We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, ogre of an owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, ogre of an owner”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My husband, daughter and I spent two nights at the L'Auberge de Sedona three weeks ago. We wanted a short spring-break get-away for hiking and mountain biking and were more than happy with this last-minute choice c/o finding a good deal on travelzoo. Upsides: Nicest, most attentive staff . Upon arrival, the bellman greeted our DOG by name (!), complimentary yoga every morning, homemade scones and coffee every morning, beautiful cabin and setting next to the river (we were even asked to be witnesses in wedding of the couple in the cabin-next-door!) Now the downside and reason for writing this review: Our first evening we decided to have a light dinner in the bar area of the hotel (the main restaurant, while looking beautiful and having a great reputation, is way pricey ). Unfortunately, while waiting for our food, we were witness to a man coming over to our waitress and giving her the most vicious verbal assault I have ever witnessed ( and I come from an Irish-Catholic, no-holes-barred loud family!). He was pointing his finger right up in her face, while yelling red-faced and within inches of her face. My husband thought he might have to defend this young woman as she truly to me looked like she was being verbally assaulted. We then found out it was the OWNER and he was yelling at her over a TV channel that was or wasn't on over the bar. It clouded the rest of the trip for me and made me think that there must be an air of inauthenticity at this otherwise idyllic hotel. How happy could the staff REALLY be working under such a threatening cloud? I don't think I want to stay here again, as I don't want to support such arrogance and meanness with my wallet. As a business owner myself, I believe in the importance of personal integrity in all your actions. His treatment of his staff was unacceptable and I feel demands some accountability. I did email the hotel itself with basically this same report and received no reply so am deciding to bring it to the attention of the tripadvisor audience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank noplacelikehone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,299
    412
    189
    84
    51
See reviews for
527
1,980
90
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at L'Auberge de Sedona and we wanted to stay for the rest of the month. The staff is attentive, accomodating, friendly, and helpful. We were disappointed that the spa wasn't open during our stay, however the staff went out of their way to accomodate our needs. The vista lodge was a perfect getaway with great red rocks views from the balcony, an outdoor shower, and beautiful decor. We have recommended L'Auberge de Sedona to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmebf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt rejuvenated; the staff was superb. The cabin had an awesome bed, fireplace, patio, a bathroom that was huge, an inside and an outside shower - loved it. Extremely relaxing due to the very attentive staff. The carts will take you into town and bring you back if you call them. The riverside dining and the restaurant are very conducive to romantic luncheons and dinners. And the food was superb. The place to stay in Sedona. You will enjoy your stay there - we did.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We just got back from a pleasant stay at L'Auberge. The room was really lovely. We had a lodge room on the 2nd floor, it had a nice balcony, a wonderful bed, large TV, nice amenities. I didn't think that the red rock views from the lodge were all that great, but maybe I'm being a little too picky.

Perks were : the welcome glass of wine, the little scones in the morning, the in-room Keurig coffee maker, and all the bottled water you could drink. The valets who park the cars are all extremely pleasant. The area outside where they feed the ducks is very pleasant. It would be nice if they had table service and you could get a cup of tea or something while you sit there and read.

The only thing I could really complain about is that it was too hot in the room. We tried to cool it off but the temperature control wasn't working too well. They had someone in to fix it, but ... well, I'm glad we were there in March and not May. I'm sure not every room has that problem.

We had a good meal in the restaurant one night. Be warned, the prices are outrageous. The food was excellent though. And it is definitely the most pleasant place to eat in Sedona. We went to the other "nice" restaurant and left because we found it so tacky.

Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cybertron
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Very clean, beautiful hotel in Sedona. We stayed in their newer Vista cottages which had amazing views and were very high end. Super large and luxurious bathroom with Jacuzzi.

The staff were all helpful and friendly. The restaurant at the hotel was excellent too, but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllSpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Spa "Cottage" looked great on line but is actually a pre-fab trailer like unit tucked in with other units and beside a high rise building. No atmosphere and staff is not willing to make adjustments once you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank travelingcouple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGALauberge, General Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
We pride ourselves on our ability to please a wide range of guests and recover from challenges. Every option was exhausted with this particular guest including a complete refund and an offer to move them to a comparable hotel. It's worth noting that as of this writing, they are still staying with us. The vast majority of reviews use words like amazing, perfection and outstanding to describe us. We strive to give every guest a wonderful and memorable experience and feel we succeed in doing so. When guests are unhappy for whatever reason we do everything in our power to make it right. I invite every guest to contact me directly to discuss this situation or any concerns. One other comment is that what this guest refers to as a high rise is actually a two story building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We just returned from a quick trip to Sedona and there is no doubt L'Auberge was the highlight. We stayed in a spa cabin, whose modest exterior belies what may be the most comfortable and nicely appointed accomodations I have ever experienced. As other reviews have mentioned, the location and staff are top notch. Those expecting a full-service resort experience (especially given the $25/day resort fee) might be dismayed by the lack of any sort of pool or fitness facility. But the beautiful water view provided by Oak Creek and an excellent daily yoga class go a long way towards filling that void. The restaurant is breathtakingly expensive but all food and beverage is of the highest quality. A complimentary morning coffee and pastry service is a nice amenity for early risers, but ends promptly at 8.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMKOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
854 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
860 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Property: L'Auberge de Sedona
Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing