We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING GROUNDS - WHERE IS THE HOSPITALITY?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“STUNNING GROUNDS - WHERE IS THE HOSPITALITY?”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We recently stayed at Garland's. We got a cancellation, so we had no choice of cabins. Some cabin locations are better than others. Our cabin was right in the parking lot. There was no privacy if you are looking for seclusion, ask about your cabin location. However, the grounds around the cabin are beautiful and the greenery is lush and very well maintained. The cabin itself is rustic, but very clean. We had no complaints with the actual cabin or grounds. Upon arrival we were not given a warm greeting of any kind. After a long drive, and for the price we expected more hospitality. Many of the families that stay at Garland's have been coming for years. We felt like outsiders. We made every effort to say hello and were given a cold response by the owners and servers. Almost as if we were intruding. Maybe the owners were having a bad day, but we were disappointed after reading all of the stellar reviews. As far as dinner, it was very good, yet not exceptional. The breakfast servers were very friendly.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank bcinsd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
121
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We like to explore new places, restaurants and lodgings, and so seldom return to places more than once or twice. However, we have been staying at Garland's for 30 years. Why? Because there we experience wonderful food and attentive service from people who really care in one of the country's most beautiful settings. In 30 years, we have had one meal that disappointed. We have met dozens of interesting people who have become friends. If you are looking for a posh resort with Jacuzzi tubs and wet bars, this is not your place. But if you want to feel a connection with pioneer Arizona while enjoying wonderful cuisine and companions, visit Garland's.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Garlands about 15 times over the years, and have developed many close friends who come back at the same time each year. We look forward to our annual reunion with friends, and Chef Amanda Stein's fabulous four course dinners every night. Some of the most scenic hiking in the country with Sedona's famous red rocks - or a great place to curl up and read a great book.

Truly a unique place created by the Garland family. We love it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We've been coming back to Garland's for 3 decadesand have never been disappointed. If we could we'd give it 50 stars. Charming cabins are nestled in stunning grounds; gourmet food served by a caring staff. Whether we stroll the grounds, settle in with a good book beneath a shade tree, amble down to Oak Creek to rock-hop or dangle our feet in the water or pick up a hiking trail, we never want to leave & always want to come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred32AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2009

My wife and I recently spent several days at Garland's, a truly special, one-of-a-kind experience. It took over a year to get a reservation, and now that we have one, we will never let it go. We stay in a comfortable cabin with incredible views of the mountains, pleasant furnishings (including a rock fireplace), but, thankfully, no phones or tv. While 13 years in a row may sound like a long time, we have friends who have been going to Garlands at the same time each year for well over 30 years! Garland's reservations have been fought over in divorce proceedings and put into wills.

The service is outstanding, and the food, ah, the food! Dinner and breakfast are included, and dinner is always a delight. Amanda, Garland's chef, is renowned for creating outstanding meals, and the dinner experience is unique. Cocktails begin promptly at 6:00 p.m. in the Resort's dining room. Heavy leather sofa and chairs are grouped around a fireplace almost large enough to walk in. The setting not only allows but actually encourages conversation with the other guests. At promptly 7:00 p.m., the ringing of a hand-held dinner bell announces dinner. Seating is assigned, and there is only seating. Amanda and Mary and Gary Garland recently collaborated on a cookbook, that we highly recommend.

At first we weren't too sure about the assigned seating but came to realize that it is one of the best things about Garland's. We have met many friendly and interesting people, and it's actually one of the things we look forward to during our stay.

If you're looking for relaxation, rejuvenation and soul-reviving, Garland's is the place. We are already looking forward to next year.

Bob and Bobbie

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Garland's is a bit of paradise from the little log cabin we rent that is like a tree house overhanging the stream that lulls us to sleep under our quilts, to the marvelous leisurely meals with produce grown on the grounds, to the yoga pavillion set among huge sycamores that also overlooks the gurgling stream - and best of all, the great staff.

And hiking? World class. Thinking about a day walking through a red-walled canyon, cooling off in the stream as you cross and re-cross it until you're half-way tired and turn back. Or along the desert paths, discovering the reminders that Indian's lived here not too long ago.

Reservations are highly prized as guests return year after to year to enjoy their same cabins and greet the wonderful friends we have all made over the years. And when you're there, be sure to have Amanda, the chef, autograph a copy of their cookbook.

And don't forget to check out some of the best indian jewelry in the area. It's beautifully displayed - and if you don't find something to wear for dinner, the Garland family also has a wonderful shop down the road that's filled with marvelous Indian crafts, jewelry and kachinas.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentwoodHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful secret place for two days in October while visiting Sedona and Flagstaff area. It is an oasis a few miles up into the canyon from Sedona, with the scenery changing from red rock high desert to pine forests with crystal running streams complete with original lodge type cabins recalling the 30's for some and the 50's and 60's for others. Organic gardens bursting with vegetables, fruits and flowers are found along the paths surrounding the cabins. Dinner nightly is a shared event in the original lodge from the 30's, with a definite gourmet twist enhanced with an outstanding collection of wine.
This quiet unobtrusive lodge ranks with Jenny Lake Lodge in Grand Teton National Park, but only better. Authenticity rules...take a trip back in time.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
12.9 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek

Property: Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Address: 8067 N Highway 89A, 8 Mi North of Sedona, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Garland's Oak Creek Lodge)
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Garland's Lodge is now Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek: Unique Cabins & Lodging, Orchard Canyon is a unique, historic and acclaimed American-plan Lodge cradled in Oak Creek Canyon. Open year-round. Relax & unplug with no TVs or phones. Afternoon tea, gourmet dinner and breakfast are included in most stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garland`s Oak Creek Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing