We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet get-a-way but not up to snuff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Auberge de Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
St. Louis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet get-a-way but not up to snuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Spent 4 nights at L'Auberge recently in a Creekside cabin. The staff was friendly and helpful and we liked the total quiet of the cabin. The cabin is fine but I can't say the furnishings or decoration were distinctive. We asked for a dresser to put our clothes in as there was only a small closet with hangers for clothing storage. Didn't get our turn down service on the 2nd nite after requesting daily turndown service upon arrival.

We had trouble keeping the room warm. Froze the first night (our thermometer registered 63 degrees) and asked for help. The engineer adjusted the thermostat (we were running it at full blast but it seemed to stop heating in the middle of the nite) and it was warm thru the next evening but again freezing at nite. It seemed ironic to be at a 5 star resort yet we were reluctant to get out of bed for fear of freezing in the bathroom. A space heater for the bathroom was brought in the 3rd day and that fixed things.

The most frustrating experience was the morning we tried to find time to talk to the concierge. Jason was busy with a couple so we decided to go (off property) for breakfast. When we returned he was still talking to the same couple. We waited (within view) and listened to the conversation. The other staff apologized (multiple times) and indicated that Jason often spends a lot of time with quests. That's great but he was giving them enough information to plan a month's worth of hiking when what we heard them say is "we'd like to go for a walk." Don't get me wrong, Jason is a knowledgable and sweet guy but he needs some coaching on how to give useful information in a concise manner. The day before he spoke with us for a considerable amount of time and told us he was 99% sure that the roads would be open for 2 of the hikes we were planning (despite the snow storm). We found out the hard way that both were closed. While we sat and waited for him the next day, he gave the couple that same info. After more than a 30 minute wait, it was finally our turn. We asked him to call and check on the road openings and sure enough, the roads remained closed. Then he wanted to give us detailed info. on other possibilities but it was almost noon (on our last day) and we needed to get going. He could be a great concierge but it doesn't seem that he has received the feedback he needs to do a better job - and it was obvious that this is an ongoing issue.

I felt that the 10% resort fee was way out of line considering the limited resort amenities (described in many other reviews). The management would do better to raise the nightly rate and not charge the fee, thus decreasing the frustration guests feel when they don't believe they are getting valuable resort amenities. BTW, we were embarrassed to show up for the complimentary wine reception (mentioned on page one of the binder located in the room) -- one of those amenities that the bartender said was eliminated years ago.

Check out my photo of the crazy 'no parking sign' that welcomes visitors to L'auberge -- a good indicator of their bottom line.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,253
    402
    182
    78
    49
See reviews for
500
1,942
89
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belmont, ma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Our day trip to Sedona on December 8 included one night stay in the lodge of L'Auberge. The lodge is handsomely decorated with plush leather recliners situated near cozy fireplaces. The bed satisfied this pillow happy gal and had a grand headboard. A nice deck revealed nearby red rocks. The hotel
offers shuttle service to town, stargazing with a local pro and a salt-water heated pool and jacuzzi in addition to spa services. Check-in service was excellent and tip-free. Since it is off season it would have been a good idea to arrive at the hotel's restaurant early but arrived just after 7:30 and we were advised to eat at the bar. We ordered off the bar menu, paying respect to the chef and waitstaff. A few minutes into dining another couple entered and asked for seats in the restaurant. The manager suggested they also eat at the bar and agreed to give them the restaurant tasting menu. We should have gone into town for dinner as we were not treated as the other diners were.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sycamoretree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Difficult to find due to poor signage but well located nethertheless for both Sedona and Arizona's local main roads and attractions.

Well kept hotel comprising many buildings, all of which were clean and well appointed. The room was a respectable 3-4 star quality albeit the bathroom was a bit cramped. Good balcony, sensible facilities and free wireless compensated although we did not try the pool or spa.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and attended to absolutely anything. Upon idly talking to a cleaning lady about how we missed tea, she made it a personal mission to score us some tea bags! It is that kind of minor attention to detail which can make a gppd stay, great.

We did however find the hotel slightly pretentious though. It only appeared to offer "fine dining" and the check-in suggested we go into Sedona if we wanted "casual dining". In other words, if you don't want a-la-carte (and let's be honest, we all fancy a burger once in a while!!), you're going into town! The valet service was a bit of a pain too. Although well operated and well intended, valet parking was compulsary and we found ourselves waiting around when we just wanted to get going. I even had to justify to them why I wanted my car keys back having waited for two other folk to have their bags unloaded (I simply wanted to retrieve an item I'd left in the car)!! Maybe a personal thing and certainly minor in the overall scheme of things.

Overall, a good hotel who's excellent staff are really trying to go the extra mile. If you value that attitude, like a good location and can overlook the minor pretention, then this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UK49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Very nice setting, very quiet get-a-away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. However, staff were a little young and cocky - or were they trying to be cool? I could not put my finger on it, but assumed it might have been the lax attitude created by the; 'pay a set tip at the end of your stay' culture. Don't get me wrong it was a fantastic place to stay, I highly recommend it. Just be aware that you either need to be the first to sit for breakfast or be prepared to wait 1 hour & 30 mins for your order to arrive, and... forget about any service from the bar - get off your (over walked/tired) butt and order at the bar - no one will otherwise help you. As an fyi - if you order Steak & Chips, you will get a plate of chips soaked in sauce and a anorexic sized steak on the side, only great for chip lovers or perhaps it was a bad day to order this dish.

Sedona is truly majestic, i highly recommend you venture on some 1-3 hour hikes...

Room Tip: Water/ mountain facing - if you can $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaubergeDeSedona, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor community. We value your patronage and your feedback, which we will share with our service team. We are sorry that you did not experience the warm, friendly and courteous service for which we are known and hope that you will give us another chance if you come back to Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My parents and I stayed at the L'Auberge de Sedona for two nights in a Spa Suite in Mid November 2011. We had a lovely stay overall. The staff is wonderfully polite and professional and very helpful. I really appreciated that the service charge is included for the stay was part of the bill - (we were told that the staff wouldn't accept tips except at the spa and the restaurant); this kept us from constantly looking for small bills for tips. The suite was nice - recently remodeled and very clean, modern, and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant one morning for breakfast and the food was delicious. The views of the creek are gorgeous and we were a bit sad that we hadn't booked a creek view room. Another great bonus is that there are lots of activities offered at the hotel - from yoga classes, to duck feeding, to star gazing...which are complimentary. We did the star gazing and it was terrific, as we learned so much from viewing the beautiful night sky with an experienced astronomer.

There were only two minor issues - one, the key card reader to the suite wasn't working properly. It took 5-10 tries of sliding the card in and out for it to finally work, and we had to go through this every time we tried to enter the suite. We notified management, and they agreed this was an issue but unfortunately couldn't really fix it because the machine was sensitive to the cold. Hmm...I just don't think at a 4 diamond AAA property there should be issues like this. The second issue was that when the indoor shower was used, the water leaked out onto the bathroom floor pretty substantially. This seemed to be a bit of a design flaw in the shower.

Overall, these were minor issues and we had a wonderful stay. Sedona is an amazing place and I hope to return one day to re-experience the beauty of the red rocks with the rest of my family.

Room Tip: Choose creek view rooms for the best view. From other reviews, it appears that a number of suites h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

For business or pleasure, you can't do much better than L'Auberge de Sedona. You get five-star treatment all the way--exactly what you'd want but wonder whether you can expect these days. We arrived weary from our cross-country flight, but the pampering began the moment the valets handed us some cold bottled water and we were sped through our check in. (No lines here; you're checked in at desks, like a VIP.) An offer of a dinner reservation for the hotel's amazing on-site restaurant was gratefully accepted.
An hour later we were dining creekside and enjoying some of the best food we've had all year. A bit pricey, utterly worth it.
The grounds are very beautiful and well-maintained--L'Auberge is just down a small road from the main highway, yet it feels much further and more enclosed. Very easy to pretend you're a rock star hiding from the paparazzi ;)
If you're traveling with your significant other, consider a couple's massage at the spa; transformative.
The pools are nice but small, not for much other than dipping. Hardly a problem as I wasn't expecting to do laps--not when there are ducks to be fed! Every morning the ducks file up from the creek to get cracked corn, which is totally fun for kids (and adults).
This place was definitely one of the best parts of our visit to AZ.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MallomarNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Great hotel with a friendly staff. The hotel design and layout is the best part. It is nestled right next to a beautiful creek; you can't even see it from the main street. Our room was fabulous with a great patio to enjoy the stargazing at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cconnors31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Property: L'Auberge de Sedona
Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing