We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Nearby Hotels
$182
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess(Scottsdale)
$413
$314
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
W Scottsdale(Scottsdale)
$343
$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Saguaro Scottsdale(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$222
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$411
$366
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$216
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$577
$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$397
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,269)
Filter reviews
2,269 results
Traveler rating
1,373
501
206
111
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,373
501
206
111
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamelback mountaincactus gardenil terrazzogolf courserelish burger bistroluxury collectionthirsty camelmain buildingturn down serviceluxury hotelcasita roomcanyon suitesbeautiful resortspa treatmentspool staffgolf clubself parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 2,269 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights while attending a business conference. Although I did not have time to check out all of the facilities this property offers, I have to say the areas I did get to are beautiful and well maintained. Expect to do plenty of walking if you stay here as the property is very spread out. My room in the north wing seemed a little out of the way at first, but I found shortcuts to get from there to the main building and ballroom area where our conference activities were taking place. Although huge, comfortable and clean with a private balcony, my room did not have a view, as the balcony was surrounded by tall, thick shrubs. Great for privacy, but disappointing as I'd have loved to view the area and Camelback Mt. My favorite spot was the cactus garden, to which I had easy access from the north wing. All in all a nice property, but expensive - even with a convention rate discount. Oh, and I have to agree with a previous reviewer - the coffee served at breakfast could have been much better!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneCageyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you so much for you recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Phoenician! The resort was designed so be harmonious with the indigenous landscape, so some rooms do have better views than others. We will certainly share your coffee suggestion with our management team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife had a conference here so I came along and we stayed a few extra days. The positives include the burger joint Relish, the grounds were immaculate and beautiful, and although i didn't play golf, the course also looked incredible. The pools were really nice too. I wanted to really like this plus but there were too many negatives. We were "upgraded" to a casita, which was essentially a regular room in a group of small buildings surrounding the lower pool. We were so far away from the main building that we drove there for dinner one night instead of walking. Worst of all about our room was the fact that it looked like it has never been updated. The decor is straight out of 1988, with wallpaper pealing off the walls and chipped paint on the baseboards. We had dinner one night at J&G Steakhouse on the property. Dinner was good but overpriced, and you can get a better steak at Mastros a mile or so up the road. Nice place to stay if your company is paying for it, but we've had better accommodations for less money at other places in Scottsdale.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of Rooms at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed Relish Burger Bistro and our lovely grounds. We are disappointed to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. Although the Casitas are further away from the main property, they are often preferred by guests due to their location near Necklace Lake. We do hope to welcome you back in the future so that we may demonstrate our dedication to providing a AAA Five Diamond experience to each and every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not a good place for adults to relax. Why even have an adults only pool if you're not going to enforce it?? There are multiple pools, ONE of which is dedicated to "adult relaxation." Except for the fact that there were children in it every day. Pool staff always served them, and never enforced the rule. Not my job to tell pool staff to do the right thing. Nowhere to relax, and cheapened my experience greatly. We won't come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misslisamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your observations. Our pools are one of The Phoenician’s signature features, and as such, we strive to create an environment where all guests are able to relax and enjoy them. We are disappointed to learn that this was not the case during your recent stay. We will discuss your comments with our Oasis Pool Complex team to ensure each and every visitor has a memorable time at the pool. We do hope you decide to return in the future so that we may provide you with then exceptional, Five Diamond experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

was so excited to be staying here. love this property as a whole. i will definitely stay again but . . . saw a HUGE cockroach at the pool. kind of thought maybe we'd get a comp on something as this was unbelievably gross and unacceptable. pool service overall was lacking; not attentive at all and we spent the day there eating and drinking. we had to track down our waiter. went to the little coffee shop/ice cream shop in the hotel for coffee and a little bite to eat the next morning and we waited in line for 10 minutes. i finally had to ask if we could be helped as no one was paying attention to us. room was wonderful, of course. we were upgraded because we were celebrating a 50th birthday for a friend. that was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabeprincess49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not indicative of our AAA Five Diamond standards. Resort cleanliness and exceptional, personalized service are the foundation of The Phoenician service culture, and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. With our close proximity to Camelback Mountain and recent high temperatures, we do get the occasional insect, although every effort is made to keep such pests from our outdoor venues. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly share it with our management team to ensure that the appropriate actions are taken – both at the pool and at The Café and Ice Cream Parlor. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Endless thanks the front desk team who really started our trip off to a superb level. Amanda truly has what it takes to offer service excellence. Her knowledge of the property, humble confidence, professional presence and charming style made me want to see what was next. It is great when a classy hotel like Phoenician can be matched by its staff- after all- it is the people who make the brand. Suite upgrade was sweeeeeettttttt- decor is stunning as with the views. Take some time to walk the cactus garden- hidden gem. Thank you again Amanda- keep making people smile.

Room Tip: Be happy and don't forget about the people who make the difference. Awesome lip balm in suite,
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreeHuggerTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Amanda truly demonstrates what it means to provide a AAA Five Diamond experience to all of our guests. Amanda goes above and beyond and treats each guest as if she is their personal ambassador. Thank you again for recognizing the exceptional service you received during your stay. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews