We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lobby and Grounds...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lobby and Grounds...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel appears to be recently renovated with ample parking / valet, spectacular grounds and nice rooms. Service was good, check-in quick, and lobby very nice.

Only complaint, was the large party happening outside our window at the pool. Wasn't objectionable to us as it came with some good music to listen to off our balcony. That being said, my guess is that functions are the norm here and some might find it more disruptive. A beautiful pool and great views from higher floor rooms. Would return and recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tworthyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay – especially the grounds, service and accommodations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    459
    191
    101
    71
See reviews for
484
647
66
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Phoenician is understated and it takes time to appreciate just how good it is. The hotel's hallmark is attention to detail - everything is done well. Small courtesies like bringing round fresh towels and iced water poolside are done with meticulous efficency. No request seems to be too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. The grounds are beautifully kept. Once you get hold of the 'Master' wine list you realise they keep some great Bordeaux. We had a brilliant time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience – we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician! We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional, Five-Diamond service, and we truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff. We do our best to go above and beyond to personalize the guest experience and it is always wonderful when the small courtesies are appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just returned from spending 5 nights at the Phoenician and had an absolutely wonderful time. The service from everyone we encountered was very professional and friendly. We were fortunate enough to have dinner in the Praying Monk and the meal was fabulous and it is a spectacular room for a special event. There was a bit of improvements going on but it did not interfere with our stay. I enjoyed a yoga class and my friends enjoyed an aqua yoga class.
I am looking forward to planning our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klf94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the stellar review! We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Phoenician was a wonderful one. We take great pride in your comments regarding our professional and friendly staff -- as we strive deliver prompt, personalized service to each and every guest. Thanks again for choosing The Phoenician – we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

~The Phoenician has been an incredible experience from fine dining to a beautiful hike to the ultimate spa experience.. We stayed a week and took advantage of their little perks like the Hike; WOW what an adventure, my group pushed ourselves hard and then FELT it the next day :D just in time for a glorious massage.. We did the aquatic YOGA as well, thats the easiest.. They have 4 levels of YOGA <3
~The staff was SO helpful, i heard MY PLEASURE so many times and of coarse each and every one of them remembered my name the FIRST TIME and addressed me directly the whole stay.. i am so grateful to Maher in housekeeping and Marli by the pool.. Down to earth and pleasant <3

Room Tip: ~the property is very spacious, take a tour to find your little nook :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Hiking Camelback Mountain is indeed an adventure and we are delighted that you were able to experience it! We will be sure to share your comments with Marli and Maher – we know that they will be happy to hear that their service left a lasting impression on you. We hope to welcome you back soon for another incredible experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Phoenician has a very old-world style but even though I generally prefer a more modern look I enjoyed the pools, as well as the fire-pits outside the bar area at night. Service was great - super-friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree_zimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the pools, fire-pits, and super-friendly staff! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a lovely Mommy-Getaway w/ my dear friend. Loved the resort - had been there before which is why I chose it! Be sure to take the short walk from the hotel to the Cholla Trail of Camelback Mountain for a 1.5-2 hour hike with amazing views of Scottsdale. A great morning work-out, not for the faint of heart! Then back to the hotel for their amazing buffet breakfast!! Omelets to order, smoked salmon, all the delicious treats of the morning! The pool serves lovely food and drinks which is where we spent our afternoons after shopping at Kierland (20 min drive) or the nearby Fashion Plaza. The Spa was lovely as well and I would highly recommend the Phoenician for any type of relaxing getaway!! BTW, the MOST COMFY beds - ever!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummycentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy to hear that you and your friend enjoyed a relaxing getaway at The Phoenician! Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Phoenician is a luxury resort, to say the least. From the luxurious rooms, awesome pools, or the spectacular staff. Everything at the resort has the "Phoenician" branding from the water bottles to the towels with the hotel's logo to the bags with a hotel's logo. I don't even know where to start! When you pull into the lobby, bellman open your doors, take your luggage, and even give you Phoenician branded water with the hotel's logo! We arrived at around 1:00 p.m. and they were able to rush the room and get it by around 2:30 to 3:00ish. In the meantime, we went to Relish Burger Bistro, which was fantastic by the way (our family of 4 only needed 2 burgers we realized afterwards), where we were waited on by the awesome and helpful Rachel. She helped us a lot to kind of get to know the area! It is helpful to know that the resort does provide golf carts to shuttle guests around the property since it is so huge-- we had one take us to Relish from the lobby.

We had a guest casita room, which was incredible. The spacious bathroom included a huge marble shower, a large soaking tub, double vanity, and a water closet with a toilet and bade. However, we were disappointed that our room wasn't conveniently facing the pool, rather, it was facing the golf course, which was ok too. The large outdoor patio included a chaise lounge as well as a set of table and chairs.

We all really enjoyed the pools! There is a huge, elaborate pool complex which is basically made up of 3 levels. The top level, which has 3 pools and a kiddie pool. The middle pool is one large pool that the resorts splits in half-- one side is family friendly and the other is adult only. Finally, you have the bottom level with the water slide pool and the fantastic Mother of Pearl Pool which is all tile with the Phoenician logo in the middle, which was our favorite. The kids loved the slide which was wild at the end and gave everyone a few injuries. We especially enjoyed George Alexander the slide attendant! Now the pool situation can be a bit frustrating. Half of the chairs are in the shade, which is a problem for people like us who want the sun.

However, there is one catch to the pool situation which was annoying, and would bring the hotel's rating down. Large businesses rent out parts of the pool complex so the guests can't get near the lawn with their event. During our stay, they rented out 3 of the pools including the Mother of Pearl Pool! Now this really ticked me off. Why would a hotel let a business rent out a pool and block it off from their guests who rightfully paid for it!!!?? That is just wrong-- the guests should be the priority, not the businesses! But in the end, this is a management problem, and the staff can't do anything about it-- this is the manager and owner's fault.

On the other hand, all the staff we encountered did put the guests first. EVERYONE was so kind and helpful! Everyone always asked how our stay was and what they could do to make it better! I should've told them that they should open up the pools that they closed for the businesses!

Overall, the hotel and grounds are gorgeous and staff is very helpful as well. The view looking back towards Camelback Mountain is breathtaking! I'm sure I left plenty out but I tried to cover a lot. I do definitely recommend Scottsdale Fashion Square for shopping (it's a mile down the road). It was also worth the drive to the Kierland Commons up north. Additionally, we took a drive to Sedona and it was so worth it! It is a must do if you've never done it before!

Room Tip: Get a Casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your detailed review! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at The Phoenician! We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many of our signature amenities; however, we regret any inconvenience experienced as a result of the private functions held at our pool complex. We are committed to providing each and every guest – both leisure and business – with a personalized, memorable stay marked by the highest service standards. We hope you were able to enjoy one of our other five pools during your stay, as well as the many charming gardens and lawns located across our 250-acre property. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing