We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel with cool Cactus Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is wonderful with great pools and gardens to wander thru and delicous food (and fast room service). We just got to stay here 2 nights but found it to be very nice. All the staff was helpful and I just loved walking around the gardens. A very luxurious hotel in beautiful Scottsdale Arizona!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DizLiz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy you were able to take advantage of some of the great signature features The Phoenician has to offer. Our two-acre cactus garden is the perfect place for a morning stroll and, with more than 250 varieties of cacti and succulents, there is plenty to see! From traditional Afternoon Tea to 24-hour room service, the resort also provides guests with a variety of dining options – and tastes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,391 - 1,397 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

This luxury hotel still stands for high standards of amenities, customer service and excellence. Despite several changes in ownership over the years and now a signature Starwood property, the Phoenician never disappoints.

Even the standard rooms seem like most other hotels' suites. They are well appointed with room to move around and very comfortable. The staff does an amazing job of making every guest feel right at home.

One recommendation is to have a drink on the balcony outside J&G Steakhouse on the fourth floor. It is smaller, quieter but just as nice as the main balcony off the lobby. The view takes your breath away.

Another recommendation is to make the time to walk up Camelback Mountain. The trailhead is a short walk out of the Phoenician's East Gate and it will take about 2.5 hours roundtrip. Just be sure to bring good walking shoes and plenty of water.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDFreqTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with our high quality of service and spacious accommodations. The J&G Steakhouse balcony is also one of our favorite spots, especially at sunset. A hike at Camelback Mountain is certainly a wonderful way to welcome the sunrise! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The pool area , spa and fitness center were terrific (though the fitness center is a little small) with Zumba and yoga clsses for guests. The only drawback is the limited housekeeping staff, which was inconvenient for us in several ways: 1) We couldn't check in until after 4 pm in our desired room, because it hadn't yet been cleaned ; then 2) the next day housekeeing completely forgot to clean our rooms , so I had to call them when we returned at the end of the day for a quick towel replacement; 3) On Saturday morning (the only day we could sleep in), waddyaknow , housekeeping shows up at 8 a.m. to clean the room!!
I think management is being pennywise and pound foolish by minimizing their room-cleaning staff (Is it because they are limited in whom they can hire, due to Arizona's stringent immigration laws?) . A luxury resort with these steep room prices shoud be able to minimize such inconveniences to their guests. The pool area , though is worth going back for...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfmaria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We regret the inconveniences you experienced with housekeeping – an area for which the resort consistently receives high marks. Each day, we do our utmost to fulfill our guests’ requests without being intrusive. Please note that by calling our Guest Experience Center, you can confirm a specific time for housekeeping service that fits your personal schedule. We hope you’ll join us again in the near future to enjoy our extensive pool complex with water slide, our fitness center with all new equipment – including virtual reality cardio machines – and, of course, the attentive housekeeping efforts for which we are traditionally known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

staff was attentive, professional and pleasantly engaging, food was well above average, shops were were classy and well maintained, all areas were clean and attractive, wonderful location, quiet restful, will definitely return

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Phoenician experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Resort and our staff, and you were able to have a restful vacation with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an 8 night stay over the Christmas-New Year holiday. I relaxed at the Spa where the staff was attentive and very professional while my husband golfed---27 holes in all. The large priceless artwork collection was a wonderful surprise as well as the unique cactus garden you can leisurely tour. There are many swimming pools and even a water slide where the kids can have fun. Service was "top-drawer" with staff who were friendly, polite and dedicated to making sure our every need was met. The large lobby gingerbread house all baked and assembled in the hotel was a treat for our granddaughter who enjoyed watching the video showing how it was made from beginning to end. Look forward to a return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

What a spectacular review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation with us and that you were able to experience so many of our signature amenities including The Phoenician Art Collection, Cactus Garden, and Holiday Gingerbread House. The greatest compliment however is the "top-drawer" service, as that is what we strive to provide each and every day! Thank you so much for visiting and for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late, because of a error with the hotel we had booked, 1am. We were in town for the auto auctions so rooms are very hard to come by. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite because that's all they had available 499.00. When we arrived in the room after about a 10 minute walk we we greeted with a room that had 2 light bulbs out and carpet that needed replacing, it was so stretched out it was a trip hazard. We ordered room service and it took so long we called to cancel but they said it was on its way. How many people were ordering at 1:30, I hate to think how long it would take if it was around dinner time . When the food arrived it was cold, just terrible. When we asked for s late check out we were told it was not possible so it cost us almost 500.00 to use the room for 11 hours. I would never consider booking a room there. Beware!
JM

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We very much appreciate your specific and candid observations and we truly are very sorry that we so badly missed your expectations. You can be assured that we found your comments very helpful. We certainly value your patronage and feedback, and we are thankful for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I first stayed at the Phoenecian in 1990. It was an amazing place then and just as amazing now. First class accommodations with great service and all the amenities. I am sure there are many first class resorts in AZ but the Phoenecian is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. The parking lots and Mountain are nice but the pool view is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColonelTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We appreciate your kind words and your continued patronage at The Phoenician, as we know you have many choices when you travel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $324 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing