We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2010

My husband and I had been wanting to go to Arizona for some time now. We had a great experience all around. Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The concierge staff was very nice and helpful. When we found out it was snowing in the Grand Canyon and weren't sure if we should go, the concierge was very helpful in helping us to decide and when we decided against it, she suggested many other things for us to do instead. The only thing we could have done without was the J&G Steakhouse. I just don't think it was our "thing." The place was extremely expensive (which was expected by the way) but the overall atmosphere to be frank gave us the "creeps." But like I said before, just wasn't our style. We much enjoyed the atmosphere at Il Terrazo (spelling) better! The ice cream shop was great too. We had breakfast there every morning and Amy our server was very friendly and helpful. I wanted a smoothie with no dairy and she made one that was great!!! Our experience was very good and we really enjoyed that Hertz car rental was right there on the premises. Made life a lot easier! Overall, our experience was very good and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgebackgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    469
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
504
655
66
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Something was wrong at the Phoenician. While parts of the hotel were spotless, others were in a state of woe. We walked past the same spill on a walkway for two days. The furniture at the pool was dirty and worn. The pool area was overcrowded, and understaffed. It took 20 minutes to get an order from a server (while we sat at a dirty, sticky pool bar) and then another 10 to get the check. In contrast, the front desk staff was efficient and helpful. Food was OK but pricey. We had the distinct impression that the Phoenician was running some type of "sale" and was not properly staffed for the influx. The hotel also charges a hefty sum for internet access, on top of steep room prices. Why do high end hotels do this?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacramentoDella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize that your overall resort vacation was not found to be representative of our high standards. During the spring (our high season), the pool does tend to be rather popular with guests. We are reviewing the situation in order to enhance our pool service for next season. In the meantime, I am happy to report that new pool furnishings (cushions) have just been added. We hope we will have the opportunity to provide you with a true Phoenician experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The Phoenician is an absolutely beautiful property. Sadly that's where the quality ends.
Our arrival was marred by an inept bell staff who first was lackadasical in getting us to the right place. (a casita room) and then delivered our luggage to the wrong room and then told us that they couldn't find it. We got it 3 hours later and the bellman gave us a dirty look when we didn't tip him. (Fouad)
The pool was gorgeous and the staff there were nice. The restaurants are quite exspensive , even for a luxery resort. Our server at the bar (Bernadine) was wonderful and friendly. The rooms need some serious updates and the staff was overworked, yet attentive. They need to hire more staff and dump the bellmen. Will not return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatday1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are disappointed to hear of your experience, and will be following up with the appropriate departments to discuss your concerns. I can assure you that we are committed to providing the highest standards in quality and service. Your comments are important in ensuring we achieve these goals each and everyday. We hope you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back for a true Phoenician experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sellersville,pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We loved the Phoenician, booked a room at another hotel and hated it...stopped at the Pheonician and had to stay! They took $20 off our room because of our experience! CLEAN, has room service 2X a day! We only hung out at the pool 2X in a week and they helped us get chairs once and we asked once! But had a great time! Yes, overpriced but what hotel isnt! Minutes away from ALL restaurants and stores! We booked r room early and came back hrs later and noone helped us get our luggage out of our car or bring it to our room. They need to be more attentive in front of the lobby! We didnt have a view in our room, 1st floor but...lots of privacy and close to the 1st floor bar where the bartender is the BEST! Breakfast is good at the hotel but pricey, the ice cream shop has a cheaper breakfast! Did not eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner....too many great places to go, and great golfing! WILL be back!!!!! Cutest Easter parade ever!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank person_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the feedback, which will be reviewed as part of our overall service commitment. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay after a rocky start to your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We just got back from the Phoenician Hotel in Scottsdale AZ. . It was our second visit to the Phoenician. We stayed here last year same time of year and liked it so much we decided to return again this year from 3/25-3/31. I have to say everything was just as wonderful as the first time. The hotel was beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the fourth floor of the main building facing the pool. Beautiful view! It is very large for a hotel room and really comfortable. The decor could probably use an update but everything is still very elegant and clean. Huge bathroom with marble and shower and large tub. Balconies are large and private and very clean with nice porch furniture. The grounds are very lush and the pool area is beautiful too. The only negative I would mention is trying to get a chair by the pool if you arrive any later than 8:00 am. Last year when you arrived at the pool an attendant was at your side immediately asking you if you needed a chair. This year there was far less attendants if any at all and all the chairs were taken by people who sent someone down at like 7 am to save chairs for people who didn't even arrive until later in the afternoon. This was mildly irritating. Other than that it's a great place. Just a hint. Everything is expensive at the Phoenician. If you are looking for a bargain don't stay here. The restaurants were delicious and the pool lunches were great too. The waitresses at the pool are really nice and very attentive. We did not use the gym or the spa So in closing we had another GREAT vacation at The Phoenician.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaJillpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated! We're so pleased you enjoyed your second visit to The Phoenician. In regards to your concerns surrounding pool chairs, we are reviewing the situation. The spring tends to be our busiest time of year, with pool chairs at a premium. Efforts are and will continue to be made to alleviate the problem. We hope to have you back with us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago< IL
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a 5 Star resort in all aspects, we stayed in a Casita Room overlooking the pools with a great view of Camelback Mountain.. Our room was located in Casita A on the second floor and was perfect in every way. Our balcony patio was so enjoyable we had several meals delivered, staff set up our balcony patio with linens wonderful tableware, and the food was fresh and delicious. We truly enjoyed this resort and can't wait to go back again. The staff was very helpful and polite, and always ended any and every conversation by asking us if there was anything else they could do for us. It was a very special experience, and this resort is one we hope you will try as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your Phoenician experience. It is our goal to create a luxury resort environment where each and every guest feels special; where they belong. We are very pleased to learn that your visit reflected this commitment. We look foward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My hubby and I were really disappointed with our stay at the Phoenician. The grounds are nice and the service was pretty good, but the rooms are very dated and 3-star at best. It didn't help that our stay coincided with some rainy weather so we didn't get to enjoy the pools or gardens, but even considering this misfortune, we didn't feel that we got our money's worth from this hotel. For the price we paid and the 5-star rating, I was expecting more luxury.

I also utilized the spa for a facial and the salon for a pedicure. Talk about WAY OVERPRICED! I know hotel spas are known from being pricey but these prices were ridiculous. Again, not worth the money.

Overall, we were quite disappointed with our stay at The Phoenician. So much that we left after 1 night even though we had already paid for 2.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibbunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relatons Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with your recent Phoenician visit. We do appreciate your comments, which are shared with our management team and staff as part of our continuing effort to enhance the guest experience. Through renovation, construction and the premiere of new services and programs - from restaurants to shopping -- we are consistently innovating and expanding our luxury product, which features various pricepoints. We hope you will consider another visit to our resort destination, which grows and evolves with the input of customers such as you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing