We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long and peaceful trail” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boynton Canyon Trail

Boynton Canyon Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.89*
and up
Sedona Off-Road Canyon Tour
Ranked #16 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular hiking trail heads about three miles into a deep box canyon and includes ancient Sinaguan Indian ruins along the way.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Long and peaceful trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you like shady hike along the valley floor with some minor elevation, this trail is for you. we saw deers feeding along the way and could be a small bobcat on the way back. Go up the boynton canyon view point, just 1/4 mile, scenery is much better up there at double vortices point.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allrelative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    180
    47
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beatiful Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

There are seemingly unlimited crazy beautiful hikes around Sedona.

There is a limited-space parking lot at the beginning of this trail, although there were plenty of spaces. Not far in on the trail, one can take a side trail, the Vista Trail, which is a fairly short walk to what is termed as a double vortex--one male, one female. When standing basically equidistance between the two, there is supposed to be balanced energy. A man had climbed one of the rock columns (I believe the male vortex) and was playing a flute, which added to the ambiance.

We then went back to the main Boynton Canyon Trail. There are beautiful multicolored cliffs. For part of the way the trail borders a housing complex and there is barbed wire along that border. I saw various distances quoted for this trail. We went about 5 miles round trip. I recommend this very beautiful walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to hike before sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The views from the trail before sunset are breathtaking with many different views. Lots of parking spaces.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lushness in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Although the first half of the trail parallels Enchantment Resort, early in the morning we saw almost no one until we were on our way back. Beautiful views of the red rocks while seeing the greenery of the canyon, and some very tame mule deer. The trail tilts uphill toward the back of the canyon and seems a little longer than it actually is....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pedalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful (albeit long) Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I greatly enjoyed hiking this trail. It was well maintained, and wound through much of Boynton Canyon. This trail is NOT ascending whatsoever, and we experienced no plateaus from which to view the surrounding area. You are very much in a canyon between the red rocks. We hiked at a good clip for about an hour before we decided to turn back, and were disappointed to learn later that the most spectacular views lay at the end of the trail! Allow yourself enough time to complete the trail if you are lucky enough to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boynton Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Boynton Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing