We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My sisters and I always stay at least 2 nights at the Phoenician when we go to the desert. The food is incredible, the service is ok but what makes this resort a gem are the views. Staring at Camelback mountain while swimming at the pool or resting in a private cabana is all we need to feel at home. This is definitely one of our top 2 favorite resorts in Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Camelback Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calberkeley1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that The Phoenician continues to be one of your favorite desert escapes! We hope to welcome your family back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,179 - 1,185 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved the meeting space at The Phoenician! The chairs were extremely comfortable, the decor - lovely, the round table amazing! The food provided was very good and the staff very accommodating. Will definitely return for pleasure next time!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A group of us stayed here for 3 nights.All staff were very helpful and pleasant.Great rooms and views.Hotel and grounds were quite spacious |I only wish we had seen more of it. We spent most days around the pools playing water volley ball etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, grounds and signature amenities! With so much to do and see, sometimes three days just isn’t enough time at the Phoenician! On your next visit, we suggest taking a tour of our extensive art collection or exploring our two acre cactus garden. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly competent staff. It is a large conference hotel and we were there at quiet period so we don't know effect on service if full. Nice pool.. Rooms facing Camelback Mtn have first rate views. You can get stuck with views or arrival area and valet parking so be careful. Housekeeping spotty. Vacuum cleaners and Swifters left in hall overnight, some cleaning requests not followed. Room location is everything. Request 6th floor facing Camelback.

Room Tip: Face Camelback
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAHWilmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician; however, we are a disappointed to learn of your housekeeping experience. We strive to provide our guests with consistent, AAA Five Diamond service and do apologize that we missed the mark during your recent visit. Your comments will be addressed with our housekeeping managers to ensure that we are meeting our operational goals. We hope you will consider staying with again – whether for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this fabulous resort. The facility and grounds are stunning, the rooms were large and very quiet and comfortable, and all the people we encountered were wonderful and friendly. One small quibble was the lack of available coffee for the folk from the east coast who were up at 4:30 Phoenix time. There are coffee makers in the rooms but I did not want to disturb my husband. The front desk might keep a pot handy as there were several of us looking for our morning joe that early... I loved the small workout room (equipped with water and fruit), pools, bars and all of the restaurants that we tried. The staff even took us in a golf cart to the trail head for Camelback Mountain hike (challenging!). Housekeeping even mailed me some clothing I had left in the closet. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lansingisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of the resort during your stay, including the amenities, accommodations and various restaurants. We’re so glad you were able to experience Camelback Mountain! It is indeed challenging, but the views are incredible from the top! Thanks again for sharing your experience with us – your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We certainly hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked a 4-night stay for the two of us before my husband had to stay for the following week for a business meeting. The hotel is only 15-20min away from the airport, and is close enough to Old Town that you have plenty of restaurants and activities from which to choose.

Hotel Overview: The lobby is spacious and grand, with a beautiful fountain as the centerpiece. A grand piano serves as the focus of some light evening entertainment, with the Thirsty Camel bar overlooking the grounds. Check in was smooth and easy and we got into our room shortly. It is a large property overall, so be prepared for a lot of walking in between your room and the other areas of the property. Some stairs as well, so maybe not as convenient for those with mobility issues.

Room: The rooms are a nice size with a king bed and sitting area (sofa, chair, coffee table) plus a desk. The balcony was a comfortable size as well with two chairs and a padded chaise lounge. We overlooked the pool and cities of Phoenix/Tempe in the distance. There is ample space for clothes with TWO full size closets (very nice to be able to separate clothes) and a large bureau with several drawers. Bathroom is very large with a deep soaking tub, double sinks and a walk-in shower. ONLY complaint (and it is a small one) is that the shower head is low-flow (I'm sure for conservations reasons...being in the desert and all) and it took awhile for the water to get hot. Very small complaints, but it was something I noticed.

Pools: There are many different pools on different tiers of the property. There were always plenty of padded loungers available in the morning, but they would fill up pretty quickly in the afternoon. Attendants would bring extra towels and a pitcher of ice water with cups. This was a wonderful touch that I honestly have not experienced anywhere else, even at the top beach resorts we have visited. Hope they don't stop doing this! There are plenty of shade options, including umbrellas. Attendants stroll through if you want to order a drink or food. The lowest tier pool has a slide attached, so that is where most of the kids are...if you want a quieter experience, go to the "adult's only" pool by the cocktail bar.

Restaurants: We ate at J&G Steakhouse our first night and really enjoyed it. We ordered salads, filets and a side of potato gratin and it was all amazing. Nice ambiance and the servers are well trained. Would recommend, even if you are planning to eat some meals off property as well. We ate breakfast each morning at Il Terrazzo and it was always an enjoyable experience. Definitely get the "Il Terrazzo benedict" poached eggs with spinach and tomatoes on top of foccacia bread- delish!

Spa: Had two treatments at their "Centre for Well-Being" and they were both nice. The spa itself is actually pretty small, so don't expect a large property. There is a small jacuzzi, a steam room and a sauna...plus a co-ed area with zero-gravity chairs to relax in before your treatments. I had an 80min massage and 80min facial, and they were both pretty average, but nonetheless relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator...less walking, those hallways are almost never ending!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weathergirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review! Guest feedback is crucial to measuring and enhancing our service culture, and we truly appreciate your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience at The Phoenician and hope to welcome you back in near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We ended our holidays in this resort we knew from 20 years back. Its still a very nice hotel, old but well maintained. Nice gardens, pools etc. We chose to stay off in the villa's and had large rooms connecting and a short stroll to the pool & pond.

Traveling all over the world constantly and especially Asia service is something which makes or brakes it for me.
And I do not recall (expect the Ritz in Key Biscayne.) many other hotels in the USA with staff like this, so friendly, interested and well trained. And on top of that, it seems they enjoy their jobs. Managers, top notch!

The restaurant on top floor was literally top. Both in view, service and food. We ended up eating there twice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our ambassadors are committed to providing all guests with exceptional AAA Five Diamond service, and we take great pride in your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including both of your meals at J&G Steakhouse and your accommodations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again – we hope to welcome you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $295 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing