We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at the Phoenician”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Phoenician”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our third year staying at the Phoenician for our family reunion. The place was really incredible. The service was amazing, each person more friendly and accommodating then the next, lots of fun activities over Memorial Day weekend for the kids to do. They always love the water slide too. We took a hike up camelback mtn as its so close, played tennis, swam a ton, ate great food at all of their restaurants. I think their fitness room is top notch as a trainer myself I found everything I needed to get a great workout in away from home. Would highly recommend this place for a family reunion or a getaway.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at a room facing the pool on level 4. I also have never stayed in the rooms that are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandlupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We value your feedback and truly appreciate your recommendation! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Phoenician. We hope to welcome you back for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    466
    195
    102
    73
See reviews for
500
652
66
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to graduate school at ASU and always wanted to try The Phoenician, so my expectations going in were pretty high. The Phoenician did not disappoint. We were given a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the grounds, which included several pools and a slide! We enjoyed our time at the pools and my husband especially enjoyed playing on the slide. The staff was amazing and even sent us a bottle of champagne when they found out we were out there for our anniversary. I loved how centrally-located this hotel was for our long to-do list in the Phoenix area -- visit my old school, go to an ASU football game, visit with friends, explore Scottsdale, etc. We also took a road trip to the Grand Canyon while staying there and came back to their wine shop to find our favorite -- Cakebread Chardonnay! Excellent visit -- we'll be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had another visit to the Phoenician over Memorial Day, multiple families and rooms. If anything I think they have raised their game!

With only one exception (a cranky waitress at the pool side cafe), everyone, and I mean every single person who worked there was fantastic. From the moment you arrive at the front door all the way through the visit, the staff is friendly, attentive, patient.

At meals we had to settle bills on multiple rooms from at least 2 tables, and the staff just handled it with grace and expertise. Except for the one cranky blond waitress at the cafe, wish I remembered her name. All she could commit to was 'doing the best she could'.

Get the everything omelet at the buffet (killer!), and have Jose be your waiter. Breakfast couldn't be better. Get a pool chair under a shade tree. Don't sit right next to the DJ if you want to talk. Self park to save yourself a few bucks.

Lots of fun for the kids, great for the grand parents. Just a great place for a family gathering.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to surpass your expectations from your previous stay with us! Our Phoenician team takes great pride in creating memorable experiences for our guests, and we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time here. We hope you can visit us again soon, so that we may demonstrate our commitment to providing exceptional, AAA Five Diamond service. We can assure you that the service you received at the pool is not indicative of our standards. Thank you for including The Phoenician as part of your family trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent the Memorial Day weekend here- Friday through Sunday. This is truly a 5 star resort. The room was beautiful, clean, and classy. The bed was extremely comfortable with satin sheets and down pillows. The bathroom amenities- first class. We did spend most of our time at the pool, however. The service at the pool was exceptional. There are servers constantly walking around bringing ice water and towels as well as taking drink and food orders. They were also attentive to guests leaving and removed towels from pool chairs that were no longer being used so other people would know the chairs were available. The pools (I think there are 9 total pools on various levels) are beautiful and they even have a "kids" pool with volleyball net, basketball, and floats to walk across. Oh- and a water slide separate from the main pools. All the kids were having a blast, for sure!

We ate breakfast on Sunday at their Sunday Brunch. It was just okay- not the best buffet I ever ate at, but definitely very good. (**One piece of advice- don't eat outside. The birds are constantly hopping on the tables stealing food from plates and are very bold. If someone vacates their spot even for a minute or two, the birds take advantage. They have lost their fear of people)

One little "bump in the road" we experienced- when checking out there was a charge for $90 from the Thirsty Camel bar for the night before charged to our room. The only problem was we weren't at the bar at all the entire time we were there. I happened to mention this my brother-in-law, who also stayed the weekend with us and he said he too had charges on his room that weren't his. Either the hotel needs a more efficient way of charging items to rooms or they "pad" the bill in hopes no one notices. My advice- scrutinize the bill before checkout. It's easy to assume the additional charges are resort fees and taxes- as they don't charge for these until you leave.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor facing Camelback Mountain are the best! Amazing views of wildlife-great roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelHinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and observations. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at the pool. The birds can be aggressive, though we do make every attempt to reduce their impact by quickly clearing plates and dirty tables. I'm sorry to hear about your billing challenges, but we want to assure you that we make every attempt to accurately identify our guests and post charges to each folio correctly. If this hasn't been resolved, please reach out to us directly at 480-423-2593. We hope to see you again in the near future for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two nights at this fabulous resort. Exceptional comfort, exceptional rooms and exceptional service. The grouds are in pristine shape and have been kept so as not to spoil the beauty of nature. The pool(s) are also fantastic on several ground levels and poolside service is also very attentive. The restaurants and bars are first rate with a nice selection of dishes and the wait staff professional and knowlegable. I would highly recommend the experience

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are great, but one facing the mountain gives a great view of wildlfe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back for another exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've stayed here several times and still can't understand how this is rated so high. I'm not a "high maintenance" person at all, but the rooms and common facilities are run-down (frayed upholstery, carpet stains, ripped lamp shades, etc) and the service is very lacking. I'm usually a Starwood fan, but, hate to say it, this is really lacking. Room service trays and glasses siting in the hallway for TWO days???

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molliebclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not indicative of our AAA Five Diamond standards. However, we are happy to report that our guestrooms are scheduled for renovations within the very near future, and will offer a casual elegance that complements our Sonoran Desert surroundings. The Phoenician service culture is nurtured with great care, and includes regular training and educational programs for both new and veteran employees throughout the year. We will certainly share your comments with our management team to ensure we are delivering beyond expectation. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We chose The Phoenician over the other top competing 5-star resorts (The Boulders and the Four Seasons) based on its convenient location (the others are north of Scottsdale on the border of Carefree). If you want the natural ambience of the Sonoran desert and mountains and a less urbane resort atmosphere, then the others are probably a better choice, but for convenience and saving 30 minutes to downtown Scottsdale or Phoenix (each way!) the Phoenician is unbeatable.

Gratis self parking is convenient, and underground (important on hot days) located in the basement of the hotel building. Lobby check-in was prompt and efficient. No bell captain was available at check-in, but the head of housekeeping insisted on taking our luggage to the room and would not accept a tip. During our stay, there were other special items we asked for, and they were promptly and unobtrusively provided. We were offered the opportunity to waive daily housekeeping service "for reduced environmental impact" which we politely refused.

The lobby still reflects the 1980's/90's Charles Keating era of over-the-top decadence with giant chandeliers and marble floors; I'm not particularly a fan of this, but it did not distract from an excellent stay. The $25 million artwork scattered around the grounds, primarily from the Native American sculptor Allan Houser is another story: that is absolutely stunning and spectacular. Make sure to pay homage to the life-size bronze statue of the Chief offering the Peace Pipe near the front of the spa; it is the same piece that also fronts the United Nations building in New York City.

The hotel is laid out in two separate curved terraced buildings separated by a driveway. Our first room was in the upper terrace with a view of the city (and rooftop of the first building) that we were not happy with, but they moved us the following day to the lower terrace with a view of the gardens and golf course and we were much happier with that. This was also more convenient each day as the parking lot is underneath the first building and uses the same elevator.

Rooms are laid out with calming beiges and botanical prints; are spacious and were absolutely and impeccably spotless. Unlike many other 5-star resorts nowadays, the Phoenician still provides full nightly turn-down service automatically, tidying up the room and providing bottled water and chocolates.

I was charged $29/day "resort fee", and did not use any of it, except the internet service. I was not given an option to waive it, but did not ask if I could either.

The highlight for us was eating outdoors on the terrace of their main restaurant Il Terrazzo. Each day, it included a simple but good quality breakfast buffet, and a huge staff that obviously enjoys their jobs and keeping the clientele happy. Please note the aggressive wild birds that are on a constant look-out for an ignored plate of food or pitcher of cream, and KEEP DISHES COVERED if you visit the buffet...even if others are sitting at your table.

Definitely a place for stresses and worries to seem far away. I will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: Unless you want the panoramic views of Phoenix, choose rooms in the first terrace which also include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician. We do hope you were able to take the complimentary audio tour of our extensive art collection during your visit! Dining on the terrace at Il Terrazzo is always a treat and we are happy to hear that it was the highlight of your trip; however, we apologize for any inconvenience the birds may have caused you. We have shared your comments with our management team and our currently looking for feasible solutions to rectify the issue. We hope to see on your next trip to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing