We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a magnificient resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still a magnificient resort”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

In spite of new resorts which were built around camleback mountain, Phoenician has remained as a remarkable resort in Arizona.
Staff: Friendly and professional
Room; There have been wide varieties of teh room depending on where they are located. All were big in size, specially impressive bathrooms.
Location: Like most resorts, u need a car, there are always limo service available for 14$ to take to 5 mile radius which basically ocvers the mall, downtown area and restaurants.
Amenities: many swimming pools, Water slide (for the families with children). Very good renovated gym, Gold club and tennis court.
Lobby had live music band at every night I was there.
At times you may feel it is a not brand new hotel but you will feel at all time you are in a luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my city view. I had mountain view originally but I switched it. It was supposedly in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exoticsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to know that your experience was so memorable. The fitness center was recently renovated to include all new equipment, and its availability extended to 24 hours a-day. In regards to our spacious guestrooms, they actually start at 600 square feet, with all bathrooms accented in Italian marble. Phoenician associates work together to provide a luxurious environment complemented by the highest standards of AAA Five Diamond service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonoran Desert from the Buckeye State!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    473
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
505
655
66
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great hotel with impeccable service. Outstanding facilities all around and well maintained grounds. The pool, tennis, golf course and gym facilities were amazing. The staff throughout were excellent and the suite we stayed in felt like home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed in a casita suite at the Phoenician and were blown away by the experience. The resort is quite grand in scale and has an elegance one imagines from a bygone era. The staff we encountered was very friendly and utra professional. We rented a cabana by the Mother of Pearl Pool, which for our family with teens was a good fit. The Mother of Pearl Pool had some small children playing about, but was not over run with tots like the upper pools appeared to be. The service poolside was exceptional. However, in comparison to some of the cabanas we have rented in Las Vegas, I have to say this one at the Phoenician was a bit small and not as well equipped, for example, no television or a/c. We enjoyed snacks and drinks poolside which all arrived in a timely fashion and were of excellent quality. The highlight of our stay though was the suite. The decor of the casita suite we stayed in was lovely. We felt as though we were guests in an elegant home rather than in a hotel. We had a pool-view suite which had a fabulous view of the mountains as well. Ours was a ground floor suite, which normally is not my thing for safety concerns, but in this case the suite flowed so perfectly out onto the 3 patios (yes, 3 patios) and the manicured lawn it literally felt like we were in a luxurious home. The living room had a large sofa, a few occassional chairs and a desk equipped with a fax machine. There was a large flat screen tv in the living room placed above a grand fireplace. Also in the living area was a stunning dining room table which seated 6 and a buffet. We were able to enjoy room service as a family around that table and were amazed by the level of service, such as toast made table side to our liking. The bedrooms were both very large and comfortable. All in all we had a king bedroom with large luxurious bath, a second bedroom with two queens and another luxury bath and the living room in the center which had a pull out sofa bed and another full bath. Our family of 6 was more than comfortable, and the pampering at the Phoenician makes you never want to leave.

Room Tip: If selecting a suite, the casita suites are fabulous. We preferred the pool view, bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family felt at home here, as that is our ultimate goal! Our Casita Suites, where you stayed, were recently renovated to provide a more casually elegant, residential feel. Combined with a staunch commitment to personalized service, such standards serve as the foundation to our AAA Five Diamond culture. We’re glad to hear that it exceeded your expectations and fit your family’s needs. We hope that you will all be able to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Phoenician was a small respite from the toll of completing my PhD and despite visiting during the rainy season, we truly enjoyed the lush amenities provided us there. We ate really tasty burgers at RELISH BURGER BISTRO... $16 is a bit steep,... so we only went once, but we enjoyed the little extras - cute basket of tater tot fries, buttery, grilled bun and homemade root beer. Well, I actually didn't like how sweet the root beer was, so I just exchanged for water, but it was still a nice touch. The breakfast brunch on Sunday at Il Terrazzo is not to be missed with fluffy, blueberry pancakes with the addition of lemon infused ricotta... just lovely! The grounds are well-maintained and our room was whisper quiet despite the many guests on our floor.

Room Tip: This resort is FAR, FAR from anything so not having a car will have you trapped and at the mercy of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeAunderia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and compliments. We take great pride in providing our guests with a unique and innovative culinary experience, in both cuisine and presentation, across all of our diverse restaurants. We hope you left relaxed and refreshed. Congratulations on completing your PhD! Please do visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This must be my 10th stay here and it never disappoints. Quality abounds. My main hotel located Room was excellently furnished and equipped. Throughout the service is seamless and unobtrusive. The whole complex really is immaculate. A great place for a short break.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritchie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind comments! It is our goal to provide each and every guest with an inviting, memorable resort experience -- from beautiful, pristine surroundings to personalized yet subtle, quality service. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 11th visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The staff in the restaurant and in the bar are outstanding.

However, be advised that the accounting system will begin placing credit card charges in the amount that they feel necessary to secure their charges. They bill in advance (you are not trustworthy to pay your bill), and are impossible to get hold of to reconcile the account, if your stay is on a weekend.

I had to call my credit card company to refute the charges which popped up before I even finished my stay or charged anything. They also billed it in excess of the charges incurred by a large amount.

I will not stay at the Phoenician again. Since it is a Starwood property I include this in all future travel as an organization which I will avoid as much as alternatives exist.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for recognizing the service provided by our restaurant and bar staff. We also appreciate your concerns in regards to billing. Please note that the resort placed credit card authorizations, not charges, on your credit card, which were released the following Monday. It is the bank’s standard practice to release authorizations within 3-5 business days from the check-out date. As with all services, we continue to review procedures to provide our guests with the highest quality standards, as defined by our AAA Five Diamond standing. We do hope you will visit us again, allowing us to demonstrate our commitment to those standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was here for a business conference, and couldn't be more impressed with the facilities, food, and service. The rooms were large and truly different that the typical chain offering. The hotel maintains a collection of cactus plants immediately next to the property, and it is a delight to walk through. The pool area is pristine. Most of the meals I had were banquet service, but this was the kind of place where the banquet offerings are truly like a great restaurant meal. I was not able to bring the family, but surely will the next time. The setting, next to a dramatic and massive rock formation, is memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as a business conference guest. Our culinary team works diligently to ensure our group offerings meet the needs of our clients, as well as the standards our AAA Five Diamond ranking represents. We are glad you were able to visit our signature pools and Cactus Garden during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Phoenician with your family, when you can further explore the many diverse activities and programs available for all ages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing