We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really delicious but choppy service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Kierland Commons
Cross street: Scottsdale Rd. and Greenway-Hayden Rd.
Description: Tommy Bahama combines a tranquil environment and good food with an emphasis on hospitality to make for the perfect place to recharge or unwind while indulging in a unique dining experience. The experience is sure to feel like a getaway, whether you’re on vacation or looking for a vacation from your everyday life. For more information: www.tommybahama.com.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
410 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Really delicious but choppy service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am always a touch hesitant to eat here because it is a chain and attached to the store. But every time I go I am glad I did. There were six of us and everyone was very happy with their meal. Unfortunately the staff was not on the mark and service was quite sluggish. It might just have been an off night -and I will give them another try as the food was quite good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    221
    64
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“PROMISED, DIDN'T DELIVER”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Everything on the menu sounded delicious and we couldn't wait till our food arrived. Unfortunately, nothing was as it was described. I was there for lunch with two other women and we were all disappointed. It's such a beautiful spot and our waiter was charming, but the quality was poor and the prices were high. We won't be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“hokie but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

as you would expect, an opportunity to buy high priced resort wear presents itself. you would expect disneyland type food....surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!the food is really good. we had a variety of appetizers, a wide array of entrees and every bite, down to the last plantain chip was excellent. my jerk chicken was served hot, not tepid as you might have worried about. and spiced to perfection. the crab cakes were fought over because they were so tasty.
we had a server who was attentive without hovering and when he screwed something up on the order, he brought it, gratis.
this is the way a restaurant should be run. attention to the customer, good service and very well prepared food.
it didn't hurt that a steel drum was playing in the background

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savion
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good starters, average and less main courses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were nine and got all the starters in the menu - all were nice and tasty.
For main, I got a macadamia coated fish, which was greasy and almost tasteless. Couldn’t finish it and wasn’t asked why, by the professional nice waiter.
The atmosphere is nice, but price is a little to high for what served to us..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Fantastic & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Tonight we ate at Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar for the second time in four days. It was just as delicious as the first night. On our first visit, our waiter was extremely courteous and did a great job, but the highlight of the meal was Chris, another server, who presented the desserts. He did so in song-form, making up a song for all of the desserts based on "The Piña Colada Song" because they have a piña colada cake. He was our server this second time and was just as great, attentive, and entertaining, and he didn't mind me recording "The Piña Colada Cake Song" to cheer me up after our vacation ended. Try their Parmesan-Crusted Sanibel Chicken or Crab-Stuffed Shrimp; both are excellent! If you like desserts, definitely try their key lime pie, pineapple crème brûlée (served in an actual pineapple slice!), or, of course!, the piña colada cake. If I get a chance, I'll probably be back for a third meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachComber2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing