We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Place of Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My wife and I have been visiting Garland's for several years and feel very fortunate to be able to enjoy it twice each year - opening weekend and a week in September. It is undeniably the best vacation we have ever taken.

The setting of Garland's in the heart of Oak Creek Canyon near Sedona is hard to beat for natural beauty and simple outdoor recreation. We enjoy our morning strolls around the grounds to visit the orchards, beautiful Oak Creek and the vegetable and flower gardens. The spring visit usually is decorated with the blossoming of the apple, peach and plum trees - along with springtime flowers. A hike at the nearby West Fork Trail is a pleasant and easy excursion and there are plenty of nearby hiking trails through the gorgeous redrock country of Sedona. Other natural attractions are the Grand Canyon, Sunset Crater, Hart Prairie near Flagstaff, Meteor Crater, etc. Cultural attractions include Sinagua Indian ruins throughout the Verde Valley (including Montezuma's Castle and Tutzigoot), Anasazi ruins at Wupatki National Monument, the picturesque mining town of Jerome, old Fort Verde and the great Museum of Northern Arizona at Flagstaff. There is certainly plenty to do, but I enjoy the quiet time at Garland's the most - walks through the gardens, quiet conversations at the Lodge during afternoon tea, a couple of hours under a tree with a good book, perhaps a nap in the afternoon. The stresses of life melt away at this place.

The cabins are basic, but attractive, homey and comfortable. They are always clean and well-equipped with necessary comforts and the little touches. It is impossible to go the breakfast and return to the cabin before the housekeepers have done their best to freshen and straighten the rooms. The beds are as comfortable as in any hotel we have ever visited.

One of the best things about Garland's is the food - much of which comes directly from the garden and orchards. Chef Amanda Stine works magic daily to provide a dining experience that cannot be beat. We recommend the prizewinning cookbook that she and Mary Garland have published.

Over the years the staff and owners (Gary & Mary Garland) have become friends. Since people tend to renew their reservations, we also see many of the same guests each time we visit and we can pick up conversations where they left off the previous year. Many guests have been visiting Garland's more than thirty years. That really says it all. I can't imagine ever giving up our time at Garland's.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeboyPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

This is an absolute "do not miss" if you are considering a trip to Sedona. A rustic setting by Oak Creek, romantic cabins with fireplaces, and incredible meals for breakfast and dinner by Chef Amanda Stine. Simply put, nothing else even comes close.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejs1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great place to relax and unwind. There are yoga classes and massage treatments, but no fitness facility. The food is fantastic - a set menu for dinner, but choices for breakfast. Ours was a large cabin, with a fireplace, separate sitting area, fridge, coffee maker, table and chairs, front and back porches.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaDesertGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I cannot count the places we have stayed over the years in Sedona. All of them were lovely, but Garlands is memorable! This is our second year back and we loved everything about it. We prefer the upper grove cabins. We like to walk the grounds. I love that there are no phones or television. It forces you to decompress. The food each of the four nights was outstanding. Don't miss Tea time ! Just heaven!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greekchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We recently stayed at Garland's. We got a cancellation, so we had no choice of cabins. Some cabin locations are better than others. Our cabin was right in the parking lot. There was no privacy if you are looking for seclusion, ask about your cabin location. However, the grounds around the cabin are beautiful and the greenery is lush and very well maintained. The cabin itself is rustic, but very clean. We had no complaints with the actual cabin or grounds. Upon arrival we were not given a warm greeting of any kind. After a long drive, and for the price we expected more hospitality. Many of the families that stay at Garland's have been coming for years. We felt like outsiders. We made every effort to say hello and were given a cold response by the owners and servers. Almost as if we were intruding. Maybe the owners were having a bad day, but we were disappointed after reading all of the stellar reviews. As far as dinner, it was very good, yet not exceptional. The breakfast servers were very friendly.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
7  Thank bcinsd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We like to explore new places, restaurants and lodgings, and so seldom return to places more than once or twice. However, we have been staying at Garland's for 30 years. Why? Because there we experience wonderful food and attentive service from people who really care in one of the country's most beautiful settings. In 30 years, we have had one meal that disappointed. We have met dozens of interesting people who have become friends. If you are looking for a posh resort with Jacuzzi tubs and wet bars, this is not your place. But if you want to feel a connection with pioneer Arizona while enjoying wonderful cuisine and companions, visit Garland's.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Garlands about 15 times over the years, and have developed many close friends who come back at the same time each year. We look forward to our annual reunion with friends, and Chef Amanda Stein's fabulous four course dinners every night. Some of the most scenic hiking in the country with Sedona's famous red rocks - or a great place to curl up and read a great book.

Truly a unique place created by the Garland family. We love it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
977 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.6 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek

Address: 8067 N Highway 89A, 8 Mi North of Sedona, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Garland's Oak Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: $290 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Garland's Lodge is now Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek: Unique Cabins & Lodging, Orchard Canyon is a unique, historic and acclaimed American-plan Lodge cradled in Oak Creek Canyon. Open year-round. Relax & unplug with no TVs or phones. Afternoon tea, gourmet dinner and breakfast are included in most stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garland`s Oak Creek Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing