We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the larger suite -- a real value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospitality Suite Resort
Ranked #68 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed December 12, 2006

This is an older property that's very well-kept. It's located on Scottsdale Road, in a central location. Go a couple of miles south and you're in Tempe at the Arizona State campus. Two miles north and you're in Old Town Scottsdale. Very easy to navigate.

There are two levels of rooms. The first is basically a one-room suite, which is what we ordered initially. It has a "kitchenette" consisting of a very small refirgerator, two-burner hot plate and a microwave. Judging by our units, the hotel doesn't spend a lot upgrading them.

That's because they offer, for $20 a night more, full one-bedroom suites with lots of storage space, two TVs and a small but complete kitchen as well as decent living room accommodations. We quickly realized the smaller rooms were too small and upgraded. We certainly were glad we did.

One thing we noticed: We were in a building set back from the street, and it was amazingly quiet all the time. Go for Building B. It's nice and quiet.

To put this in perspective, we got the smaller unt for $49 a night on Orbitz. The larger was $69. Pay up. It's worth it.

They offer free wireless Internet which worked just fine. The rooms were old but clean. There are several swimming pools on the premises, along with a hot tub in the central courtyard area. All seemed clean and functional. They also have tennis courts.

They offer free cooked-to-order breakfast for guests. It is not great food and the menu is very limited, but can get you started on the day. They also have a 90-minute happy hour at the pool each night for guests. Free booze! Some nights during our stay it was mellow and on one it was rowdy, but never out of control. People seemed friendly all the time.

Speaking of friendly, the staff was.

We'd definitely stay there again. It's not upscale, but they offer real value for the cost-conscious traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank tomcat33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 620 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2006

7 of us stayed at the Hospitality Suites in November 2006 for our annual "Lads" golf tour and we were more than happy with what we got for our money. The rooms were ok, the Breakfast very good, The free drinks hour and a half was good fun and the location was excellent less than 2 miles from the 202 and about 5 miles from Sky Harbour Airport ( we also used the hotels shuttle bus to transfer and found it fast and effecient ). The Hospitality Suites was a great location as the base for our golf holiday and the help that we received prior to arriving from "Tanya" in regard to helping arrange things was excellent.
We are already planning for next November and although we may change a couple of the Golf courses on our playlist we will definitely be going back to the Hospitality Suites Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Nemo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

We stayed here on the first and last nights on a recent AZ vacation, and the wife and I both agreed that it was a real value.

We arrived very tired the first night and were a bit put off by the noise coming from the pool. It was happy hour and the drinks were free and of course people were enjoying themselves. We found the room to be adequate. No complaints, and the amenities were more abundant than most of the higher priced places we stayed at in AZ.

The noise ended around 7 thankfully and we took advantage of the hot tub. The pool/spa area is nicely landscaped, though this place is unlikely to impress the real "resort type folks". It was just fine for us though. We ended up having a nice italian dinner just across the street and got a good night's sleep.

The cooked to order breakfast the next morning was just fine. Definitely nothing to complain about! If you're looking gourmet, you should probably be expecting to pay quite a bit more than "free" to begin with.

All in all, if you're looking for a place to stay for a night that's near the airport and you're not expecting high dollar luxury, I would definitely recommend Hospitality Suite Resort. If you're looking for luxury, you should be looking at something a little further north on Scottsdale Road and a lot more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Stayed in 5 locations in U.S, this was the worst hotel by far.

Concrete walkways to room were collapsing and didnt feel safe, room was awful, like a shoe box, windows/blinds didnt work, air conditioning rattled very noisily - cleaning also sub standard.
Beds were tiny with a prison cell type window in the bedroom.

Missed breakfast on first morning (thankfully) The next day I could not eat in the 'dining room' - Which is actually some kind of sports bar at night.

A thimble full of orange juice in a dirty glass - we asked for cereal on toast - and were not understood - eventually some bread arrived but there was no butter. Oh dear

Also the area the hotel is in is horrific, about 10 miles of car showrooms flank the hotel and the road is extremely busy - like staying on the edge of a motorway. There is also regular passing of low flying jets coming into land

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mattf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

Selection was made via tripadvisor. Clean room, correct breakfast, efficient staff. recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Make no mistake-this is a budget hotel. If you are expecting a 5 star for these prices you will be sadly disappointed. The 1 bedroom suite we had was reasonably clean but had seen a better day. The kitchen area had a stove, microwave and full size fridge which was convenient for keeping food/drinks were are both available from nearby stores which are within easy walking distance. There was virtually no counter space on which to prepare any food however. This lack of counter space also made it interesting while trying to do the dishes. When we asked for dish detergent, we were told that the maids would wash the dishes but we preferred not to have them sitting around so we chose to do them ourselves. Staff was very friendly and courteous. The 'complimentary' breakfast and 'happy hour' drinks, while a nice touch, are not unique in this class of hotel in the Phoenix area. If you have moderate expectations for a hotel or are travelling on a tight budget, you could do worse than this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank P2M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

My daughter & I stayed a week in August, while moving her into ASU. We found our suite to be very roomy, clean & comfortable. The beds were comfortable and our suite was quiet.

The free made to order breakfast was nice & filling with many items to choose from. We found the staff to be helpfull & polite.

We enjoyed the pool as much as we could, as it was hardley ever crowded. The free happy hour was a bonus as I expected well drinks, but was surprised by the variety of drinks to choose from.

The location made it easy to get anywhere(the freeway was just down the street) and the closeness of ASU was especially helpful to us.

I definately would recommend this resort and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank BarbJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
3 Palms Hotel
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Old Town
#57 of 75 in Scottsdale
212 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Motel 6 Scottsdale
Motel 6 Scottsdale
#59 of 75 in Scottsdale
157 reviews
Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn
#53 of 75 in Scottsdale
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospitality Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospitality Suite Resort

Address: 409 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-4216
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $81 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hospitality Suite Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in Scottsdale on the borders of Scottsdale, Pheonix, and Tempe. Providing guests with outstanding services and amenities - including a free happy hour each evening and, if you book directly with the hotel, a free breakfast each morning! Each room is tucked away in a private courtyard setting amidst the tall palm trees and bougainvillea. The majority of rooms overlook crystal blue pools for guests' daytime and evening pleasure. Two room types or suites are available. The Studio Suite offers a one room suite with a kitchenette, and the One Bedroom Suite offers either one queen bed, or 2 double beds, a pull-out-sofa and a separate living area and kitchen. The kitchens come fully equipped offering guests the opportunity for extended stay vacations. Nearby recreation makes this hotel a haven for the sports enthusiast. Featuring golf and tour services, several restaurants within walking distance, biking, hiking, and jogging trails all close access to property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hospitality Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospitality Hotel Scottsdale
Hospitality Resort Scottsdale
Hospitality Suites Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing