We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
579 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Wonderful property”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The resort is a beautiful property and exceptionally well maintained. The rooms are lovely and immaculately maintained. All of the services are excellent and the staff professional and courteous. A wonderful destination. I will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay, complemented by our signature Five-Diamond service. Thank you for sharing your kind words – we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    469
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
504
655
66
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The platinum member benefits are okay. They waive the 29.00 resort fee. Yet in three separate trips to this property we have never had our room upgraded. This is the single hotel in the Starwood chain that has failed to up grade our room. Even up request, we did not receive an upgrade to our room. For that we will work with another Starwood property in the future.

The staff is great, service is prefect 100% of the time. The property is as a whole is very nice.

Room Tip: Any room without a roof view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Rooms at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for your continued patronage of our resort. As you can imagine, we have a very high number of Starwood Preferred guests staying with us at any one time. While we do our best to upgrade our members to suites, availability often limits the number of upgrades we are able to provide. Hopefully we were able to upgrade your reservation to a higher category than you booked. Thank you again for sharing your comments – we do hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, KS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are trying to decide on whether to stay at The Canyon Suites or The Phoenician Hotel, I hope this review helps in your decision. Fortunately, we have had the opportunity to stay at both properties. I must first say they are BOTH excellent properties and truly some of the best that Starwood has to offer. Comparing platinum recognition, price, convenience, guest room, and service, The Phoenician is definitely the winner. Let me explain why.

Platinum Recognition –The upgrade and recognition we received at the Phoenician was much better than the Canyon Suites. The Phoenician provided us with a suite upgrade, local gift, and waived the resort fee. We did not receive any of these upgrades at the Canyon Suites. You changes of getting an upgrade are better at The Phoenician since they have many more suites.

Price/Hotel Category – The Phoenician was much more affordable and requires less Starwood Points. The Phoenician is a category 5 hotel and The Canyon Suites is a category 6. There is truly not that much different to spring for the higher prices or points. The Phoenician also offers cash and point more often.

Convenience – Most of what you will want to do at the resort will be located closer to the Phoenician’s property. This include tennis, gym, spa, & golf. We loved parking in front of our Casita at getting into our car quickly for short trips to the mall, store, or dinner. At the Canyon Suites, they offer free car valet service, but it takes a while to get your car. They also have a free car service; however, it is rarely available. You should note that staying at the Canyon Suites will have you feeling a bit “removed” from the center of all shared resort activities.

Guest Rooms – I actually preferred the rooms at the Phoenician. The Casita we stayed in was spectacular. The kitchen, fireplace, dining room table, and three balconies were new and picture perfect. The Canyon Suites rooms are a bit dated with 70’s décor.

Customer Service – Both locations have outstanding service. Everything from check-in to property maintenance was perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Helpful Hints –
Pay extra to stay in a one or two bedroom Casita. They are spectacular.
Make sure to take a hike up Camelback Mountain. Access to the trail is just a short walk from the tennis courts.
Try the Happy Hour at Relish. It is fun and there are great deals.
Have a drink and/or dinner at J&G on the property. Go before sunset to enjoy it. The views are beautiful.
Play a game of tennis, which is included in your resort fees. The hotel will provide complimentary rackets and balls. The grass court costs $35 per person and a great splurge if you are a tennis nut.
Breakfast at Il Terrazzo is very good. As Platinum members, you get an $18 credit for two ($36 total) towards your breakfast bill. If you prefer, your breakfast will be completely complimentary if you opt for the continental buffet breakfast.

If you are looking for the best Starwood value in Scottsdale and want to be close to that action, you will definitely want to stay at the Phoenician. It is one of the best Starwood Resorts in the country.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your detailed review. We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation of both The Canyon Suites and The Phoenician, and we are delighted to hear that your recent stay was an exceptional one! We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in December at the Phoenician. I had considered other hotels in Scottsdale, but we decided to stay here and treat ourselves. I don't regret that decision one bit. The Phoenician is very luxurious resort very centrally located- close to Old Scottsdale, Phoenix, etc. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe Room- very spacious with a balcony overlooking the lawn and pool area. Oversized bathroom, great amenities- Keurig coffee maker, large TV.
We enjoyed the grounds and public spaces of the Phoenician- spent time in the lobby and the porch outside the lobby in the evening- very relaxing. The pool areas were fantastic- there were 8 pools, so we were able to relax at one pool that was for adults and it was very peaceful. A family with kids did come into that pool and I was surprised none of the attendants didn't direct them to one of the other pools. Service was a little slow but not terrible. There is a terrific gym, world-class tennis courts, the beautiful cactus gardens- so much to enjoy. I highly suggest a stay at the Phoenician for a relaxing stay- you will leave refreshed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to post such a wonderful review! We know that there are many luxury resorts to choose from in Scottsdale – and we are delighted that you chose to stay at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your detailed feedback and kind commendation of our resort, and we are so pleased to hear that your visit was an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I booked a 4 day stay on SPG points to get away from the cold Northeast, and play some golf just after Christmas, 2013. The hotel itself is on beautiful grounds, well kept, and great scenery all around. As I am a Gold SPG member, we received a base room but with a gorgeous view of Phoenix and the surrounding area.

The service was impeccable, and I cannot praise the staff for always looking to go 'above and beyond' It is exactly what a Luxury Collection hotel should be, plus more.

Unfortunately, the only restaurant we ate within the resort grounds was Relish, a bistro burger bar. I am a man who enjoys food, and even though the burgers were priced at $16.99, you did get a lot of burger. In addition, we did spend some time at the hotel lounge/bar area, and the wait staff was on point.

If you enjoy golf, the resort has 3 9-hole golf courses onsite, and I was only able to experience Desert, and half of Canyon, due to Twilight play. The course/fairways are well kept, the greens are gorgeous, and the course is challenging. For a novice golfer such as myself, I was able to keep the ball in play for the most part, but some of the holes can be quite narrow, with sand traps and rocky areas, aplenty. The golf staff was really courteous and professional. The pro shop had plenty of clothes to purchase, however, I didn't see many ball sleeves. I could have missed these altogether, but just in case, make sure you bring a few extra sleeves of balls if you have a tendency to lose them. This will help you in the long run.

Overall, the resort was a bit pricey, BUT you do get what you pay for. Professional service levels, well kept grounds, and a great experience all around. Although this was my wife's and I first trip to the Scottsdale area, we will make sure to return someday and make The Phoenician our resort of preference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. We are absolutely delighted that we were able to make your first trip to Scottsdale a memorable one! It’s wonderful to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our restaurants, golf course, accommodations and beautiful winter weather! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next to trip to the Valley of the Sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I did not stay overnight at The Phonecian, instead I had a spa day and afternoon holiday tea party booked.

My first disappointment was when we called to book our (3) spa massages. We told the spa representative that we had a 7 year old girl with us who was part of our Ladies Day Out and we wanted to include her. We were told that she would not be able to stay in the spa (even with an adult in our group the entire time) because the age limit at the spa was 15. We understood this and then suggested that maybe she could swim in the pool with one of us while we were staggered our massages. This time, the spa representative said this was absolutely not possible at all, and if we were "caught" in the pool area, we would be escorted out by security.

We had approximately $600 in massages booked and they couldn't even let one child in the pool? And then to be escorted out? We were NOT looking for the spa or an employee to babysit this child. We were going to have one of us with her the entire time.

That's not much of a "can-do" attitude if you ask me.

The second disappointment came after we received our bill for our tea. Each person who submitted a credit card had a section under the sub-total for "service charge" and then the next line was for "gratuity". We were confused so we asked our server what the "service charge" meant. She said it was the automatic gratuity. I asked if it was 20%? She said no - it was actually 22% percent and we thank you very much for this.

Where was the full disclosure on this? The servers did indeed deserve at least a 20% tip, but to hide it in a service charge in the hopes that people are not paying attention and then double the tip is deceitful. Clearly, the management has caved to the demands of the employees on this one.

If I was answering a net-promoter survey from this resort, I would be a complete DETRACTOR.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Phoenician experiences. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations, or our own. As part of our AAA Five Diamond service culture, we strive to deliver the exceptional through personalized attention to detail. Unfortunately, a miscommunication led to you being instructed that the young girl in your party was not permitted to use the resort’s pool facilities. Spa guests are invited to enjoy our pools, and with the supervision your party was providing, the child should have been given access in this situation. Your comments regarding billing for Afternoon Tea have also been shared with the appropriate departmental manager, and are being addressed to avoid future confusion. We hope you will give us the opportunity to impress you more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We vacationed here with our daughter, son-in-law and 18 month old granddaughter . The people here are gracious, helpful and knowledgeable about the facility and surrounding area. We had two rooms facing the lake and lower pool area and they were both clean and roomy. We requested Steve every morning for breakfast at the restaurant as he was great. It was lovely to sit out on the patio or the balcony and enjoy the scenery and balmy warm air.

Would we go back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parksorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding our gracious staff and the quality of service you received throughout your vacation. We will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to Steve. It was a pleasure having you as our guest; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing