We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice part - take the guided hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rock State Park

Red Rock State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Spiritual Tours Vortex Tours
Ranked #12 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sedona's newest park offers an environmental information center as well as wonderful locations for hiking, biking, birding and fishing.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice part - take the guided hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Take some time to view the exhibits in the visitors center so that you can educate yourself about the wildlife, etc and the House of Apache Fires so that you are armed with some knowledge about what you will see on your hike. We were fortuante enought to arrive approximately 20 minutes before the guided tour thru the park began - we took this - there is no charge -but do recommend you donate a few dollars at the end to help support the good work they do here. Our guide was a retired dentist and he has lived in Sedona since 1993 - very nice gentlemen and very informative. After the hike we took our picnic lunch that we had brought and ate at one of the covered picnic tables near the parking lot with views of all the red formations in the distance - a different kind of "white tablecloth" dining experience but probably better than most restaurants which can't match that view!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    264
    71
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Key West Old Town Trolley (orange trolleys)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Phillip, our tour guide, is a native of Key West - I would imagine this is rare - and he was very knowledgeable about the Conch Republic - - gotta ride to hear this story. His tour was very interesting and all that I read in the reviews. Key west is a place we want to revisit on our own for a few days and not a few hours allotted to us from the cruise ship. We will take the trolley again when we visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainS7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice hike.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The cost for two was small. It was another sunny and warm October day. The wife and I found the park gate keepers friendly and helpful. There isn't allot to say here. The hike was not hard or too long by any means. Just a beautiful hike in the rocks at a small fee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrickwood60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
446 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
“Great views of the beautiful red rocks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

As part of our stay in Sedona, we spent an afternoon in Red Rock State Park. To access the park, we drove the Red Rock Loop, starting at the north end. We pulled in about 2:00 and paid the $10 entry fee for the day. The fellow at the entrance gate suggested that we head up to the visitor center to get hiking options, so that’s what we did.

The visitor center is sort of built into the side of the hillside, so it is below the level of the parking lot. The roof of the visitor center provides a nice viewing platform. The vista includes Cathedral Rock and it is an amazing sight. The visitor center is pretty tiny with just a few displays mostly on the flora and fauna in the park. One of the Rangers recommended a hike heading south from the visitor center along the Bunkhouse Trail, around the Javelina Trail to the Apache Fire House Trial and back to the visitor center. Very nice hike with some nice views of the red rocks all along the trail and plenty of wildflowers but no critters to speak of other than one Pinyon Jay. But it was still a nice hike. Maybe three miles total. There is some elevation change along this route, but nothing to significant; I would rate this combination of trails as an easy hike.

The House of Apache Fire was sort of interesting. It was built for Jack Frye and his wife Helen in the late 1940s. Frye was the President of TWA and an Arizona aviation pioneer. The house was never finished as the Frye’s divorced during construction. Helen lived in the house after the divorce. It is a pretty cool looking place

We left the park about 4:00 and continued on the lower portion of the Red Rock Loop. There are more hiking trails in the park. Our 2-hour stay gave us a good introduction to this scenic park, but more time is needed to cover more of the trails.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Happy Trails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Hiking trails are well laid out with bridges over the creek in various places. Informative visitor center. There appears to be a great educational program for kids, with both inside and outside classroom areas. We observed a class on a field trip apparently having a fun and educational experience. Prepare to spend $10 per person to get in to the park.

Helpful?
Thank Teri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing