We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but location could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice, but location could be better”
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I booked our cottage at L'Auberge du Sedona after reading reviews here stating that it was walking distance to downtown. The good news: It was indeed just a short walk up the hill to reach downtown. The bad news: Downtown Sedona is really little more than a hodge podge of tacky t-shirt shops. Most of the desirable restaurants and activities are driving distance away, so there's really no advantage (in my mind) to being able to walk to town. Having never been to Sedona before, I guess I expected the downtown to be similar to downtown Santa Fe, hence the desire to stay in a hotel close to downtown. Next time, we'll book away from downtown -- perhaps at The Enchantment Resort or Mii Amo where you're surrounded by beautiful red rock views at every turn. The drive from town to the Enchantment (and other outlying resorts) is not bad at all, so don't let location be your determining factor when booking your hotel. Greater Sedona is much more sprawling than you might expect.
Regarding L'Auberge itself, it was fine. Not quite as "deluxe" as I expected, but fine. We booked a cottage, opting for a garden cottage rather than a creekside cottage since it was $100 less. If I were to return, I would opt for creekside (cottages 15, 16, 18 and 20 seemed to have the best orientation) since the garden cottages are right up against the parking lot (noise factor). The cottages that are closer to the lodge itself are preferable in my opinion, since the cottages near the entrance to the property overlook an RV park on the other side of Oak Creek. The lodge rooms (not cottages) themselves don't seem particularly desirable, in my opinion, as they overlook the parking lot. Having a fireplace in our cottage was nice as it snowed the first day or two we were there.
We never had dinner at the property restaurant since the dinner menu didn't particularly wow me. However, we did have breakfast in the restaurant everyday and were happy with the food and very happy with the personal service (waiter remembering what juices we liked, etc.). Prices were not bad ($35 or so for two including tip). The convenience of eating breakfast on property before embarking on the day's activities was a big plus in my book.
Greater Sedona (not downtown) is simply breathtaking, one of the most beautiful landscapes I've seen. We took a number of short (and some not so short) hikes in red rock country. I wish we had brought a small backpack along as my tote bag didn't quite cut it.
Be sure to drive out to the Enchantment Resort, eat lunch, have a prickly pear margarita, take a hike in Boynton Canyon, drive out to Crescent Moon State Park below Cathedral Rock, drive up to the airport (located atop a mesa) for an amazing view of Sedona.
We drove to the Grand Canyon one day, wisely taking the advice of the concierge and taking the long way up: Hwy 89 north from Flagstaff with a detour to the Wupatki Natl Monument (lots of Indian ruins, Painted Desert views, etc.), then west on Hwy 64 to the east entrance to Grand Canyon Natl Park. Be sure to take a lunch along as there is NO PLACE to eat between Flagstaff and Grand Canyon Village on that route.
Happy vortex hunting!

  • Liked — restaurant on property for breakfast, fireplace in cottage
  • Disliked — property is very tightly packed, few views from garden cottages
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PPop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,348
    429
    201
    87
    56
See reviews for
548
2,030
96
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Although L'Auberge was a major splurge for my husband and me, after five days of pure bliss in our cabin, we decided the expense was worth the outlay of money. From the first moments we arrived, the staff attended to our every need before we even asked.

We arrived as guests were enjoying gratis wine and cheese and crackers h'or doerves in the lodge. A young woman was perched on the stone fireplace strumming and singing to a guitar.

The concierge accompanied us to our car, took out all the baggage, and escorted us to our cabin. He spent time showing us around our room and grounds, and explained the night's activities, including the astronomy event. He invited us to use the concierge services for restaurant reservations. We rarely use this service, but since we were paying $25 service charge a day, We did so, and we were impressed with the accuracy and the nice table waiting for us at each restaurant we requested.

At Dahl and Dilucca,we had a table next to the piano player, and at Shugrues we were given a table with a spectacular view of the mountains. Because we arrived late to the hotel from a jeep tour, we notified the concierge that we couldn't make our dinner reservation; he immediately called the restuarant and asked to have out table held. We were also impressed with the transportation available up the hill to places like the Cowboy Club.

Our immacualte room was kept pristine each day, and the tender of our fireplace cleaned out the ashes and made a new fire ready for each evening. I cannot remember a more quiet and comfortable night's rest at a lodging facility. We felt as if we were miles away from civilization in the wilderness... and all this while lounging under a down comforter and atop a down pillow.


We gave the spa a go and were pleased with our Signature Spa treatments. I had never experienced stretching as a part of a massage treatment, and it definitely limbered me up for the hiking we did.

We skipped the overpriced restaurant on the grounds at dinner time (note to management- worried about half empty dining rooms? Try lowering your prices and you'll get better results) but we did try breakfast our last morning. What a beautiful view of the creek! And the food was delicious. It's worth the splurge just to take in the ducks and have a bit of a change of scenery and mood from The Coffee Pot.

It's easy to see why this hotel is one of the top rated in the country. Considering I almost cancelled our reservations because of negative reviews on this site, I'm now wondering if the said reviewers actually stayed at this venue!

  • Liked — Spacious, quiet and luxurious cabin
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

What a great place! I read all the reviews and agree with most of them. This place is expensive, but it's what you would expect for the price paid. Nothing but class.

The best place to stay in the heart of Sedona. Other places are nicer but a long drive from town, such as Enchantment. But Enchantment is also more costly, except for dining which is priced about the same but much better than L'Auberge.

One of the reviews listed here said that the dining at L'Auberge was not a great value for the money spent. This is absolutely correct. I would rate the resort as a 4 star but the restaurant is not more than a 3 star. When I spend $200 for dining with my wife I expect exceptional food, exceptional service, and an exceptional atmosphere. L'Auberge lost on all three points. It was only somewhere between good and great, but far from exceptional.

I took another reviewer's recommendation and had dinner the next night at Yavapai located in the Enchantment resort. Prices were a little less and everything was exceptional and very much a 4 to 5 star dining experience.

Stay at L'Auberge for the resort beauty & atmosphere, the price for quality and the location. But dine at Yavapai, you won't regret it. Dining at L'Auberge is just wasting your money for the convenience of staying on the grounds and not driving. But this is Sedona; every drive is an experience in beauty.

  • Liked — Location and the beauty of the resort
  • Disliked — Dining
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STH-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I would highly recommend staying at L'Auberge. When we arrived they upgraded our lodge room to a private cottage right off the river which was absolutely charming (the fireplace was great with the cold weather we had) The service was excellent and the location was perfect. I would recommend eating at Dahl & Deluca for dinner the food was incredible. I would also recommend visiting the Enchantment Resort, the views are beautiful. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSanDiego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

This hotel is definitely worth consideration for your Sedona visit. It feels like you are in a secluded area when in reality, you are very close to everything Sedona has to offer. The place has a “rustic” feel yet has modern amenities. They offer two kinds of accommodations, the cabins and the lodge. I stayed in the lodge while my traveling companions had a cabin (the cabins are priced more but may be worth it if you enjoy additional amenities like an in-room word-burning fireplace and a front porch with river views). The cabin rooms we had were a lot like a studio accommodation with the bed(s) a couch, fireplace in one room. Both the cabins and lodge rooms have similar furnishings and décor. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, large rooms. The lodge rooms all also have decks, some of the views overlook the parking lot but it’s not comparable to a city parking lot, it’s quiet and the parking lot backs to the river and mountain cliffs so even if you deck is over the parking lot, you’ll still see the river and mountains from many of the lodge rooms.

The main lodge is reminiscent of the old-time mountain lodges with central areas for guests to gather around in front of the communicate fireplace, chess and checker boards, etc. The check in area instead of being a counter are individual desks so it’s more personalized. There is also a room with two computers and a printer in the lodge if you didn’t bring your laptop (and need internet access). There is also wireless throughout the resort.

The staff was great and knowledgeable about the area. The nightly wine tasting (7 nights a week) and free home-made scones and fresh hot coffee in the lobby each morning were a nice touch. The restaurant is also good and the view of the river from there is very pretty.

Also, be aware they charge a $25 per day fee that is for “gratuities”. The place is no-tipping (so no tips to the bellman, housekeeping, concierge) but tips are accepted (and should be done) for the restaurant and spa. I don’t particularly have an issue with this but you should be aware of it. Also, there is not an onsite gym but they do have several in the area you can get day-passes for.

If you like to hike, Sedona has a lot to offer at all levels. Additionally, the metaphysical aspect of Sedona is part of the whole experience if you are into that sort of thing and even if you are not, the place should be a must-see on your list.

Enjoy your trip! I know I did.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flygalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Having been to L'Auberge 25 years ago, with a vow to come back, we (mom and daughter) did. And it was everything that we remembered. The staff and service were great. And though they were very booked, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. With below average temperatures, we LOVED having and using the fireplace in our cottage. We also enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting every evening. Didn't get to enjoy the spa, but a complimentary chair massage from Anna, would make me book next time. Dinner at the restaurant also exceeded expectations. The location was also a bonus, though secluded we could get around town conveniently.

  • Liked — A general sense of privacy, luxury and comfort
  • Disliked — a surly coincerge, knowledgeable but surly
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My sister and I needed a spa vacation and L'Auberge delivered. The staff was friendly and helpful. The spa services were pricy, but worth it. Try the Sports Detox Massage followed but the Deep Blue Lavender Embrace if you want to relax (make sure you ask for Sean). The coffee in the room was horrible. The coffee served in the lodge was better but the scones were not worth the calories. There was a Starbucks right across the street in Pinon Pointe if you are a junky like my sister. We stayed in a comfy garden side cottage and it was worth the extra money, especially for the extra privacy, great patio views and most of all, the fireplace. Every night we made a call to the front desk and the staff came right over to light our fire...although some were better at it than others. If you are going on a girls get-away bring your portable DVD player to hook up to the TV so you can watch your chick flicks since there is not one in the room. Every night there was "happy hour" in the lodge were you could sample delicious wine and cheeses. A good chance to catch up with the other guest and see what they have been up to. We did not eat at the resturant there. We tried, but the service was SO SLOW we left before we ordered. We just went back to the room and ate our left over sushi from Szechuan Restaurant & Martini Bar on 89A which was excellent if you like sushi! There was some confusion with our bill when we checked out but Michelle was patient and worked it out for us. L'auberge is close to everything. Including Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village which is a fun place. Other recommendations: Rene at Tlaquepaque - great service and excellent food. The Broken Arrow Pink Jeep Tour (ask for Tim, he is awesome). Bistro Bella Terra in Pinon Pointe across the street. NOTE: There are refrigerators in the room. We bought some cheese and wine and kept it in there for late night snacks and night caps. Also, there is a hot tub on the site so bring your suit!!

  • Liked — The comfy cabin
  • Disliked — The confusing checkout
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Deannie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#2 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Property: L'Auberge de Sedona
Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing