We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rock formation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devil's Bridge Trail

Ranked #7 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An easy hiking trail that leads hikers into Sedona's famed Red Rock country.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great rock formation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a short trail from the road BUT.... our rental vehicle could not make it to the trail head so we had to walk 1 mile to the trail head. The road was in very bad shape with large boulders just reaching out to knock a hole in the oil pan. If you have a high clearance vehicle you will have no problem. The trail is easy to follow and for the most part is easy hiking until you actually get to the formation. It is a steep climb but not for a long ways and it has steps. Very neat place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank godaddytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,612
    413
    52
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
745 reviews
419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
“Big WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my first time to hike to Devil's Bridge - after many years of visiting Sedona again and again, but there are so many trails you never run out of options. But anyway. We drove my Jeep Wrangler down the unpaved forest road to the trailhead. If you don't have a high clearance vehicle, you should park in the newer parking lot off the paved road. This will add some distance to your hike. From the original - small - parking lot off the forest road, the hike is very short, just a good mile. The last part of the trail is steep, leading up over easily negotiable stone steps built with the indigenous red stone for safe and easy ascent. If it is hot, however, this will probably make you puff a bit. It's a good idea to go early, as this is a really popular hike and gets crowded later on.
When you are more or less level with the bottom of the arch, the trail forks. The ,left fork will take you to the underside of the arch - very impressive - and the right fork will lead you up the last part to the top behind the arch.
Not only the arch itself, but the way to the west - roughly - is absolutely breathtaking and stupendous. You can now walk around the side and get out onto the bridge. Bringing a camera is a must. Also bring water. This is certainly a hike not to be missed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“WOW is right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not having a jeep or high clearance vehicle, we parked in the paved lot and looked for the markers to DB trail. We were expecting a little less than a mile each way but it ended up being about 2.5 or so to the dirt parking lot further down FR152 at the trailhead to the "little less than a mile or so hike". Wifey was not thrilled. While the first 2.5 weren't difficult, walking down the dirt access road would've saved considerable time and thats what we did on the return trip. As other reviewers have said, the last 1/4 mile or so is very steep and kind of freaked me out a little but the view from the top was SO worth it! Wifey agreed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Be careful out there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This walk is longer and far more difficult than advertised. The access road is passable only with very high clearance four wheel drive, adding 3 miles (round trip) to the hike. The last quarter mile of the hike is EXTREMELY difficult and dangerous for those with any physical issues or fear of heights. Yes, the trek is absolutely worth it for those who are able, but it is definitely not for the casual walker.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltownjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Much easier to hike up the road than the trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I swore the sign said a 1 mile hike...5-6 miles later on the trail we get to the trail head that starts 1 mile trip. Make sure to study the sign at the parking lot and bring a flashlight and water if you plan on catching the sunset. We were fortunate to "hey is that your jeep.." someone and get a ride back to the parking lot. Sure wished we walked the road on the way up because the day prior we hike some 20+ miles in and out of Havasupai Falls. Once there is was quite the vista, be sure to bring a good camera!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Whocaresanyways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Bridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing