We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The love child of Atlantis and the Boulders”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a large hotel with all the bells and whistles. Looks like a Star Wars creation. However, I did not find most of it aesthetically pleasing. I was also in a casita which was nice inside but outside looked like a Motel 8. There ws a dirty wash cloth in my room when I arrived, no shampoo, a bath tub with no hot water and a broken coffee machine. The pools are appropriate for kids but I was not interested in spending any time near or in them. The food was very good and the staff was attentive. The sheets were superb.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Casitas in the A area which is close to public parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Rooms at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are disappointed that the Casita was not to your liking. Perhaps you would be more comfortable in the main building on a return trip? We do apologize for the state of your room upon check-in. We can assure you that your experience is not indicative our AAA Five Diamond standards. We appreciate your honest feedback and will review your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure we are meeting our operational goals. We hope you will return in the future so that we may provide you with a true, luxury resort experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great spot to just chill out on hot days! The hotel is great and has everything you would need. I was fortunate to spend my days at the pool reading and just to relax. Away from the hustle and bustle. Several pools available to choose from but by noon most of the chairs are filled. Great time with shopping close by (taxi ride). Staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing visit, and that you enjoyed our nine pools! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Do not stay in rooms in Main Building, way too many issues. Casitas or Canyon Suites are Nice and the only ones worthwhile. Casitas have great view of lawn and Camelback Mountain. Breakfast in Casitas can be served on the lawn, which was really nice. The lotion and shampoo are some of the best I have used, loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves_Travel_3_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. Guest feedback is an important measurement tool for our management team, and we appreciate your comments. We are disappointed that you experienced guestroom issues during your stay; however, we are pleased to report that our guestrooms will be undergoing a complete redesign in the very near future. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the views of Camelback Mountain while enjoying breakfast on the Casita Lawn. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently returned from a 3-night stay at The Phoenician. We were traveling with another couple. The grounds and hotel are very nice upon entering the resort. Check-in was quick and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms weren't ready yet so we went to Relish for lunch. The food and views were excellent. The burgers/sandwiches are $16 each but are large enough for 2 people to share. The service in Relish was extremely poor. We ate lunch there 2 times during our stay, both times the food/drinks were excellent but the service was awful. Our other restaurant experiences at the resort with service were good. Room service was prompt, I ordered a quesadilla and it was so hot I could barely eat it (impressive for room service).
Our room had a view of Camelback mountain. It was a quiet side of the resort, it was a long walk to the main lobby but we didn't mind. It was nice to be able to sit on the chaise and read during the quiet mornings. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. However, they really need to be updated/remodeled (esp the bathrooms). The decor is very dated. The bathrooms need an overhaul of new tile, sinks, bathtub, etc.
The pool service was good until around 2pm, then they seemed understaffed when the pools got busy. After 2pm it was hard to find a clean towel, many of the chairs were unoccupied but had dirty, used towels on them and weren' replaced with clean towels. It was nice to have pitchers of ice water and service was good earlier in the day. Do not try to sit on a chair in front of an unrented cabana, they would rather you sit on the concrete. One person in our party of 4 sat in one of the chairs, she told the teenage pool attendant she will gladly leave as soon as it was rented but she had to put her towel on the concrete and sit because you can't sit in front of an unoccupied cabana (this particular cabana remained unoccupied the entire day). The adult pool was dirty and when the breeze came up it smelled of sewage.
The golf course was beautiful, prices were reasonable and they provided bottled water.
It was nice that transportation was available anywhere you wanted to go, just $15 each way. However, when we made transportation arrangements to take us back to the airport we were quoted a price of $37. When we got to the airport the driver told us it was $57 and there was nothing he could do about us being previously given a quote of $37.
We had a good stay but it seems like the hotel was lacking in some areas. There were many inconsistencies in the service, it was either excellent or terrible. It's a beautiful resort with good food and drinks. A lot of the staff did their job well and seemed to be well trained. Overall it was a good trip but I don't think I would stay at The Phoenician again. I would recommend staying here only if you got an excellent price.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountain are quiet but a long walk from the main grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RU-OK-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not quite meet your expectations during your recent stay at The Phoenician. We take customer service and guest experience seriously and are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your feedback is important and will be shared with our management team to ensure the appropriate improvements are made. By next year our guest rooms will undergo a complete renovation, and we do hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from our fifth holiday at the Phoenician, Scottsdale, AZ and I am delighted to report that this little Garden of Eden is just as spectacular and welcoming as ever. I simply can't fault the service here: it doesn't matter whether it's the staff at reception, the concierges, housekeeping, poolside, in the bar or in the restaurant - it's five star treatment all the way. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is more than willing to help. Only one downer for overseas visitors - the Broadband/WiFi is not free, it's an extortionate $12.95 a day - plus taxes - and that's nust not on. I'd recommend this resort without hesitation to anyone who wants a great holiday. We will be back in 2014!

Room Tip: Best rooms are south facing, overlooking the pools - all these rooms have balconies which offer stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your fifth holiday at The Phoenician! Our ambassadors are extremely committed to providing our guests with AAA Five Diamond service, and we thank you for acknowledging their efforts. We look forward to seeing you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been to Phoenix dozens of times and have heard wonderful stories of the Phoenician, but never stayed there. Now that it is part of the Starwood chain (Westin, Sheraton, W Hotels, etc) and I can get points, I thought I would give them a shot while in Phoenix on business (plus it is June and rates are CHEAP). I was not disappointed. The hotel is gorgeous. The grounds (acres and acres) are gorgeous. The bathroom in the room was FANTASTIC (I'm a sucker for a nice jacuzzi tub with a separate shower. The staff is attentive, attractive, and gracious. There was a beautiful, very talented young jazz singer (Talia) performing in the lounge one evening. She was VERY good (and surprising young - under 25). If I was here for vacation, I might not leave the grounds at all and enjoy everything onsite. However, I was here for business. There is no such thing as "walking around the corner" to Starbucks or a restaurant or bar. Everything is a drive (not terribly far, but it's a mile just to get out of the hotel grounds to the street). For business, I won't stay here again. For pleasure, I probably will stay here again and not leave the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the entry...not a great view, but not noisy and there are no "bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to The Phoenician! We will certainly share your kind words with Talia. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Enjoying a relaxing weekend away. Was here 17 yrs ag o Resort is still beautiful (but showing her age in spots) service is wonderful with smiling staff. Hardest part of trip was getting a shady spot under umbrella or tree by the pool .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gfillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing to stay with us again. As we near our 25th Anniversary in October, we are happy to report that our guestrooms will undergo a complete redesign in the very near future. We hope you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $326 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing