We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything was perfect, again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“everything was perfect, again”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We just got back from the Phoenician Hotel in Scottsdale AZ. . It was our second visit to the Phoenician. We stayed here last year same time of year and liked it so much we decided to return again this year from 3/25-3/31. I have to say everything was just as wonderful as the first time. The hotel was beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the fourth floor of the main building facing the pool. Beautiful view! It is very large for a hotel room and really comfortable. The decor could probably use an update but everything is still very elegant and clean. Huge bathroom with marble and shower and large tub. Balconies are large and private and very clean with nice porch furniture. The grounds are very lush and the pool area is beautiful too. The only negative I would mention is trying to get a chair by the pool if you arrive any later than 8:00 am. Last year when you arrived at the pool an attendant was at your side immediately asking you if you needed a chair. This year there was far less attendants if any at all and all the chairs were taken by people who sent someone down at like 7 am to save chairs for people who didn't even arrive until later in the afternoon. This was mildly irritating. Other than that it's a great place. Just a hint. Everything is expensive at the Phoenician. If you are looking for a bargain don't stay here. The restaurants were delicious and the pool lunches were great too. The waitresses at the pool are really nice and very attentive. We did not use the gym or the spa So in closing we had another GREAT vacation at The Phoenician.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaJillpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated! We're so pleased you enjoyed your second visit to The Phoenician. In regards to your concerns surrounding pool chairs, we are reviewing the situation. The spring tends to be our busiest time of year, with pool chairs at a premium. Efforts are and will continue to be made to alleviate the problem. We hope to have you back with us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    467
    195
    102
    73
See reviews for
500
653
66
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago< IL
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a 5 Star resort in all aspects, we stayed in a Casita Room overlooking the pools with a great view of Camelback Mountain.. Our room was located in Casita A on the second floor and was perfect in every way. Our balcony patio was so enjoyable we had several meals delivered, staff set up our balcony patio with linens wonderful tableware, and the food was fresh and delicious. We truly enjoyed this resort and can't wait to go back again. The staff was very helpful and polite, and always ended any and every conversation by asking us if there was anything else they could do for us. It was a very special experience, and this resort is one we hope you will try as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your Phoenician experience. It is our goal to create a luxury resort environment where each and every guest feels special; where they belong. We are very pleased to learn that your visit reflected this commitment. We look foward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My hubby and I were really disappointed with our stay at the Phoenician. The grounds are nice and the service was pretty good, but the rooms are very dated and 3-star at best. It didn't help that our stay coincided with some rainy weather so we didn't get to enjoy the pools or gardens, but even considering this misfortune, we didn't feel that we got our money's worth from this hotel. For the price we paid and the 5-star rating, I was expecting more luxury.

I also utilized the spa for a facial and the salon for a pedicure. Talk about WAY OVERPRICED! I know hotel spas are known from being pricey but these prices were ridiculous. Again, not worth the money.

Overall, we were quite disappointed with our stay at The Phoenician. So much that we left after 1 night even though we had already paid for 2.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibbunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relatons Director at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with your recent Phoenician visit. We do appreciate your comments, which are shared with our management team and staff as part of our continuing effort to enhance the guest experience. Through renovation, construction and the premiere of new services and programs - from restaurants to shopping -- we are consistently innovating and expanding our luxury product, which features various pricepoints. We hope you will consider another visit to our resort destination, which grows and evolves with the input of customers such as you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We went to Scottsdale during one of the rainiest weeks of the year. However, even though we were barely able to sit out and enjoy the beautiful pools at the resort, we still had a wonderful visit. The service at the hotel is impeccable, as is the food at both the bar and the restaurants. Everything here is pricey, but the service you will receive is second to none.

Our room had soothing, neutral colors. The bathroom was large and well-appointed.

We loved, and took great advantage of, the gym. All of the equipment is state-of-the-art and is well-maintained. While we managed to get comped for the gym, it is well worth the price of $10 to get in there for a good workout.

One note of caution: valet parking, while fast, is pricey ($25/day). Self-parking is free. You can self-park and be right underneath the main building of the hotel. There's really no need to valet park if you'd rather put your money towards something else.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shootingstarbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2010

What an awesome hotel - what an awesome stay we had...
no other place like this for golf, honeymoon or just to relax - everything we could experience had been fantastic... it had been 3 days full of magic

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKreuzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria CA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and daughter joined me on a business trip to Phoenix and we stayed at the Phoenician. We were in a private suite which overlooked the tennis courts and had mountain views right outside our veranda (which was huge). The weather was quite hot since it was July, so we would spend a great amount of time on the veranda after the sun went down. The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful, with many pools to choose from. The nightly turn down service was a plus, and the room was gorgeous, with a full living room for entertaining. The staff was friendly and accomodating (with one exception), but overall the staff was great. The only negative was the nightly visitor we had in our room, a huge blackish brown beetle that is indigenous to the area and comes from the mountains that surrounded our room. This thing was massive, about 3 inches long. I've since discovered that they can reach up to 6 inches long!! Thank God the one in our room wasn't that big, I think I would have had to check out. My husband would gently escort this beetle out off the veranda every night and every night he would return. We called the front desk and they said it was quite common but that they were harmless (not exactly true, they do bite if provoked). These bugs were also at the pool area after dark, one flew onto my head while we sat by the pool, yuck! The hotel of course, has no control over this so I'm not blaming them just thought I'd mention it for those travelers that freak out over bugs. We had afternoon English tea in their tearoom and it was Phenomenal (see review).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zekesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I read the reviews on this hotel and expected a top class hotel. Sadly I was dissappointed. Poor service, average facilities and overall more of a big complex feel rather than the standard expected and recieved at other top worldwide golfing hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing