We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I can't believe this hotel charges $600 for a basic room, and that was discounted with a AAA rate otherwise it would have been around $660! I have stayed at many luxury hotels and cannot see how this hotel can justify this rate. Nothing is actually wrong with the hotel its just that it is way overpriced for what it is. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded. Other than a pool view this was a typical standard room. The pool is just so so....no view, no nothing, and the service was very spotty. On the first day we arrived there were not three lounge chairs together but there were three single ones by themselves. We asked the staff if they could put three chairs together...the answer was simply "no". We decided to get lunch instead where we sat in the hot sun for about 20 min before anyone acknowledged us. However, the second day at the pool the service was excellent...always coming around to see what we needed, refreshing our water pitcher, adjusting umbrella etc. It was the same with breakfast service great one day and waiter non existent the next. As for the bill....when we checked out there was a miscellaneous room charge of $65. I asked the girl what that was and she said tax. Well then why was it clearly labeled tax for the second night $75? She didn't have an answer other than thats what the computer says. She adjusted the bill. Second, we were supposed to get a AAA credit of $65 per day/breakfast which had not been applied to our account. When we asked about that she said "yes, that needs to be applied manually." I said well then why don't you apply that manually?!!! Bottom line always check your bill. Overall, I wouldn't go back. It wasn't a bad experience but they just should have been charging $2/300ish a night instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkat77774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are disappointed to learn that our service standards were not achieved. Consistent and ongoing training is at the core of our culture, and something to which we are firmly committed. Please know that your comments have been shared with the respective department managers to be reviewed and addressed. As a AAA Five Diamond resort, The Phoenician’s standard rooms start at a spacious 600 square feet, and feature Italian marble bathrooms with a separate soaking tub and shower. The Oasis Pool Complex, home to seven pools, includes stunning views of Camelback Mountain to the North, and Necklace Lake as well as the Casita Lawn and fountain to the South. As April is part of our peak season, our pricing is competitive. Special rates at more than 60% off are available during the summer months. We do hope you will visit again to experience what a true Phoenician luxury stay is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    464
    195
    101
    72
See reviews for
497
651
66
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited with our 2 children and our small dog and they upgraded us to an incredible 2 bedroom casita. We were floored by the generous upgrade and delightful friendly service. The pool with the twisting waterfall and nearby cabana (for the parents) kept the kids happy all day. I loved the cactus garden with its meandering walkway and spots to stop and enjoy the peace and beauty of the majestic rocks and vivid desert coloring. Dinner was outstanding. The kids splurged and had lobster and the staff made sure that it was treated like a special occasion. They couldn't do enough. The comfort,attention to detail and warm and caring attitude from the staff make this a truly spectacular resort. An elegant 5 star feather in Scottsdales cap!!!!

Room Tip: the casitas are extraordinary,,,especially with kids. It made getting a good nights sleep possible a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you and your children had an enjoyable experience at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome your family back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed from 4/21 to 4/26 and it was wonderful. Upon arrival our room was not ready until 5 pm. The reception staff gave us a $250 credit without me asking! This is what I would expect from a five star property. Better yet the following day a manager called and asked how we were doing and gave another $150 credit. Dining in all restaurants was very good. We try to limit our stays to five star properties and found the Phoenician experience to be as good as any. The pool set-up is very family friendly. We had our two grandkids ages 5&7 with us and they loved the place. Quite honestly, there isn't a reason to leave the grounds. It is a busy place with conventions so if you need extreme solitude go to Sedona or try the Four Seasons. This property is only blocks away from Old Scottsdale and Fashion Square Mall which are two very nice areas. During months where the pools can be enjoyed this is the place. Golf was typical Troon managed facility professional but not intimidating. The staff in all areas were attentive and concerned about your pleasure. We will definitely make The Phoenician our go to resort in the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

An oasis in the dessert, the resort had numerous pools filled with guest parked outside. Jockeying for a spot at the pool can be hard if you don't get out early. The restaurants are first class, plus the golf & tennis seem nice if you can bear the hot weather. Just a few miles down the same street is the high end shopping mall to escape the heat. We had a great couples weekend retreat at the Phoenician.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doccao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that your recent experience at The Phoenician was an exceptional one! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I am perplexed how this resort (at the time of me writing this) is not #1 on Trip Advisor. It's impossible to beat. The service, the food, the accommodations are all world-class. It's no wonder why this is one of Starwood's 15 diamond-class resorts in the US. Perhaps the price causes some reviewers not to rate it 5 stars. Anyway, it's spectacular.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AroundWorld300KDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review online. From the food to the AAA Five Diamond service you received from our Ambassadors, we are thrilled to hear that you had a spectacular experience at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The property is beautiful and bountiful. So large, didn't even get a chance to enjoy the whole grounds. The staff is so wonderful, everything was done for us to make our stay a memorable one. It was the most beauiful and well run up-scale hotel we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Cabin suites was an excellent section of the resort.
See more room tips
Green Features: The property is so large that they have vehicles and golf carts to take you to wherever you want to go.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyflower_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for the outstanding review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that our Ambassadors were able to provide you with a memorable experience! It was a pleasure having you as our guest – please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, and quiet. The property features a large pool, plus several smaller ones. The service around the pool was very attentive, with people coming around offering pitchers of ice water. We were there over Easter weekend and it was packed. It was much nicer on Monday when the crowds were gone. The waiters at all the restaurants on site provided great service and were very polite. The only bummer: there was always a wait for breakfast if you wanted the buffet. One day it was 30 minutes, another day it was 20. There's a quick place to get bagels and fruit, but even that was usually very busy due to all the of conferences held there. Otherwise it was a very nice relaxing vacation with the family!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your 5 days at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through September 2017, the resort will be undergoing enhancements. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers an award-winning golf course, onsite spa, and 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing