We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service from Bryon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful service from Bryon!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I can't say more about how thrilled we were with the service Bryon provided us during our stay at The Phoenician. No matter the time of day, he always greeted us with a smile and an eagerness to do whatever he could to please us. Kudos, Bryon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FinCon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the exceptional service you received from Byron! We know he will be incredibly pleased to learn of your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    473
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
505
655
66
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a very nice resort set at the base of Camelback mountain. We had a wonderful view of the mountain from our balcony. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Service was generally good. The concierge was very knowledgeable and very helpful. Our maid was cranky to the point of being rude...surprising for this class of resort. Also surprising was a $14 charge for bell service...never seen any other hotel charge for that. Funny sulphur smell out by pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed their time at The Phoenician; however, we are disappointed that that some aspects of your stay failed to meet your expectations. We are most concerned with the conduct of one of team members, as mentioned in your review, and we have shared your comments with our housekeeping managers to ensure that they are addressed with our associates. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I checked into the Phoenician Friday close to midnight after a long day of meetings in Tempe. My wife was flying in the next morning for a night of relaxation away from the kids. I reserved The Phoenician via American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts, which is what I normally do when I visit someplace new. And, American Express has never let me down. Until now.

I checked into one of their "Casitas." The bellman drove me on a golf cart down through a parking lot to buildings that looked like an old apartment complex or motel. When I entered my room I was horrified. The room was dated, tired, and far from what I would consider a "fine hotel or resort." I headed straight for the front desk to check out. Now, the girls at the front desk were great. They offered to change my room. I declined. I just wanted out. However, I relented when I couldn’t get into another hotel so late at night in the area. The girls at the front desk moved me to the Canyon next door, a far better experience overall. I stayed one night and then moved to the Four Seasons (an awesome property - review to follow).

So, in the end, I give them credit for properly training their front desk on how to handle a dissatisfied customer. But I strongly discourage anyone from staying at this hotel unless you don’t mind an outdated, tired room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCTO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments. Of course, we are deeply disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction. The Phoenician offers great diversity in accommodations – from the residential-style Casita Buildings, to the centralized Main Building, to the more intimate “resort-within-a-resort,” The Canyon Suites. All provide unique amenities, based on the guest’s individual preferences. Throughout the last few years, more than $100 million in renovations and enhancements have taken place at the resort – including a complete redesign of the Casita Suites. As an ongoing process, additional renovations will continue to be scheduled. We do hope you will visit us again and allow us to assist in creating the memorable, personalized guest experience for which we are known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Cannot say enough about this magnificent resort. Here for a work retreat and we were treated like royalty. Rooms were comfortable, grounds and pool area are gorgeous, but the most outstanding thing about this resort is the service...simply amazing! Do not miss the prickly pear margaritas, which are deliciously refreshing! Will be back! Great for business retreats or family vacations. Most wonderful location at the foot of Camelback Mountain.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the grounds, pools, and our famous prickly pear margaritas! Whether for business or pleasure, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Sereno, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This a a very good hotel in a great and central area. The room ammenities were dated. The service was very good. The restaurant was ok at best. Don't get talked into the breakfast buffet (an excuse for no service and mediocre food). Their a la carte menu is great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahramG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Although we are happy that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, we are disappointed to hear that you did experience inconsistencies, which certainly do not reflect our commitment to delivering AAA Five Diamond excellence. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may use them for further improvement. We hope you will visit us again so that we may provide you with the luxurious, memorable guest experience for which The Phoenician is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was a family trip and we had a great time. The service overall was really good, but one person really stood out. Shant made our entire family feel welcome. My son really liked the kid's club and hubby liked the golf. We had the cheapest room that was farthest from the pool, but we still had a nice view and would return again for the great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavnsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation at The Phoenician! We pride ourselves on providing personalized, memorable experiences for guests of all ages, and we are thrilled that Shant was able to make such a lasting impression on your family. We will be sure to share your kind words with him. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Gorgeous resort set against Camelback Mountain. Rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. We were probably at the farthest point from the pool/lobby but we had a wonderful view of the hills and golf course. The staff was very polite and quick to help, our drinks by the pool never got empty, and the food was tasty. They are not giving it away though as our breakfast in bed ran almost $70 for the two of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your recent experience at The Phoenician! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing