We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was worth the hike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devil's Bridge Trail

Ranked #7 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An easy hiking trail that leads hikers into Sedona's famed Red Rock country.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It was worth the hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We drove my jeep to the off-road parking for this trail so our hike was not as long as others that parked in the other parking areas. The hike was harder than I expected toward the end of the hike. Lots of big steps up rocks. At the top over looking the bridge is awesome. The bridge part that you can go out on is not as scary as it looks. Must stay aware of your surroundings while there as we almost witnessed a hiker slipping over the side.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,611
    411
    52
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Arch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The walk here is ok, but the closer you get the more time to spend up top. Don't miss a chance to see "Das Boot" a little further up and to the left of Devil's Arch. Also take the trail in front of the arch to see it from below and take pictures of the size and beauty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LSM1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If this is a glimpse of hell I wanna move there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

From the trailhead to the rock arch bridge is 1.7 miles of utterly beautiful desert. The bridge is a spectacular surprise when it comes into view. Do this hike.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful mildly challenging hike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you don't have a high clearance vehicle you have a mile hike to the beginning of the trail. The hike starts off easy but once you get close to the top it gets quite steep. When you finally reach the bridge you better like heights. Scary! But so beautiful. Gotta try this hike if you are in Sedona.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dfedosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
231 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice hike, bring a good off-road vehicle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

You can either hike or drive the road that starts this hike. Hiking with four children encouraged me to plan to drive the first part, then hike the off road section. The sign at the trail head (rough road at the beginning of the hike) clearly states that not all vehicles should go on the road leading to Devil's Bridge. I have a 4WD vehicle so I thought I would give it a try. WARNING: your vehicle needs high clearance and big tires to go on this road! After a bit I pulled over because I worried that I didn't have enough clearance to manage the boulders sticking out of the road. We started walking down the road only to find 4 other vehicles that were also parked off to the side, I assume for the same reason I pulled off. The hike was very enjoyable but a bit dusty as the foot and vehicle traffic go down the same road and the vehicles kick up dust. The road hike was very easy, before you get to the Bridge there is a fairly strenuous hike up. The trail is nice with natural or built in rock stairs for the ascent, however it is steep and may not be suitable for everyone. It is worth the hike, however, as the bridge is beautiful and impressive. If you hike late in the day in the winter be aware that the hike is almost entirely in the shade so it is quite a bit cooler. We were very glad to have jackets! I would love to do this hike again with four-wheelers for the first part and in the morning so the warm sun is shining on us for the hike.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Bridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing