We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High end hamburgers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level Contributor
661 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“High end hamburgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is for the Scottsdale location. The Capital Grille aims to be a high end steakhouse and usually succeeds. My wife and I came here for burgers and truffle fries. These are the best burgers in town so five dots. Love the fries too plus my wife had the salad. Service was excellent. Arizona is casual so I got a white napkin for my khaki shorts, as it should be. We keep coming back for all the reasons above. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    71
    24
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

If your looking for a dining experience that is consistently wonderful, then visit this restaurant. My wife and I are there, at least, once a week and have never been disappointed. Chef Travis assures that you receive the best food. The mixologists will assure the best drinks. The management is very attentive to all of the details and the customers. From the moment that you approach the door and it is opened for you, you will feel valued whether it is your first visit or your 50th!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Broke the bank”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Yes, the steaks and service were outstanding. The ambience was extremely dark with paneling and life-size portraits of leaders. If there was a 5 or 6 dollar sign rating, I would check it. We had 1 glass of wine, 1 Shirley temple, 2 steaks, and split an order of mushrooms. With tax and tip, the bill was $150.00. That's right: no appetizers, soup. salads, potatoes, or dessert. I think we can do better for less.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joeysweeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Subpar service average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Perhaps I dined here on the wrong night. Other people in our party have dined here before and have highly recommended the Scottsdale's Capital Grille. Eight people in the group and two never received our appetizers. A simply sorry and we will take that off the bill from our server was what we received instead. The server was almost nowhere to be found during our meal. One of the entrée arrived nearly five minutes after the other seven. The Lobster Mac appetizer was a highlight and a must have for anyone looking for a delicious pasta dish. What should have been the star of the meal, the Delmonico Steak, was only average at a premium price. With so many excellent choices for fine dinning in the Scottsdale area, I am afraid I will have to opt for another premier steak house next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Livermore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food, sevice and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our favorite restaurant choice for dining when we have a special occasion. The service is outstanding which really accounts for the majority of the atmosphere. My husband and I like to take our time during dinner and find in many restaurants we're often rushed through the courses. This is certainly not the case here, we always leave feeling very relaxed, well fed and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlikatFlagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing