We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch in virtually every way.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top notch in virtually every way.....”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the most relaxing places that we have EVER been. All services were impeccable--from restaurants to the spa facilities and everything in between. The Sunday brunch is NOT to be missed. Lounging at the pool for most of the day, with poolside lunch, was nirvana. Note: The Phoenician has the best in-room showers area of any place that I can think of...and with the heat out in Scottsdale, they are most welcome. When you need to get away from it all....this is certainly one of the places to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Wow, thank you so much for the great review! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of you recent stay at The Phoenician. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    469
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
504
655
66
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was my second time in the past few years staying at the property. The rooms were nice, grounds well-kept, and facilities perfect for our meeting. every where I went...room, public bathrooms, meeting rooms, lobby spaces...was clean and neat. Not a spec of dirt anywhere!

I did want to commend 1 staff member: Tashonda from banquets. She was our server for breakfast all 3 days of our conference. The first day, I asked for something special to drink. She went and got it for me promptly. The second day, she was there again, but this time already had my special drink ready! Needless to say, she did the same on the third day! Kudos to her for anticipating my needs and reacting accordingly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience at The Phoenician! We are, however, most pleased that you took the time to highlight Tashonda in your review, as we know she will be happy to hear that she was able to provide you with a AAA Five Diamond service encounter. Whether for business or leisure, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This resort is located on the foothill of Camelback Mountain, and what a backdrop that is. They have a hiking trail behind the hotel, on the Camelback Mountain that offer great views of Scottsdale. You also go through their cactus garden, which is so beautiful.
The grounds are gorgeous and immaculately kept, so are the facilities. Staff is friendly and professional. The walking yoga is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiciaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the resort grounds, walking yoga, and proximity to Camelback Mountain! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We decided to visit Scottsdale for the 4th of July. The property was obviously very crowded but that is fine considering it was a National Holiday. The main attraction for us was that they were doing their own fireworks show Saturday night at 9pm and a bunch of indoor family activites on the 5th and our 4 year old loves a good fireworks show!

On the 4th we arrived around 5pm and immediately headed down to the pool and found a couple of chairs next to the pool. Our daughter enjoyed the waterslide and the splash pad. Later that evening they brought out a movie screen and showed Smurfs 2 in the pool. We ordered food and had dinner while watching the moving in and out of the pool. At the end of the night after we signed our check we waited for the server to come back and he never did so I retained my check as to not leave my name and room number for a guest to potentially use to buy food and beverage during the balance of our trip. I was going to drop it by the front desk when we checked out on the 6th.

On the 5th we had a nice brunch and then hit the pool for the day. We got out around 4 and wanted to check out the indoor activites in the ballrooms. We arrived to a crazy number of wild children running around with little to no supervision and at one point one of the large inflatables was deflating on a bunch of little kids. While the idea was great the execution was poor and could have lead to multiple injuries. After about 15 minutes we headed back to our Suite to change and to head out for dinner so we could make it back to the hotel for the fireworks at 9pm. We headed out for dinner and made it back at 8:15 and while we were pulling up we noticed the fireworks going off and rushed to the patio off the lobby only to see the last minute of the show. Our daughter needless to say was very disappointed that she missed the show. We were told that they shot them off early due to weather which didn’t make sense to me as it was a nice night out. Disappointed we went back to the room and called it a night.

On Sunday we again had the brunch downstairs after waiting for nearly an hour for a table and then back to the pool for the afternoon. At 4pm we had bell services come pick up our bags and proceeded to the front desk to check out. While at the front desk I presented them with the slip I had signed on the 4th and noticed that they already had charged me for that meal and a nice tip. I asked the front desk clerk why they would add a tip and she didn’t have an explanation. I asked her to look into in and revise my bill to reflect the 20% tip I had added to the slip versus the 25% tip it seems was added. Additionally I told her how disappointed we were over the fireworks show or lack thereof. At this point I am still waiting for any response from the property as it has been over 2 weeks with no word from them.

To summarize, the property and rooms are great! The only issue is that I think they were overwhelmed by the number of guests and the fireworks show should have gone off as scheduled as I know we weren’t the only family that was disappointed because we missed the show. We will likely try and make it back for the 4th again next year.


(I might also add that you should keep the sundries store open later)

Room Tip: I liked our suite. It was very spacious with 3 balconies. Upgrade if you have the chance it is wor...
See more room tips
Green Features: no comment - I didn't think they were escpecially envronmentally friendly. There seemed to be a lot of waste at the pool.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggfi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Activities at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations in some areas. There were a record number of guests attending our holiday activities, and with crowds can come complications. We have made note of the issues for our carnival next year and will use your comments for future improvements. Regarding the fireworks, while the storm did not eventually break at the resort, the concern for high winds and lightning happening just due north of us resulted in the Fire Marshall informing us that we had to set them off early. We sincerely apologize you missed the show, as we know how much everyone was looking forward to celebrating the holiday with this beloved past time. I am so happy you enjoyed Surge and the waterslide and we look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a stay cation with my hubby to celebrate our 10th anniversary.

We were so pampered and spoiled by the wonderful staff and setting of The Phoenician. Check in was fast and we were offered a free upgrade. Our room was big and immaculate. And the bathroom!!! So luxurious.

We had drinks at the hotel bar and dinner at the steak house. Both were fantastic. My filet was cooked to perfection and the tuna tar tar was scrumptious. The view was beautiful with a panoramic view of the valley. Upon returning to our room we found a bottle of bubbly on ice compliments of The Phoenician!!!

We normally stay with a different 5 star brand when we travel or stay cation in Phoenix. I will be checking from here on out to see if The Luxury Collection has a property in the area and will book there instead.

Thank you for the wonderful memories!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words. We are delighted that you and your husband had an exceptional anniversary stay at The Phoenician! Thank you for choosing to stay with us – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a return trip to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just finished our second stay at The Phoenician, and can't wait to return. Ideally located just a very short drive from restaurants and shops, the resort is very peaceful. We come for the location, and the on-site golf. Rooms are tastefully decorated, ours had a massive marble bathroom, large shower and bath. There's art and sculpture everywhere, in the grounds and corridors. If you want to eat in the hotel there's options available, with daily happy hour specials at Relish. Prices do reflect the resort's status! We used the buffet breakfast once on our first day, preferring to venture into the town to sample cheaper and equally as good alternatives. Summer desert golf is quite a challenge, rates drop if you can tough it out after 11am. We did, and enjoyed 3 rounds across Desert and Canyon each day, Oasis was being worked on (9 holes each part, joined to make your 18. Staff are very welcoming and helpful across the resort. Have tried other locations across the years, this is our favourite.

Green Features: You can opt to earn more Starwood points if you don't have room service!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind commendation of our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants, golf course, service and accommodations! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
285 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds which are immaculately looked after. The rooms are largr and comfortable, as indeed is the bed. With 8 pools to choose from, there is plenty of room to relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. Relishnand il Terrazzo restaurants are worth a visit, even if they do close rather early. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review online. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing three days at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing