We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with terrific views in the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value with terrific views in the right room”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Booked on Priceline well in advance of travel date. The staff was friendly, accommodating and well informed.

Our room was big with large french doors separating the bedroom and bathroom from the rest of the suite. The bathroom was ample, well laid-out, clean, with a nice selection of soaps, shampoos etc.

The living room is separated into dining and living areas. Our room included a pull-out couch with a veranda and outside chairs. There are two TVs with remotes and a set-up for video games

Overall the room and property was a pleasant surprise. A very good value.

Our room (307) overlooked the parking lot, a highway and mountains in the distance. The highway was constantly noisy so we asked about a change to a quieter room overlooking the pool or golf course. They apologized and said that the room with a view would cost and additional $40/night, This is understandable, except for the fact that the hotel had plenty of unoccupied rooms. The hotel also charges for internet access which is sooo uncool. They did however waive the 12.95/night charge as a courtesy. Bravo!!

The beds were firm and easy on the back. The sheets weren't put on correctly or didn't fit well. The fitted sheets crept half way up the mattress and bunched around my feet. Also there were crumbs from the previous occupants under the bed skirt.

Room Tip: Try for rooms with pool or golf course views on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    175
    59
    10
    3
See reviews for
97
133
21
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

From my interaction when checking in to my departure today, all was excellent. A very friendly staff, a very spacious and well-appointed room, a very basic yet good restaurant (for me, breakfast only) and at a very reasonable price, I recommend this hotel without reservation. And the easy access to 101 made it really convenient. Staff.....well done! No exceptions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NMLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and brought my 82 year old mom too for Thanksgiving. The rooms are nice and large with a separate bedroom. We checked in but even after requesting golf course side rooms, we got on the parking lot/freeway side. The front desk was very nice in letting us move everything to the rooms on the golf course side. But, it was a hassle packing up again. The people at the front desk and the bell staff are excellent.

NOTE-this hotel is right next to Scottsdale airport so you will get low flying airplanes on any side of the hotel.

We got free breakfast with our Marriott status. The breakfast was a very nice buffet of freshly made omelets, eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereals and lot of very nice fresh fruit. We would say be careful when you sign the check however, as the tip is included so several times we double tipped without knowing. We were wondering why they loved waiting on us!

We had made reservations for their $40/person Thanksgiving dinner. It was family style. The service and organization was terrible. They did not have the tables set with white table clothes and candles. It was plastic tables with some silverware-really?! for $40/person??. They seemed really unorganized. They gave us salad plates for dinner plates so it was hard to eat everything at once. So, we ate the food in shifts. The food was pretty decent except the pumpkin pie was really bad. How do you mess up pumpkin pie?! We had no idea who our server was cause various people would come to our table. We ordered coffee, tea and milk with our dessert but they brought that 10 minutes after we finished eating dessert. They also served dessert without cleaning up the dirty dishes. All in all, it was a disappointing Thanksgiving dinner for the prices they charged.

Conclusion-go somewhere else for dinners.

Room Tip: Golf course side are somewhat quieter with better views. You still get the airplane noise; however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DruAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at this property for three nights for business meeting in mid November 2013. I was most impressed. The all suite rooms were large,well appointed. The bed was very comfortable.
Well trained professional and friendly staff. The bellman "Dane" was extremely helpful providing dinner suggestions and offering shuttles within five miles of the hotel. This property is perfect for meetings and conferences, also.

Room Tip: It's a little ways away from PHX so allow plenty of time to travel between the two points, depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kensterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I would have given this a higher rating but I have to give it in comparison with others I have reviewed so it comes out just average...
It is a standard - hotel. very nice - excellent staff but the facilities are only average (although at the high end of average admittedly)

The fencing round the pool etc gives it a bit of an average feel - and the rooms are too corporate. The service was good and the breakfast is nice.

We had to move room as you can definitely hear the road a lot from some areas of the hotel and the airport noise is fairly constant - though that didn't really bother me.

We had a wonderful trip with lots of relatives and I would say it is perfect for large griups meeting for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a meeting group. Large, suite style, comfortable rooms with typical plush Marriott beds and bedding. Everything worked well in my suite. Overlooked the golf course and it was quiet. Had dinner on the patio one evening, service was prompt and attentive. I was impressed with the food served as part of the meeting. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets all well done with appropriate service. Meeting rooms well set up and serviced. Not much nearby but had little reason to leave. There are areas nearby to walk/jog - ask for a map at the front desk. Bellman easy to work with in arranging car service back to the airport.

Room Tip: The Scottsdale airport flight path goes right over the hotel. No problems with noise in the room but...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cmrhodes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding that was going on last weekend. At first glance, it was a beautiful property with great views of the Camelback Mountains. The Front Desk was extremely nice and although we could have checked in early, they let us know of a better room with a view if we would like to wait. We definitely appreciated that since we were there for 3 nights. Once we got up to the room, we were surprised to see double beds (we were sharing with another couple). They should definitely invest in some queen size beds (but beggars can't be choosers), the double beds were still extremely comfortable!! We were very excited to go on our first vacation of the year and we were in high spirits.

However, then we made our way down to their restaurant/bar/outdoor sitting area. After 20 minutes of waiting, we went inside to ask if we needed to order from the bar. They said oh no, we will come out. Ok.....we waited another 20 minutes. Nothing. We moved into the bar and got instant service from a nice young gentleman. However, there were 5 servers standing around not doing ANYTHING and making this poor young man do everything, including the manager. It took another 30 minutes to get an appetizer. Slowest service I have ever experienced and outrageous menu prices. I guess when you are not within walking distance to anything, you are able to charge higher.

We did not have a rental car, so we utilized the shuttle everyday. The valet guys are awesome and have great suggestions of where to go. Zach was extremely nice and helpful and so was Dane. With that being said, NOBODY in our entire wedding block wanted to even try to deal with the awful service in the restaurant so we were having to bug the shuttle guys all day everyday to just go and get food.

Anyways, I would not stay here again just because of the location. If I had a rental car, maybe. I prefer to be closer to things in walking distance so I don't feel stuck at a hotel. Especially one with slow service. The Front Desk gal Senitka (sp?) was amazing during our whole stay and she should definitely be promoted to a manager. Zach and Dane were awesome as well.

Hope this review helps!

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad view with any of the rooms. Ask for a view of the mountains. Even thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanmc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Desert Oasis
#8 of 75 in Scottsdale
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Property: Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Address: 16770 N Perimeter Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85260-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#22 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#32 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive desert resort on palm-studded grounds, with scenic views of mountains and the Sonoran Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Marriott At Mcdowell Mountains Hotel Scottsdale
Marriott Mcdowell Mountains
Marriott Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing