We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little let down but made the most of it”
Review of 3 Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Palms Hotel
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I quickly booked a room here for two nights at the last minute. I snap decided to go here based on the fact that it had a poolside bar and cheap rates. I also read that there was a resaurant in front of it that had decent food. I figured it wouldn't be a complete 'resort' feel since the rates were so low, but I was still a little hopeful to be surprised. As soon as i pulled up to the property to check in the staff seemed professional and friendly. I couldn't help but notice that the property appeared that somebody bought a Motel 6 and gave it a massive facelift. I walked into my room and that feeling was confirmed, it's basically a Motel 6 (exact same layout and size of room) with a bunch of renovations made to it to give it a more modern look. I figured that I was already here and the rates were good so I'll just make the most of it. I put on my swim clothes and prepared to go down to the poolside bar and grab a cocktail and lounge by the pool. I got downstairs to see that the poolside bar wasn't even open and appeared to have not been open for sometime. I called the front desk and asked them if the bar ever opens. I was told the place is 'currently closed'. My main reason for going there was to lounge by the pool and order a few cocktails to relax. Let down number one. So I ended up going out for drinks and some dinner in downtown Scottsdale and had fun. Evening number two I pulled up to the Avalon (the restaurant in front of the property) to see their hours and if I could go grab some dinner. A sign on the front door read that the place is also 'currently closed'. Let down number two. Now if the poolside bar and resaurant where open I feel I would have quickly gotten over the fact that the place is basically a Motel 6 with a few updates. But they weren't open so I basically came to Scottsdale to stay at a Motel 6 with a fancier bed, a nicer tv, and a trendy odd shaped pool. In the end I will not stay here again. If you want to grab dinner at their restaurant or relax and order a cocktail by the pool, I suggest you call and make sure these places are even open. Those are the two things that make up for the 3 palms' appearance. Without those two, Motel 6 with a different sign in front is basically where you are staying, and that's the honest truth.

Room Tip: bottom floor rooms are best since the stairs can be tough with luggage
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

I appreciate your candid review and first allow me to apologize for our restaurant being closed and no pool service. As I stated in a previous review response we are excited that a new restaurant will be opening shortly on property that will include pool service. The menu sounds fantastic and I am sure will be very popular with our guests. I would love to have you back after the restaurant opens. Please call me directly should you decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
There are newer reviews for 3 Palms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,557 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Tucson, Arizona, USA
1
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Loved the art deco flair. Clean, mini fridge and coffee maker, nice TV, nice pool area, exercise room...really good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the 3 Palms and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. The rooms really do have an art deco/modern feel and our housekeeping staff takes great pride in their work. I will be sure to pass this review on to them. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our third trip to the awsome 3 Palms hotel. They aim to please, and succeeded on every level. It was great to see some old faces and meet some great new ones. Wendy greeted us and was amazing and extra helpful, as were Paul and Matt the new GM. The entire front desk crew were consistently eager and efficient in their help and were knowledgeable about things to do in the area. We returned back to the wonderful beds and linens. We had a suite which is great especially at night , as they have a giant flat screen TV in the bedroom and another in the living area. This permitted my husband to enjoy sports, while I enjoyed a movie. We enjoyed the full size fridge and stove top. Our usual housekeeper, Irma was so caring, and cheerful. Cecilia, I believe the head of housekeeping was extra helpful as well, always, telling me, "let us know if there is anything we can do for you". I really cannot say enough good stuff about the staff, everyone was wonderful - Jesus was great, he knew a lot of about everything, helped me out with the a/c, the dishwasher, nothing was wrong with either, it was just me. He and Jose did a lot of work by the pool and I was usually there around 7:30am, and they were sincere and warm with their daily greetings. (We spent 3 fabulous weeks there) Wish I knew a lot more names, because everyone seemed to be eager to help, and everyone had a great work ethic. We appreciated all the what - although may have seemed like small details - we were so grateful for all you did for us.
Thanks so much to all -you made our vacation a home away from home. We will be back!
On a last note, the hotel has a great location - a 15 minute drive from Sky Harbour (Phoenix) a Fry's that is a short walk from the hotel, and tons of excellent shopping a car ride away - look up Fashion Square or ask the front desk!

Room Tip: Noise was not an issue for me, but I have stayed on the Park side before and it may be a better choi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

We love to read such impressive reviews and thank you for being a great friend of 3 Palms. It was really hard to believe that those three weeks passed so quickly. Out of all of the points that you made I am most proud of the comments made regarding our top notch staff. I will be sure to share this review with the team! Hopefully your travels will bring you back to 3 Palms sooner than later. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The rooms are great for the price, the pool is ok but no service out by the pool.
This place reminds me of a hotel in Siberia, plain, depressing and no life.
Don't think I will ever go back.
I thought it was tasteless to have a 20.00 charge if the pool towels are not retutned.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bob457878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at 3 Palms and I am glad that you thought the room value was great. We are currently in the process of re-opening our restaurant with a menu and theme that will be exciting for our guests. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should I be able to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Check other reviews on Yelp of people who pre-paid then the clerk insisted on more charges upon arrival...I should have. The offputting clerk also claimed there is no recourse and no one to talk to. This motel is privately owned and the veil of secrecy and arrogance feels shady.
Bad experience and not a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourthreecents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

The 3 Palms Hotel in this situation asked for a debit/credit card so we can place a $100 hold (not charge) for any incidental charges while staying with us. This is required for all guests to cover the resort should any additional charges be warranted. We take great pride in extending outstanding customer service to all of our guests which is confirmed through the many wonderful comments made on past reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It's our third visit in the past 6 months and we wanted to review this time...Location - Scottsdale, and (even better, near our son, wife, and grandson!), but convenient to services and restaurants - enjoy the neighborhood Thai place and the spots near ASU. Service - cheerful front desk afternoon welcome, and Wendy was quick to replenish the morning coffee supply in the lounge as she demo'd service for a young trainee. Value - we've found that booking last minute works for us and we go direct to the hotel and a room with King bed is very reasonable. Comfort - crisp linens, welcoming bed, even well mannered A/C doesn't keep you awake all night. Hospitality - we work in the business and appreciate the "guest-first" attitude we've seen on our visits. Hints: Ask for an extra washcloth at check-in, no elevator so be willing and able to carry your bags up to the second floor, the greenbelt (west) side would usually be the quiet side, since the pool and parking lot are on the east side of the hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: See hints in text of review.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGR8BNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for all of the wonderful comments and we really appreciate your loyalty to the 3 Palms. We really are in a great location close to many valley attractions and I agree that the value at our hotel is one if not the best in Scottsdale/Phoenix. I appreciate the shout out to Wendy for her excellent customer service and we do take great pride in our team. Look forward to your return so you can be reunited with that welcoming bed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

For a small hotel a pleasant experience. Friendly staff. Emily at front desk was great. So was Wendy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for the great review of the 3 Palms and also mentioning two of our front desk superstars. We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Saguaro Scottsdale
#44 of 75 in Scottsdale
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Palms Hotel

Address: 7707 E McDowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#23 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#29 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $61 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3 Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter our stunning yet intimate lobby, the desert stone accents set in the hand laid white crystal granite warn you to expect something special including a level of service that some people consider sublime. All of our rooms and suites are tastefully appointed with carefully selected modern art, contemporary custom made furnishings, and entertainment centers. Our guests of this Scottsdale Hotel bask in the comfort of our super deluxe pillow top beds dressed with 400-thread count linens, down comforters, and four equally soft down pillows. Passionate attention to detail continues throughout the 3 Palms Hotel in Scottsdale, with features selected with your comfort and convenience in mind. Cable/satellite TV with premium channels, DVD players, stereos, refrigerators, microwaves, and the all important coffee maker are just some of the amenities we've included in anticipation of your every need at our boutique Scottsdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 3 Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Palms Resort Oasis Scottsdale
3 Palms Resort Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
3 Palms Scottsdale
3 Palms Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing