We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ride from Sedona to Flaggstaff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Creek Canyon

Oak Creek Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.42*
and up
Sedona Red Rock Explorer from Flagstaff
Ranked #6 of 153 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking in its red rock beauty, the Canyon is a spectacular 16-mile gorge with streams and waterfalls between sheer rock walls.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ride from Sedona to Flaggstaff!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Route 89A was an excellent scenic route with excellent rest areas for Picnics, hikes and pictures. You can follow up all the way through the valley and up to Flagstaff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank drgeor107b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,032
    436
    85
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
241 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the freeway.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spectacular scenery for much of the journey. Road does become quite steep with switchbacks at the Flagstaff end of the Canyon. Make the most of the stop off points between Sedona and Flagstaff as there is little opportunity to stop on the roadside on this narrow twisty section.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank johncb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful but busy!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved driving up the canyon we went all the way up to the lookout on top, did a bit of gift shopping both at the top and at the DQ outdoor stands. I bought some gorgeous sand painted Christmas tree ornaments and some cute necklaces for my neices and a beautiful multi-colored pocket knife for my nephew. We stopped on our way back down at the natural spring water faucet and enjoyed clean ice cold water the rest of our vacation :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been a lot of places but the drive down Oak Creek Canyon literally took my breath away. I was snapping pictures every few seconds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jyoungblood226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome highway to drive in AZ.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Driving up 89A through Oak Creek Canyon from Sedona on our way to Flagstaff was one of my favorite parts of visiting Az. The scenery is beautiful. Would love to take this drive again someday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oconnellgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Creek Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Oak Creek Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing