We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad option if staying at Hyatt”

Alto ristorante e bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Alto ristorante e bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #171 of 1,241 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scottsdale Road
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not a bad option if staying at Hyatt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a few things going for it: great ambience with seating both inside and out, good selection of wine and top shelf spirits, and really terrific service. However, unless you're staying at the hotel and want the convenience of staying on site (which we did) I would suggest looking elsewhere as the food is not really commensurate with the high hotel restaurant prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fmrtaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Callao, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First-Class Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We sat on the terrace where fire pits kept the January cool temperature at bay. My antipasti selection included excellent duck prosciutto and fennel-cured olives. My entree was duck breast (anatra in agro-dolce) and it was also excellent, as was the service. And, with the entree, you get a complimentary gondola ride on the hotel's lake. I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant, situated in the manicured grounds of the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great venue, average food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Located inside the Hyatt Regency, Scottsdale, AZ, this reataurant is blessed with a beautiful setting. Service was excellent; "Tommy" knows what he's doing from his level of attentiveness, to knowledge of the menu, to his skill at opening and serving a bottle of wine. Our appetizers were tasty, but very small portions; 2 underdone scallops does not an appetizer make. The entrees were a little slow in coming as were follow on drink orders, but were tasty yet slightly small. Waitstaff could take a lesson from Tommy as one of our number was away from the table when entrees arrived, yet the dish was placed in front of an empty seat and should have been returned to keep warm. "Do you think she wants cheese?" is not something a server should ask the other dinner guests. Complimentary Gondola rides with dinner; an experience not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeOwnAFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLT
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Both of our meals were excellent, as was the appetizer. Service was very attentive but not hovering. We wanted to eat outside, but it was chilly so they put us by a lovely fire pit. We followed our meal with a complimentary gondola ride. Lovely evening!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cup-of-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The fish dish was delectable .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband ordered the white fish and it was just delectable, I ordered a pasta dish ,one with dungeness crab,The pasta noodles were undercooked but the crab was delicious My glass of Riesling was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CACTUSWREN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto ristorante e bar also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Alto ristorante e bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing