We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Oasis in the desert!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A true Oasis in the desert!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were fortunate enough to experience the hotel last week as part of a business conference. My wife tagged along and enjoyed the resort to its fullest! He resort is welcoming from the moment you drive up. The staff pay close attention to detail and are truly eager to ensure you are taken care of. Our room was very clean and large witha balcony overlooking the extensive pools. The food as very good, but not spectacular. Michelle, the concierge, organized a wonderful day trip to the town of Sedona and combined it with a helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon. The only thing they need to do is resurface the pools. They are beginning to show their age with parts of the pool floor discoloured. We would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience some of Arizona’s most incredible landmarks! We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with our Oasis Pool team. We hope to welcome you back in the future – whether for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    469
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
504
655
66
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Most relaxing place ever! Beautiful, beautiful scenery, impeccable service & appointments. Spa and restaurants are 5 star. You can stay there for a week and never see the same pool twice. Surrounded by mountains and beauty. The night sky is mesmerizing.....never saw so many stars in my life! Incredible restaurants with over-the- top service. Well worth the cost! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including the spa, restaurants and beautiful scenery. We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Phoenician was an amazing place to stay. Visited May 20-23 for a conference but had the opportunity to relax a little, too. Fantastic food from the poolside sandwiches to J&G Steakhouse. Loved all of the little places to sit and enjoy the views of mountains! The grounds were beautiful and well-kept. Although I didn't have the opportunity to golf I did take a morning run through the course and it looked great, too. Service was outstanding! One evening there was a woman playing piano and singing in the bar which was piped outside as well. She was lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you cannot find a way to relax here, then you never will. This resort has every amenity that one could ask for, including amazing restaurants that serve burgers all the way up to an incredible Tomahawk steak. The spa services are great. Did I mention that they have nine swimming pools. Worth the price just for the experience, if nothing else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician and that you were able to take advantage of all the available amenities. We hope to welcome you back in near future for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our third year staying at the Phoenician for our family reunion. The place was really incredible. The service was amazing, each person more friendly and accommodating then the next, lots of fun activities over Memorial Day weekend for the kids to do. They always love the water slide too. We took a hike up camelback mtn as its so close, played tennis, swam a ton, ate great food at all of their restaurants. I think their fitness room is top notch as a trainer myself I found everything I needed to get a great workout in away from home. Would highly recommend this place for a family reunion or a getaway.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at a room facing the pool on level 4. I also have never stayed in the rooms that are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandlupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We value your feedback and truly appreciate your recommendation! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Phoenician. We hope to welcome you back for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to graduate school at ASU and always wanted to try The Phoenician, so my expectations going in were pretty high. The Phoenician did not disappoint. We were given a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the grounds, which included several pools and a slide! We enjoyed our time at the pools and my husband especially enjoyed playing on the slide. The staff was amazing and even sent us a bottle of champagne when they found out we were out there for our anniversary. I loved how centrally-located this hotel was for our long to-do list in the Phoenix area -- visit my old school, go to an ASU football game, visit with friends, explore Scottsdale, etc. We also took a road trip to the Grand Canyon while staying there and came back to their wine shop to find our favorite -- Cakebread Chardonnay! Excellent visit -- we'll be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had another visit to the Phoenician over Memorial Day, multiple families and rooms. If anything I think they have raised their game!

With only one exception (a cranky waitress at the pool side cafe), everyone, and I mean every single person who worked there was fantastic. From the moment you arrive at the front door all the way through the visit, the staff is friendly, attentive, patient.

At meals we had to settle bills on multiple rooms from at least 2 tables, and the staff just handled it with grace and expertise. Except for the one cranky blond waitress at the cafe, wish I remembered her name. All she could commit to was 'doing the best she could'.

Get the everything omelet at the buffet (killer!), and have Jose be your waiter. Breakfast couldn't be better. Get a pool chair under a shade tree. Don't sit right next to the DJ if you want to talk. Self park to save yourself a few bucks.

Lots of fun for the kids, great for the grand parents. Just a great place for a family gathering.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to surpass your expectations from your previous stay with us! Our Phoenician team takes great pride in creating memorable experiences for our guests, and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time here. We hope you can visit us again soon, so that we may demonstrate our commitment to providing exceptional, AAA Five Diamond service. We can assure you that the service you received at the pool is not indicative of our standards. Thank you for including The Phoenician as part of your family trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing