We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you haven't, you should!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you're long time Arizona resident you know of or have stayed at Garland's Lodge one time or another. If you're looking for a quiet retreat in one of the most beautiful locations in the world and enjoy being in the heart of this beauty by kicking back at one of the rustic though thoroughly spotless and thoughtfully designed cabins then you will not be disappointed with Garland's. The staff listens to your requests such as any food issues or special celebrations and handles them with total professionalism yet in a relaxed sincere manner. As for consistency, the night before last was one of 28 years of visiting Garland's though some years I missed, but the stay was as good as it was in July1984. Trying to describe the food would not be fair unless you experience and you should. If you haven't tried Garland's yet, you should!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcanyoncurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

This small lodge style resort is a very popular place to stay. Along with your cabin, you are treated to an amazing dinner and breakfast. Very warm friendly staff guarantees an experience you won't forget.

Room Tip: Cabins 1, 2 and 3 are on Oak Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We try to get to Garlands at least twice a season. We dream about it when we are not there!
We have stayed in a number of the cabins. We have our favorites. The scenery is spellbinding. Dinner is always a wonderful experience. Each course beautifully presented. Part of the Garland's experience is to sit with other guests. We have always enjoyed this. Getting to know other people. Sometimes they have come from great distances across the US. Breakfast is wonderful. A special treat is fresh caught trout! Yoga above the creek in the apple orchard is a lovely, relaxing experience. Sitting on the porch and reading. Exploring the apple orchard, the garden and walking down to the creek. Cannot wait until our next visit!

Room Tip: We like cabins on the lodge level. You are able to walk over to the lodge to get coffee and bring b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was our second trip to the Garland's Lodge and it confirmed our decision to return. Wonderful atmosphere, great food and a good base for hiking and other touring. I think it has become an annual must-do!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 11 and loved it. I will give the "complaints" only because I think folks should be prepared. The shower was outdated and tiny. It definitely needs to be re-grouted. Our cabin also sits right next to the parking lot, although the front of the cabin faces away from the lot and the view is quite nice. The heater is LOUD. It kept us awake most of the first night. Despite this,we loved everything about the place. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the fireplace was wonderful, the meals were delicious (and did not miss once in the three nights we were there), and the location in the canyon is just so cozy. We are re-booked for next year and hope we can get the same cabin with the same tiny shower and loud heater.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are quite different. The ones on the upper level (they are named rather than numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehappyitinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

When my husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday, I replied, "A weekend get-away to Sedona." Shortly thereafter I started researching places to stay in the area and came across reviews for Garland's Lodge in Oak Creek Canyon. Knowing the "canyon" should be a prime area for viewing fall foliage in Arizona, I e-mailed Garland's and promptly received a reply that they had a small cabin available that weekend ~ we were on our way! Upon arriving at Garland's (crossing the creek that runs over their road is fun), I knew the location was perfect. The lodge and cabins are nestled in the canyon, surrounded by Red Rocks, Oak Creek, and beautiful grounds. Our cabin was just the right size for my husband and I and located right on the creek and surrounded by trees. Our gas log fireplace kept us cozy. We met several people that had been coming to Garland's for years and that's when we learned that once you have a reservation, you can have that time every year for as long as you want it. People told stories of being on waiting lists to get a reservation and I can see why. Garland's is a great place to get away from it all (no tv, no cell service or wi-fi) if that is what you are looking for OR you can use it as a base to explore Sedona and the surrounding area (Jerome, Flagstaff). Awesome hiking is everywhere too! The rate includes afternoon tea and breakfast and dinner. The food is fabulous and it is so nice to just walk right from your cabin to the main lodge for dinner. Generations of families come to Garland's every year and I know we will be back next year ~ Same time, Same Place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhondaMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Garland's is beautifully set in the middle of the Oak Creek Canyon. The lodge has all the amenities that you want for a very comfortable stay.
My only negative (and it's an important one).........the food is good.......not great. Because of the setup - everyone is served at the same time - the meal lasted over two hours! That is much too long a sit!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank believe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.2 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#24 of 49 in Sedona
752 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek

Address: 8067 N Highway 89A, 8 Mi North of Sedona, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Garland's Oak Creek Lodge)
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: $314 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Garland's Lodge is now Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek: Unique Cabins & Lodging, Orchard Canyon is a unique, historic and acclaimed American-plan Lodge cradled in Oak Creek Canyon. Open year-round. Relax & unplug with no TVs or phones. Afternoon tea, gourmet dinner and breakfast are included in most stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garland`s Oak Creek Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing