We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,575)
Filter reviews
2,575 results
Traveler rating
1,582
544
232
121
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,582
544
232
121
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camelback mountain cactus garden golf course thirsty camel relish burger bistro main building canyon suites turn down service golf club pool staff self parking tennis courts ice water fitness center grounds are beautiful rooms are large bit dated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 2,575 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2019

My wife, two sons (7 and 9 years old) just stayed at the Phoenician this past week and all I can say was we were very impressed with our stay at this resort. I would like to give a shout out to Ryan Sudden who checked us in at the front desk. He was very personable and kind. He is exactly the type of person who should be working at the front desk of any resort and he was great throughout our entire stay there. The whole property is beautiful with Camelback Mountain just behind the property. It was so nice to hike the Cholla trail two times during our stay. I love working out on vacation, so the gym at the Phoenician is one of the best gyms I've ever seen at a resort. Gary who works inside of the gym is one of the nicest and coolest guys around too! I would definitely love to stay here again one day! Old Town and The Fashion Square Mall is right down the street and the nightlife in Scottsdale is amazing!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikeygolf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear Mikeygolf47,

Thank you for choosing The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort for your family vacation. We are thrilled to read your comments about our convenient location, fitness center as well as the great service you received from our staff and how they exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you acknowledging Ryan and Gary for their assistance. Please be assured we will pass on your comments to them. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Denise Seomin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

very nice place with great grounds but be prepared for the costs. Restaurants were good but not to the standard I'd have expected for such a facility, particularly the steak house. Rooms were nice and employees were attentive and polite. I did appreciate that people could not reserve chairs around the pool. Something all hotels and resorts should practice.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ToomuchsnowTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear ToomuchsnowTom,

Thank you for being our guest at The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort. We are pleased to know you liked our well-appointed rooms and attentive service. However, we are sorry for failing to meet your expectations with regard to the breakfast. Based on your feedback, we are working with our food and beverage team to identify where we can make improvements. We encourage you to join our Marriott Bonvoy loyalty program to enjoy exclusive perks which include member-only rates and free internet. We hope to have another occasion to host you whenever your travels bring you to the city.

Sincerely,
Denise Seomin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

There is nothing like it anywhere in Scottsdale, Arizona! The rooms are huge and well appointed. My favorite parts of the hotel are the cactus gardens and swimming pools. The cactus gardens run along the length of the hotel almost backed up to a mountain. Brunch is amazing. Restaurants superb.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 445cherylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear 445cherylm,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Phoenician. We appreciate you mentioning our beautiful cactus gardens and the refreshing pool. It was a pleasure providing you with a comfortable, relaxing stay, and we hope to be your home every time you visit the area.

Sincerely,
Denise Seomin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Terrible cancellation policy that is not consistent with Marriott Bonvoy Properties. Sad excuse to cheat people out of money. I Was not even sent a notification of the charge that happened 20 days later.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Matthew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Director of Public Relations at The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2019

Dear Matthew Y,

Thank you for sharing your concerns. We apologize for any confusion and frustration experienced. Please note that we do have a non-standard cancellation policy of 7 days during high season. This switched to 72 hours at the end of May; however, this is communicated on the reservation confirmation letter/email, as well as on our website and via our Reservations Team.

We would like to investigate the late charge further. If you could please call the resort and request to speak to a Front Desk Manager, we can review the matter with you directly.

Sincerely,
Denise Seomin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

We stayed over the Memorail Day weekend and I think the resort was fully booked. The check in was slow with only two associates who were occupied with people vying for better views. The room had "pool view" that was blocked by an event tent. The room was very large with two queen beds and they were so comfortable. The huge bathroom had a bath tub and shower stall. Be careful with the marble floors. It was easy to slip getting out of the shower with wet feet.There was a mini bar and a Keurig machine. The balcony was well furnished and partially shaded.The grounds, pool and golf course are in nearly perfect shape. All of the service people were very friendly. For food we first tried the steak house which has a beauiful view but was too expensive for the quality. The next night we took an Uber to a nice restaurant off property. The Market Place (self serve) may actually take longer than the buffet in the dine all day restaurant. The service in the (new) Tavern at the golf course was excellent. The service at the pool bar was impossibly slow and food not great. The setting for this resort is unique, in the cliifs leading up to Camelback Mountain. There is also a cactus garden that would be great for family photos. It is a short Uber ride from Sky Harbor. We would easily return to this resort, perhaps on a non-holiday weekend.

Room tip: Best views are of the pools and cliffs.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PKPOWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Phoenician, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear PKPOWELL,

Thank you for spending your Memorial Day weekend with us at The Phoenician. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our contemporary elegant rooms that have been luxuriously renovated and that the great service you received from our staff exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Denise Seomin
Director of Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews