We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Slide Rock State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$272.27*
and up
Cathedral Slot Canyon, Horseshoe Bend, and Glen Dam Tour
Ranked #18 of 156 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state park contains a natural water slide plus pools for swimming and ample opportunities for trout fishing enthusiasts to wet their lines.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is very scenic, however it was horribly windy when we were there. I loved the choice of merchandise the Native Americans were selling. This is a nice place to take a break from the driving and relax for awhile

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dodielarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    449
    139
    45
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What we saw of it was gorgeous -- needed more time!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stopped quickly on a trip to CA, but this is on our list to spend a day at, at the very least! The slide itself looks like so much fun!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasScopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High bacterial count in the water sometimes closes the park”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As travellers to the area all the way from New Zealand, we were very keen to try sliding down the river. Particularly since the temps were in the 100s during our visit to Sedona (back in June). Sadly though, after driving out to the park in high anticipation, we arrived to find it was closed due to a high faecal coliform count in the water. I'm not dissing on this experience - it sounds simply fantastic. And I'm only rating it as poor because of this - the area is beautiful and the experience sounds great. I'm just warning other travellers (maybe in summer in particular?) that it could be a good idea to check at their hotel or at a visitor centre for information prior to driving out. Have to say it's kinda yucky that this beautiful park, seemingly some distance from any major urban area or significant farming should have this issue.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lelonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

slightly touristy when we were there but a nice easy walk with lots of picture taking opportunities of the red rock. The air smells terrific up here! pine....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank staceykrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The views are great and the water cold”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is 10$ to park and the river is ashore walk away. It was not warm enough when we were there to get in the water but we spent roughly 4 hours walking the river and playing on the waters edge. Was a great stop on an otherwise busy day. Not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slide Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Slide Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing