We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was so excited to stay here for my birthday (I sadly write this review on the eve of my bday). But, I am completely underwhelmed, disappointed and feel silly for staying here because I feel that I got cheated. Perhaps we are staying in the wrong room (we are in the lodge) but our room at the Doubletree in Scottsdale was just as nice (maybe nicer) and much more reasonable. We actually had to switch rooms once at this resort because the chemical smell in on room was so terrible and the noise from above rooms and the sides was worse than my efficiency college apartment. I could hear my neighbors sneezing!! Not acceptable for a resort of this rating, in my opinion. Quite frankly, I frequently stay at 5 star resorts, and I would not, based on the room I am in, classify this as a 5 star resort. I would never pay more than $150 for a room in the lodge area, and don't intend to stay here for my full reservation period. I have heard the cottages are much nicer, so if you stay here, try that as you will likely be disappointed with the lodge rooms. Staff is pretty good, although not out of their way helpful like I would expect at a resort of this alleged caliber.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN THE LODGE. Try a cottage. The lodge is not worth your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,481
    451
    209
    96
    59
See reviews for
588
2,134
108
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our wedding at L'Auberge last week and can honestly say the folks there were fabulous from start to finish! Every detail was carefully arranged and they accommodated our every need. The entire staff was extremely courteous and welcoming and our wedding planner, Teagan, was a real gem.

While our wedding was quite small by normal standards, this in no way affected the level of service provided. It is evident that the staff at L'Auberge will go to any lengths to please their guests. The night of our ceremony we returned to our suite to find rose petals covering the floor and bed along with a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries. Delightful!!!

Aside from the amazing staff, the property is absolutely beautiful with stunning views of the red rocks surrounding Sedona and even a peaceful creek with a vast array of gorgeous ducks. This place seemingly has it all.

My wife and I cannot wait to return and will most likely do so for our one year anniversary.

Thanks for a memorable experience L'Auberge!!!

Room Tip: The vista suites are absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theeddytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

L'Auberge's setting on Oak Creek is truly most enjoyed when eating on the patio at the restaurant. Very few rooms take in the best asset of this resort. The single cottages look a bit funky and not at all sophisticated however the inside was quite nice. My main complaints are the following: There's a "stiffness" in a number of employees and just a lack of sincerity...hard to put my finger on it but just a bit out of touch. The pillows are plentiful but the two that are on the bed to actually sleep on are stuffed to the point of seams bursting and very hard. The property is not conducive to taking in the amazing red rocks or sunsets. The dinner is not available for ala carte but rather 3 and 4 course only. We ate there two nights and the first server was very out of touch, and the second night our server (Marlo I believe) was fantastic. She was the most "comfortable and real" employee we encountered. She made the dinner perfect by timing our courses perfectly unlike the gal the night before. The good things are the location is perfect...the setting is peaceful...the valet is convenient and they do a really good job. The outdoor shower is just special. The restaurant is one of the most incredible restaurant settings ever.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are not at the bottom of pricing but one step above with lovely bathrooms and outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judythetourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter and new son-in-law chose to stay at this resort for their honeymoon. I wanted to send champagne and strawberries up to their room - ordered and paid for it through the concierge and they never arrived! I was so disappointed and broken hearted and the "manager gave no condolences, just matter of fact that the charges would be reversed on my credit card. Very disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Absolutely fantastic getaway in the heart of Sedona. Perfect weekend getaway.
Walking distance to uptown and a very short drive to all the major hiking areas.
The restaurant is is fantastic - sit along the creek. Sedona is gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSchmidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fabulous, fabulous hotel. We had the Vista Suite (#91) with a private deck looking right at the Red Rock. Fantastic views, fantastic staff and I highly recommend the Himalayan Salt Scrub with Tanya. So great that I destressed from the worry about making it back East due to the storm. Can't say enough about this place, just awesone.

Room Tip: In the reviews I have read some people prefer the soothing sounds of the stream by the Cottages. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maril K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This property is so serene and scenic. Its location right on Oak Creek and just below the village is perfect. Staff was sincerely friendly, especially the valet guys who happily take you to your room in a golf cart or to the village in an SUV (no tips accepted). We stayed in a view suite but will try one of the cabins by the creek next time. The furnishings are modern, hardwood floors, large enough bedroom and living room. Our suite had a large, uncovered veranda that was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the view. There is also a staircase that leads up from the property directly into the village (it leads to the Orchard Country Inn, right behind Taos Cantina, and an easy walk to several restaurants and shops). Although the guests were mostly older couples, our two young children enjoyed the property immensely, especially the morning duck feeding, the scones and hot chocolate placed in the lobby each morning, eating creekside from where they could continue to watch the ducks, and the pool. There are no movies on demand on the television and no desk in the suite but we understood that to be part of the appeal of getting away from it all.
Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were delicious but served in a very leisurely (read: long wait) manner -- great to enjoy the ambience but not so great with hungry kids. The cabins are not connected and quite private which was also great with kids who make noise. The suite had an outdoor shower that was wonderful during the sunny October weather.
A few critiques: the king-size bed was quite soft, and both my husband and I experienced back discomfort. Also, the fitness center was too basic - 3 treadmills, one elliptical, free weights, bosus, and mats.

Room Tip: If choosing a view suite and planning to walk the property (as opposed to always having a golf cart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dscbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
891 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Property: L'Auberge de Sedona
Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing