We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fortuitous recommendation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeFalco's Italian Deli and Grocery

DeFalco's Italian Deli and Grocery
Ranked #36 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a fortuitous recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We asked a guy in a local antique store to recommend a restaurant and without hesitation suggested DeFalcos. He said was the best around and how right he was.
We ate there for the two remaining days in Phoenix and on both occasions we had superb food.The pasta is excellent and my wife had the pesto chicken salad which she rated as one of the best meals she has had in the US.
On our return to the UK DeFalccos was featured on diners,drive in and dives so I had to confirm what others have said and recommend this unique place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    77
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in deli atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

A DDD recommendation!! Food was amazing. Portions plentiful, and tasting like it arrived right from Italy. Our party of four enjoyed chicken Marsala, chicken parmigiana, four cheese ravioli, and baked meat lasagna. Followed by limoncello marscapone cake and cannoli. The food is definitely worth the visit. Tables available in the deli and outdoor patio. We

Worth the visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CouleeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

After seeing the show, Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, we had to try it. It was excellent. The italian sausage with peppers and onions brought back memories of the Italian that I grew up on. The cheesesteak sandwich was also excellent. We really enjoyed the friendly staff and atmosphere. A must try if you are in Scottsdale, AZ.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TechTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Cheesesteak in the West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is definitely not a romantic, sit down and be served restaurant. That's okay, what it is a is a step into the typical back East (New York, Boston) deli. where the tables are scattered among the shelves of Italian groceries. Some products that you can only get back East, like "Pastene" products. Enough about the setting, Doesn't matter when you can get the tastiest and most properly prepared cheese steak sub in this part of the country. I have been trying for years to find one like they serve back East. This is the closest! I am telling you the truth, sooo good!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 69mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I was in town for business. My guy and I found this place. We got the pizza and chicken marsala. Both were great! We both adore Italian food and we werw very impressed. Great cheesecake as well. They have a great wine selection and many great ones for about $20. Everyone was very welcoming amd kind. We will be going back again, even maybe this trip.

Helpful?
Thank iatetoomuchdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeFalco's Italian Deli and Grocery also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to DeFalco's Italian Deli and Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing