We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hike! Highly recommended and we will definately be back!”

Devil's Bridge Trail
Ranked #7 of 156 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An easy hiking trail that leads hikers into Sedona's famed Red Rock country.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hike! Highly recommended and we will definately be back!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided to do this hike very last minute on our way home from vacation. We absolutely loved the hike. The views were unbelievably amazing. The hike starts off pretty slow and isn't too rough to begin with. There is a point in the trail though where we honestly thought we had made a wrong turn because it did not look like we should continue going. But we saw people coming down so we assumed we were on the right track. The trail is kind of rough at some points and is pretty steep with some rocks. There are no handrails and coming down was a bit more difficult.

The views are more than worth it though! You can walk out on the bridge and take amazing pictures. The hike itself is not that long. It really is going to depend on how much time you are wanting to spend actually taking in the views.

The trailhead is about a mile away from the parking lot. You are able to drive to the trailhead if you have a vehicle with pretty decent ground clearance and ideally 4x4. We were driving a Yukon and still felt like we needed more clearance at times. If you need to hike from the parking lot to the trail though it is not a difficult walk and very easily doable.

We will be back to do this again and would highly recommend it to anybody if they are in the area!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliea277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,739
    436
    57
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome, but a long hike if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entire area is gorgeous, but if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle, be prepared to hike either a 2 mile very scenic trail that gets a little tricky before hitting the Devil's bridge trail head, or walk down the 1 mile fairly scenic dirt road that a high clearance AWD vehicle can drive down to get to the trail head. During the scenic trail, there were times when the trail was hard to find, especially when it looks like it ends on a dried up river bed, but you're supposed to walk up the riverbed. The hike itself also gets a little tricky because we actually missed the turn to go up to the top of the bridge, and ended up under it. However when you get there, the bridge itself is awesome, along with the view it provides. Hiking the scenic route to the bridge and the dirt road back was a 3 - 4 hour trip, so be prepared with water, food, sun and rain protection. It can get pretty rainy during monsoon season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you don't have a 4WD vehicle you will need to walk a good mile to the trail head. The overall hike itself is not difficult, and it is absolutely amazing. You can walk out onto the bridge and feel like you're on top of the world. Take a few minute to walk down below the bridge to snap a few pics too. This was my favorite hike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a bit of a walk from the trailhead (since we didn't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle), but was a wonderful setting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Devils Bridge hike”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was not easy to find, but it was worth it, awesome view's and not that hard of a hike. like many others said not many signs to find it, look for marker 152c from dry creek rd. you will have to walk in on foot if you don't have a 4x4 vehicle, it was 2-3 hr. round trip hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Bridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing