We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, comfortable rooms, great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
316 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent service, comfortable rooms, great food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a conference at this hotel. Very welcoming from the minute we arrived, even though they were overrun with attendees - extremely pleasant, everyone was approachable and worked hard to meet any ask. Even the staff as you walked to and from your room were friendly. Had a room at the end of the hall with a huge deck facing the golf course which was a very pleasant place to read and get caught up on e-mail. Room was well appointed. Bathroom amenities were top notch. Free coffee in the room. Turn down service included a refresh of the room, bottles of free water and chocolate -- most appreciated after a long day in meetings. Walked the beautiful grounds and found waterfalls and gorgeous landscaping. Exercise room was nice. Food throughout the event was delicious - I have lots of food allergies and they easily accommodated my every meal. Highly recommend - would return here in a minute!

Room Tip: 2048 had a huge deck facing the golf course, oversized room in the main building. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJbusytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Food and Beverage at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words and helpful feedback. It is always a particular pleasure to receive such positive comments! We are very proud of our resort and so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. You can be sure that we will share your kind words with the team. Again, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Phoenician and Canyon Suites in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    469
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
504
655
66
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visited the Phoenician for one week as part vacation part business trip. Check in process was efficient, polite and informative. Our room had a view of Camelback Mountain and the cactus garden. Found the room to be spacious, clean and comfortable. The grounds were kept in fine form as cleaning was done constantly. We visited the gym which was not huge but had all of the usual equipment you would expect to find.
The spa was inviting and full service staffed with those who were interested in making sure that you left feeling relaxed. After donning a robe, you may wait for your masseuse to come and get you as you sip any number of naturally flavored water available. You may wish to wait and relax in the meditation room. Had the Swedish massage which was fantastic. Had my nails done which began with a neck massage followed by a hot pack placed on my shoulders. Visited the salon just for an up-do. Enjoyed both my stylist and my hair style.

Dined in all of the restaurants. Truly enjoyed the ambiance of JG Steakhouse. Eat out on the patio as there are open flame fire pits which set a beautiful scene. Started with oysters and my main was the Dover sole - delectable.
Relish is the burger place which is located by the golf course. Visited for lunch twice. I ordered the same burger on both occasions - True Blue. Prepared to my liking both times.
At the Camelback lounge we were able to order food from the II Terazzo menu. Would seem to have been a bit scaled down from the normal restaurant menu as we were eating in the lounge but was tasty nonetheless. There is a cafe that also serves breakfast, specialty coffees. I particularily enjoyed the smoked salmon which I had on a couple of occasions. Nothing special or unique in presentation, I just would have never thought that they would have offered this item on a limited menu and I appreciated its presence.

We rented a car for our week stay and made a trip to Sedona to the the must-see red rocks. Michelle - one of the 2 concierge named Michelle was helpful and informative with directions. She gave us a wonderful lunch selection - the Enchantment Resort. Taking her advice we ate on the patio at Tii Gavo in full intimate view of a red rock mountain as our backdrop while dining. I especially enjoyed the sangria of which there was the choice of red and white. I chose the red = delish. Returning to the Phoenician was convenient for those who have rented a car as you have the choice of valet or self parking. The self parking is great as it is located underground. Ample parking available.

I definitely recommend checking out the Phoenician should you be considering a trip to AZ. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitbytravelbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your kind words are much appreciated. We are happy to hear that enjoyed your experience at The Phoenician and that Michelle was able to give you some great recommendations! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Travelling from the other side of the world to only be here for a few days (visiting a relative), we felt welcome and very comfortable. Rooms were spacious and the surrounds were wonderful. Would love to return here for a more leisurely stay next time around,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that our ambassadors made you feel welcome during your time at The Phoenician and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband just took me here to celebrate my birthday. He had informed them of my birthday and I was greeted with a happy birthday by everyone, and with a smile also. We received champagne in our lovely room, which was the perfect temp and had lights and music playing when we got there. Our room faced the pool and had a great patio. The service was perfect. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable. I love a hotel that is so friendly and helpful. The location was great in case you ever wanted to leave. I received a special gift from Starwood
Preferred Guest--a Kate Spade handbag. Thank you Starwood, I love it!! We also had a great dinner at J&G Steak House. Thanks, Phoenician, it was a great time!!!

Room Tip: It is hot in June, but the pool is cool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmkey2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Rooms at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and thank you for choosing to spend your birthday at The Phoenician. We hope to have you stay with us again for many other special occasions. You were the first lucky SPG member to receive the Kate Spade tote as part of the “Surprise & Delight” promotion with SPG and Kate Spade. What a perfect way to cap off your birthday weekend! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
803 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. The staff could not be more accommodating. Beautiful large clean rooms with magnificent bathroom and comfy bed! The grounds are magnificent and well groomed. Very quiet room, important for weary travelers. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. As a AAA Five Diamond resort, we do our best to deliver personalized and exceptional service, and it is always wonderful to have our staff acknowledged. We do hope you are able to return again soon for another fantastic stay at The Phoenician!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
554 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Phoenician. Extremely upscale resort. Phoenix is hot, but not humid, no uncomforable sticky feeling. Love the Southwest US. This is truly a great area. Our room overlooked the back, beautiful cactus garden. Try breakfast on the balcony overlooking this rock/cactus garden. Trails allow walking through this and other garden areas. The property, while large is easy to navigate. Breezeways are open, airy and offer great views. Loved the large pool and cabanas. Exceptional hotel and pool staff are ready for any request. The hotel offers a great spa, tennis, golfing, and other outdoor activities can be easily arranged. There is a great patio for dining, cocktails, and dinner overlooking perfectly manicured lawns. Whatever you want,The Phoenician can do it! We can't wait to return for more fun, hiking, horseback riding, cabanas and romance in the sun!

Room Tip: Rooms by the cactus garden are quiet, tranquil, relaxing. Really a must to see and experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay – including our two-acre cactus garden, cabanas, and restaurants – and that we were able to provide you with an exceptional, indigenous experience. Your kind comments are truly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My girlfriends and I decided on Scottsdale for a staggette and we were not disappointed!
This area itself, has the best service that I have ever experienced and our hotel was fantastic. We were obviously in the area during the off season, for the weather reached the low 40 degrees celcius, but the staff at our hotel made our stay very pleasant!
They never let our ice cold water jugs at the pool go empty and even suprised us all with a bottle of champagne, compliments of them:)
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting...I mean if the president can stay here, so can you:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaEdmonton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay at The Phoenician, and that our ambassadors were able to make it especially memorable for you! We can't wait to welcome you back for another exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing