We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This resort is beautiful. The open layout is nice with rooms, restaurants, pools, etc. spread throughout the grounds. There are 3 beautiful pools, with another family/children pool under construction.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a regular Casita room away from the main building which had a beautiful view of the resort and Camelback.

We both has 80 minute spa treatments and both therapists were wonderful as well as the check-in staff. The locker-room is dated as well as the sauna and the steam room has a musty smell. The whirlpool tub is poorly located within the locker-room and is too small and shallow.

The fitness center is large enough with updated equipment. It has a large window with a nice view looking from the cardio towards Camelback Mountain and the resort pool.

We has a continuing problem with housekeeping. A knock on the door at 8:30 one morning, then came after 2:00 the next day. Service was spotty with coffee and supplies not always replenished. towels were also not always replenished. We generally do not complain, but when turn down was nor done and we needed towels for a morning departure, we complained about all of this. The manager was gracious and offered to comp us for our last nights dinner, thank you.

All in all, nice, but "less than expected" for a high end luxury resort. some updates to the spa area would help a lot.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rfink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenician, Scottsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great everything from the rooms to the food to the pools! Great service by all staff. Signed up for the iPhone picture taking class but no class that day so the Activities Director gave us a private tutorial! Wow what service. Learned a lot in the class too. Great stay, we will be back next year!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all elements of your stay – including our Five-Diamond accommodations, pools, and private Smartphone Photography Class! We will be sure to share your kind words with our Activities Director, Caitlin McAllister. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Loved my stay at this hotel. Evevrything was top notch and the service was great. The pools are very relaxing and it was a perfect weekend get away. We enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. My only warning is do not eat at the J&G steak house. The food was not good at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for a corporate event and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the well-appointed "casitas" which overlooked the pond, fountain and one of the swimming pools. The restaurants were good, as were the bars and heated outdoor terraces, all with wonderful Arizona views. The hotel backdrop is Camelback Mountain and I can vouch that you will be tempted to hike it, so make sure you bring appropriate hiking shoes with good treads, because there are none for purchase and if you are tenacious enough to go to the top, you will end up on all fours at some points (hands-free backpack, lots of water and snacks, sunscreen highly recommended). Hanging by the pool is also recommended if you forget your hiking gear. There are boutiques on site for shoppers. There is also a lot of fabulous art throughout the property; if you are keen to learn more check with a concierge and they can equip you with an electronic audio guide which tours you around in 40 mins. I never made the spa, but my friends did and were quite pleased. There is a nice golf course on site, as well as a tennis club, which rents racquets and has a pro shop with very helpful staff.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that your recent stay was an enjoyable one! Whether for business or pleasure – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here around thanksgiving 2013 .. The grounds are beautiful. One of the pools are under construction but not a problem. The rooms are luxurious and worth every penny. Drinks on the patio overlooking the pools around sunset are a perfect way to start your evening..

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool. not the road
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is wonderful to hear that your recent stay at The Phoenician was an exceptional one! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, hotel is undergoing some winter refurbishment, but still a very nice experience for a large and older hotel. Great workout room equipment, very attentive and responsive staff, every employee smiles and says "hello", they were well staffed to assist with directions to meeting rooms, etc., above average food for a large hotel, room was well appointed, great linens, and this room in the main building had a great shower. The hotel also has multiple great outdoor pools, and is adjacent to Camelback Mountain so plenty of recreational options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chewync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the room accommodations, pools and proximity to Camelback Mountain. Your kind compliments regarding our attentive Ambassadors are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our managment team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us – we hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The room is lovely and the bathroom is great. The worst shower I have encountered as it is the water saver mounted very high and almost no water reaches the body. Lovely amenities and service was excellent. Major problem was my room was never vacuumed the entire time of my six-day stay. Other than that I would rate the hotel four star. Great concierge help and wonderful desk registration service. Service at all restaurants was excellent. Pastry chef should be commended as desserts were the best I've had at almost any hotel or restaurant. Food presentation at all restaurants was excellent. I find it unaccceptable to have a charge on my bill for Bellman delivery and also for maid service daily as I feel this should be discretionary. It is just another way for the hotel to make extra money and not pay their employees properly on their own. Also, I find it difficult to understand why finer hotels charge for Internet when least expensive moderate hotels do not. A this is just piggish as it is only a flip of a switch to give Internet to everyone in the hotel and actually Costs the Hotel zero. I would rather pay one charge and have everything included than the extra add on fees that the five-star hotels like to surprise guests with.

Room Tip: Only get a room facing the pools. We had a room facing a big high wall with no daylight coming in.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It is always pleasing to hear how much our guests enjoy our AAA Five Diamond service, amenities and award-winning culinary offerings. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our Executive Pastry Chef, Roy Pell, who has twice served on TEAM USA in the World Pastry Cup competition. However, we are disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the shower and the vacuuming of your guestroom carpet. Your concerns have been shared with the appropriate managers and staff, and are being looked into to ensure our high standards are not compromised. I see that you visited us on business. Group charges will vary from individual resort guests, based on a number of parameters specific to such clients. With a resort fee that “bundles” a number of services together for our non-group guests – such as Internet and use of spa facilities – add-ons are avoided. We hope you will stay with us again when your plans bring you to Arizona, so we may showcase the staunch commitment that makes The Phoenician a renowned property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $283 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing