and an outdoor shower to boot. On the website we didn't see that there even was a fitness center, so we were happy that there was. It faces the pool and does have windows so it's bright with natural light. There is enough equipment for our needs (and we are gym people). We didn't use the pool, but it's big, clean and inviting, and we saw a few other people out there having a great time.

This place has the best staff. Every single person we encountered during our stay said a friendly hello and was there to offer help or advice. We got great advice from Graham, the concierge, who made our road trip to the Grand Canyon easy and fun. The guys at the valet were all so accommodating and friendly.

The restaurant is incredible, the veranda bar is really cozy (we found ourselves there a few times). They offer coffee and scones in the morning which is lovely as well!

Other nice side notes are that included in the resort fee there is endless bottled water available, rides into town or to restaurants, and the resort fees include any tipping so there are no awkward moments of trying to figure out when and how much to tip for things.

We didn't look at any of the other room options... the Creekside cottages looked cute but I think they are less modern than the Spa cottages. The Vista Cottages looked great. A friend of ours stayed in the Lodge and had a great experience. But from our experience, I would definitely recommend trying out a Spa cottage!

I would HIGHLY recommend staying at L'Auberge. We will be back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Spa Cottage was fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summerwinds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We appreciate your review and support of L'Auberge, thank you for taking the time to write this! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our Spa Cottages...for your next stay we suggest a Vista Cottage, same interior as the Spa but has a great red rock view! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I had a recent 2 night stay at The Laubege in Sedona . The hotel and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. We stayed at The Lodge building The staff was friendly, courteous and professional. Our every need was anticipated. I asked to have the fireplace lit at The Lodge and someone was there within minutes. The Valets chauferred us where ever we wanted to go at any time. It was truly a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.Everyone wished me a Happy Birthday when I arrived, I would highly recommend The Lauberge to friends and intend to spend my birthday there again next year.
Lynn Evangelist, Surprise, A.Z.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Happy Birthday! Thank you for chosing to spend your special occasion with us! We're glad to hear that you were well taken care of, we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a one night escape for our Anniversary! Thanks to Jacalyn (reservations) for setting us up with the BEST room, which was a cottage. She even made mention that we were celebrating an Anniv. and we had a bottle of Champs and strawberries w. a nice note waiting our arrival. Thanks, Jacalyn for making this the BEST ANNIVERSARY ever!!!

From the moment we arrived, Beau, Chase, & Matt made sure we were happy and taken care of w/ our car and rides into the town. Beau went out of his way to show us around on the way to the room, as well as keeping our cooler iced. The next day Beau remembered us and gave us water in our car as we left the resort- WOW!

Benjamin checked us in and was so helpful and kind. We loved that he called us by name and was 100% committed to us having a perfect Anniv Weekend. Also, Natalie @ the front desk made sure we were well taken care of and never w.o a soda or anything we may have needed. Thanks to everyone @ this hidden gem in Sedona. We can't say enough good things about the top-notch service and genuine care from the employees.

The room was perfect, spotless, spacious, and more than we ever imagined!!! Most likely the nicest place we've ever been and we've traveled ALOT!
We appreciated everyone so much! Thank you all - we WILL return.

Room Tip: Cottages on the CREEK ~ Amazing and scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEDENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Happy Anniversary, we're honored that you chose to celebrate with us! We are happy to hear that you met a number of our wonderful team members here at L'Auberge. We look forward to having you return for many more anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the L'Auberge where we stayed in the Lodge. The resort's landscape is lovely and the entire staff is spectacular. Our French breakfast omelets were the very best and the with service was exceptional.. The grounds are stunning.

The fitness room is disgraceful. It is a small room with four treadmills that face the wall. This is 2013, the equipment should be state of the art. There should be large windows so when exercising you can look outside. The pool is uninviting. Old chaise lounges with no one to set you up with towels.

Lastly, and most important was our room in the Lodge which was so bad we were in shock. I looks like it's from 1950 with old disgusting chipped furniture, small TV, carpet that desperately needs replacing. One side of the mattress was broken so badly, it was like you were sleeping in a valley. One old chair, lighting that is insufficient for reading and a broken safe. The bathroom sink was extremely tiny.

For a 5 star resort, it's shameful. We are experienced, sophisticated travelers and we have never stayed at a resort with such poor room accommodations.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the LODGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caryn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, General Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the omelets and our wonderful staff. I do apologize that you did not feel your expectations of L'Auberge facilities were met. I would be happy to discuss this with you further if you would like. Jesse Alexander 928-204-4313

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this resort! We stayed in a Vista Cottage (#88) that had a spectacular view from our large deck. We're early risers, and found it very peaceful in the morning to sit and have breakfast on the deck watching the sun come up. Our room was spacious, and we loved the outdoor cedar shower, particularly after a long day of hiking. Service here, valets, wait staff, front desk, concierge, housekeeping, management, were all outstanding. A nice surprise worth mentioning is they do not allow tipping except in the restaurant & spa, and yet the service was still amazing. Loved that the valet stand always had iced bottled water, and your room was well stocked with it as well (no charge). We visited end of May/beginning of June, and it was starting to warm up, so we were grateful for the water. The restaurant creek side is not to be missed. We made reservations for our first evening there and for Sunday brunch. Dinner was excellent! While some reviews said it was pricey, we felt it was an excellent value for a three or four course meal and the food was amazing. We loved it so much, we had dinner there again on our last night. Brunch was out of this world! We never felt rushed and the wait staff did an excellent job of being attentive without hovering. We sat creek side every time. It was truly relaxing, beautiful and romantic at night. We did experience the spa, but this was the only part of our stay we felt was so-so. We would skip it next time. At the end of the day, it was nice to come back to the room where turndown service had nice, soft music playing and the room smelled fabulous! Overall we were exceptionally pleased with our experience here, and will definitely be back. The only miss was we were there for my husband's birthday (I mentioned this when making the reservations for our stay and reservations for dinner our first night, which was his birthday). A simple "happy birthday" would have been nice. One last thing we found pleasantly surprising was how peaceful this property was. You would never know it's right by tons of shops & restaurants. All the convenience without giving up the feeling you're in your own little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We appreciate your glowing review of L'Auberge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us. Waking up and watching the sun rise over Snoopy Rock is a favorite of many, so glad you were able to enjoy it! Celebrating our guests' special occasions is one of our service standards, thank you for letting us know about yours. We will take this back to the staff in our continued training efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First class all the way! Matt, who checked us in, went above and beyond for us. The accommodations are fabulous, spacious, classy and at the same time cozy. The grounds are stunning and there are places to sit all over the property right on the creek. The spa was fantastic and Sarah is excellent (I had the sugar scrub and wrap). It is so peaceful you can just feel the stress leaving your body. We loved it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaniAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and including the names of the staff that went above and beyond for you, we'll be sure to thank them! We're delighted to hear that you were able to relax and feel the stress leave your body. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $397 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing