We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited this place for lunch once. The welcome was pleasant - had some salad and soup. The service was very professional but courteous. Had their filet - and it was excellent. Though pricey - would recommend this place on special occasions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    73
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening and Great Dinner”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great restaurant for a romantic evening. It was the first cool evening of the fall season so we sat on the patio enjoying a glass of wine. We did not go inside so I can't comment of the decor. We ordered the Filet Oscar and our dinners had great presentation and they tasted devine. The filet was very tender and prepared exactly as we ordered. My wife also had the onion soup and I had the spinach salad. They both were great. My wife said that the onion soup was not too salty and the spinach salad with the hot bacon dressing was outstanding. But what made the evening even better was that we were allowed to enjoy the wine and dinner in quiet without being interrupted every five to ten minutes. Jennifer, our waitress, was efficent, prompt, and courteous. A few days after we had dinner, we received a thank you note in the mail from Jennefer. Now that is class. We shall go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunslinger345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Really great steak house faire”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Terrific service - reasonable vine menu - delicious beef and yummy desserts! What more is there ? This is a dark wood paneled restaurant with great drapes and carpet which absorb a lot of ambient noise. Great location and valet parking. Worthy of a special night with a spouse and friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Will be back for sure--great steak”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went on a bit of a lark, with a taste for steak. Every course was outstanding. We had a filet and rib eye that were great cuts of meat, perfectly prepared. What could have been boring sides: mashed potatoes and sautéed mushrooms were, I think I can say, among the best I've eaten. The deserts, likewise--crème brûlée and a flourless chocolate cake--were old standbyes flawlessly done. We had a Caesar salad that was excellent and onion soup that was likewise perfect. A great wine list with a nice run of inexpensive wines. In all a flawless meal.

The four stars is merely due to less than flawless service. There was some confusion in seating us, first at one table, set for a celebration, then off to another. Our server never poured the wine after the first pour, and water glasses were likewise left empty. The bussers made up for some of her inattentiveness, and I should say that this was not *poor* service, it just didn't quite stack up to the outstanding food.

If there was a 4.5 I'd give it. You shouldn't hesitate to eat here. It's far better than some of the other steakhouses with higher ratings here on tripadvisor. We plan to return and are hopeful that we can move it up to a five with our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScholarGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks and Outstanding Service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great place to impress that first date. The service is first rate and the steaks are A1. We even received a note a home from our waiter thanking us for our visit. Now that is service. Not cheap but great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellinman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing