We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping up their game” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stepping up their game”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have traveled to the Phoenician 4-5 times over the last 5 years, and my recent trip was my best. The resort is really stepping up its game in terms of service and care of the property. Really executing very well on all of the small things, which collectively made for a true luxury experience. Wonderful stay all around, and hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. To hear that we are getting better with age is truly an outstanding compliment – and one that we are quite proud of! Our ambassadors are dedicated to providing exceptional service to our guests, and it’s always wonderful to have the small personalized touches acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    459
    191
    101
    71
See reviews for
484
647
66
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Second visit and it still wows my wife. A classic style of luxury. Outstanding restaurants and amenities. Service is exceptional as are the spa and entertainment. The Phoenician is one heck of a place to relax as well as for business meetings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed our signature amenities, Five-Diamond service, Centre for Well-Being and “outstanding” restaurants. We hope to welcome you back soon for your third visit. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
487 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent our anniversary here over the weekend. Had never been to this resort. It is so well maintained. The grounds are beautiful. Pools are beautiful. The interior was decorated for the Holidays and beautiful. The staff was very attentive and welcoming. Just the experience we were looking for and hoping to get. No disappointments.

Room Tip: We stayed in their basic room that overlooked the pools. I think every room has the same view if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dps_Sedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay – and for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion at The Phoenician. We are delighted to hear that your first trip to our resort was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in a Guestroom Casita at the Phoenician, using our Starwood points, what a wonderful experience! Large, super comfy beds, extra large bathroom with separate sink areas, nice tub, big shower and even a walk-in closet! Nice, big flat screen TV (happy hubby!), sitting area outside facing Camelback Mtn and the pools.Even with extensive pool work being done at the time of our stay, that didn't take anything away from the atmosphere.
A bit on the cold side, but nice and sunny to enjoy the grounds and the beautiful gardens, including the Cactus Garden with pretty Christmas lights in the evening.
Staff and service were great!
Great experience at the "Relish" restaurant at the Golf Club, we went there twice, great Happy Hour from 3:30 pm...
A wonderful way to feel very special in a classy resort!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariliaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. It’s wonderful to hear that your recent five day stay at The Phoenician was an enjoyable one! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

For me back for the first time in over ten years, the Phoenician Resort has been a recurring meeting place for my wife's business. But for this weekend, it a fun getaway weekend for the both of us. My wife loves the health spa, I love the Scottsdale golf scene and we both were looking forward to hiking the desert trails.

Overall, things turned out great, but we were initially very disappointed with the loud jack-hammering going on with the pool rehab project. What I thought would be a show stopper is now a faded distant memory; so many other good things figuratively muffled-out the noise. By the time we were leaving, we were already making plans to come back.

The Phoenician is located at the foothills of the Camelback Mountains in Scottsdale. The resort is a very luxurious hotel, a main building with normal hotel rooms, conference meeting areas, luxury shopping, multiple tiers of swimming pools, and a perimeter of smaller 2 story cottage like building with semi-private rooms, called Casida Guestrooms -- we stayed at one right next to the golf course and Centre for Well-Being spa -- which my wife loved!!

Room. Our Casida Guestroom had a beautiful view of Camelback mountain and the swimming pool complex. The room had a nice king sized bed, huge master bathroom with big shower, jacuzzi-style bathtub, two sinks, and walk-in closet. The room had a normal flatscreen TV, Internet (included with the room) with both wired and wireless connections, and for a nice touch the turn-down service set the clock radio to some really nice mood music. We didn't use the room mini-bar.

Golf. Our room was across the access lane from the Phoenician golf course. I played a couple of rounds there first day on the Desert, the second day on the Canyon course. The courses were in excellent condition, even though the morning tee times were delayed by frost. The course runs along the foothills of the mountain, making for some really nice low-to-high and high-to-low golf shots; overall, I consider the courses mid-difficulty, not that hard. The course edges up to the desert and we saw beautiful desert plants, roadrunners, and quail. The pro-shop and starter staff did a great job. I was thrilled when they recognized my 10 year old bag tag from my prior Phoenician visit.

Poolside. While the weather was cool (low 50s) and we weren't planning on much swimming, we were disappointed that half of the pools were being rehabbed. Loud jackhammers spoiled the poolside atmosphere. But on Saturday, the workers took a break and we spent the late afternoon by the mother of pearl pool. My wife even swam in it; (yes, it was a heated pool); I covered myself in beach towels. A separate time, we sat by the fire on the outdoor patio. While cool, the sky was clear with very little wind. Very refreshing -- and much better conditions that the snow and ice falling over the rest of the country. Both times, the Phoenician staff did a great job taking care of us.

Food and Drink. The lobby level has a piano bar -- a very nice place to relax and have drinks; we heard 3 different live performances. On Saturday night we had dinner at the J&G Steakhouse; there, we had a really fine dinner, a great view of the Phoenix sunset, and yet another excellent live band. The J&G was packed; it was a lively hopping place!!

While we saw a couple of families, the resort seemed to cater more to business functions and conferences. We were thrilled when the golf starter called out for the St Louis Rams group to tee off.

If you are still reading this far down, you need to understand that this is a really nice luxury resort -- these are code words for: It's expensive! We knew this coming here, and overall, it is competitive with other luxury places we've stayed over the last couple of years.

Hiking. New for me, we went hiking. My wife's business meetings usually included some kind of activity in the desert. She took us to the McDowell Sonoran Preserve. Here, the desert trails run along the foothills of the McDowell Mountain Range about 30 minutes North East from our hotel. We hiked the Lost Dog Wash Trail, the Bajada Nature Trail, and the Gateway Loop Trail. This was beautiful. We saw big beautiful Saguaro cactus as well as barrel and cholla cactus. Much more lush than I ever thought a desert would be.

Basketball Game. We went to the Phoenix Suns vs Toronto Raptors basketball game at the US Airways Center in downtown Phoenix. We went straight from the hiking trails to the game. The game was fun, very good play from both teams; we sat near some visitors from Canada. The courtside announcer was full of energy; the dance crew, the gorilla, and the contests between the basketball timeouts were fun. The stadium was new and the facilities were really nice. We were able to park close and cheap.

Room Tip: Make reservations. We did so at the restaurant, spa and golf course. It is ok to stay at the Casida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your detailed review and insightful comments. It’s wonderful to hear that you and your wife were able to enjoy many of our signature amenities during your stay! Maintaining a 250-acre luxury resort does require periodic updates, and we do apologize for any inconvenience experienced as a result of the noise. With that being said, we are extremely excited about our pool renovation, which is scheduled for completion in February. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for birthday celebration for two nights and this was a very pleasant experience. Hotel features like Cactus Garden, spa, pools, and restaurants are exceptional. Everything here made with great taste and style. We walked on Cactus Garden and pool areas, have a tour inside hotel to see art collection, stay in lobby tea court, visited all restaurants and used spa. We also had chance to see how hotel prepared for dining accommodation in Ballroom. It was beautifully decorated in Japanese style. Interior is exceptional and because of holiday season decoration outside was great.
Ours rom was oversized (600 sq. feet), and bathroom as well. We had a private balcony with a lounge chair and table. Room also had writing table.
Spa was great with an oxygen infusion. Atmosphere in the spa was very relaxing Hotel staf was very friendly and eager to help you in anything.
Over all we had a great time in this outstanding resort. I wish that we have something like this in St Louis. This resort is very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smr1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many of our signature amenities – like our two-acre cactus garden and 25 million art collection – as well as our restaurants, pools and Centre for Well-Being! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back for another excellent vacation in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our stay was totally not worth the price we paid and we actually cut the time we spent at the Phoenician short by four days and ended up moving to another hotel/resort with a similar reputation that was actually cheaper and an overall better experience.

I don't think our issues with our stay were minor in that the room had an exposed electrical box in our closet, a bathroom faucet that didn't work, carpeting that was stained, a mini refrigerator that woke us up throughout the night,grounds that were mostly not accessible with a stroller due to construction and two twin beds in an upgraded suite that were not up to par by any means.

The grounds generally looked fantastic (what we were able to see), but we had a difficult time actually getting around because it was too much of a pain to carry a stroller up and down so many stairs.

The only real bright spot was the staff in the golf pro-shop who gave us suggestions on what we could do in the area. They also were kind enough to let our five year old putt some balls on the practice green which he really enjoyed. The golf course looked great, but we didn't stay long enough to enjoy it.

I have been to a number of resorts/hotels in the area and I heard good things about the Phoenician so we thought we would give it a try, but I have to say we really came away rather upset with our experience.

I totally understand our stay may have been a case of bad timing on our part, but that doesn't explain the condition of our room and the lack of notice regarding the construction. It's also not the cheapest place (near $400 per night) to stay and we found it to be not worth the expense.

We were traveling on vacation with our five year old and nine month old and we were uncomfortable letting our baby crawl on the floor in our room due to the condition of the carpet if that tells you anything about our stay.

Room Tip: Good luck. The room was terrible, but the inside of the hotel was really nice. The outdoor patio t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding the condition of your guestroom, as that is not indicative of our award-winning standards. Please know that for any reason appointed accommodations do not meet our guests’ needs, we are more than happy to relocate them, based on availability. As you can imagine, maintaining and enhancing a 250-acre, 643-room luxury resort requires much attention. Every effort is made to ensure that such projects are done as efficiently and conveniently as possible for our guests. We do hope you will provide us with the opportunity to host you again in the near future to demonstrate our commitment to you and every one of our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing