We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Scottsdale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old School Scottsdale”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Had a meeting at the Hilton Scottsdale. Group rate was $140 a night. Found the Tree about 300 yards away on a google map. It was $92. Booked there and had a great time.
The front is a total mess because there resturnat has been closed for three years but
the back is like an oasis. Just 26 rooms all on the ground floor with views of the grounds. When I arrived the Manager Kevin took me to my room and acted like he cared about my visit. That was nice.
At check out they asked me to reply here if I liked it and so here it is.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigJackNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
55
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Home away from home, not to tell ANYBODY about! In fact we have stayed @ the smoke Tree for the last 5 years for 2 - 3 months in high summer, and will be back!
We know the neighborhood, have friends in that part of town, go swimming, biking and golfing, and LOVE to come back, and have lunch and/or dinner near the pool...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchypiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My two sisters and I were in Scottsdale to finish sorting our Mother's estate. We live in different states and of course wanted to stay together to be able to visit. I wish we had found Smoke Tree Resort years ago. It was quiet, comfortable and beautiful. My sisters each had a queen sized bed and I slept on the fold-out couch which was very comfortable. AJ's market is within walking distance and has a wonderful deli for take-out for our late night gab fests. The other visitors all mentioned how fortunate they were to find Smoke Tree, as well. I would be very happy to stay there again. Thank you to the staff.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were planning to stay at the hotel where our conference was being held, but the reviews weren't the best so we decided to look around. We found the Smoke Tree Resort which had nearly perfect reviews. Upon arriving at the resort, we weren't sure what to expect from the exterior, but Eric was so friendly and welcoming that we immediately knew we had made the right decision.

We were shown to our room and Eric offered to help us with our bags. We had our own little parking area right next to the bungalow which was very convenient. The room looked out across a grassy courtyard toward the pool. It was so quiet and secluded we could barely tell we were in a city at all. The pool was perfect for a little play and cooling down.

All in all we were delighted with our stay and are planning another trip next month and hope to stay at the Smoke Tree Resort again on that trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azannie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at SmokeTree. Our room was more like a small apartment, with living room separate from bedroom. We slept like babies even though we were away from home. The room stayed nice and cool the entire time even though temps got up to 107 while we were there. We loved the fact that we could swim in the cute lighted pool any time.. so we often took an "end of day" dip in the pool to relax. It's off season so I suspect the rates were really low because of that - highly recommend taking advantage of the off season rates.. don't let the heat in Phoenix scare you away.

We loved Scottsdale - and great breakfast place just around the corner from SmokeTree at The Good Egg (down Scottsdale Ave turn left on Rose and right into shopping center). TONS of shopping nearby and also plenty of restaurants too. Scottsdale feels very safe and it is convenient to get to anywhere around Phoenix on the 101.

The rooms have complimentary hair dryer so you don't need to pack that. We always had plenty of towels plus they leave towels out at the pool 24/7 if you go for a swim. The room had a coffee maker and small refrigerator and sink separate from the bathroom.

In the morning we were serenaded by the sound of birds chirping and cute little jack rabbits hop around the property. There are lots of beautiful shrubs around the rooms/cottages for a feeling of privacy.

We will definitely be coming back to SmokeTree in the near future!

If you arrive at night it might be hard to find the resort since there are not a lot of flashy lights out front. In fact there is a large dark building in front that I think used to be a restaurant. The resort is sort of behind that. It's located on Lincoln just off about a block from Scottsdale Blvd on the right as you approach Scottsdale Blvd. Easy to miss the entrance - but that is fine with us!

Almost forgot - free wifi was available for the entire time... If you need the wifi check with the hotel management when you check in so that you have a room with good access. Ours had no problems with connectivity.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGurl9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful retreat this is the place! Rooms were clean and quiet and the staff pleasant and accomodating. You do not get the noise and hustle bustle of a large hotel. Scottsdale is literally 500 yards down the road! Great market on the corner and many restaurants within walking distance. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogirl92692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My husband and I were doing an over night together. We arrived and the front of the building is in shambles. We went inside all the local information was very old and then we were taken to our room. The rooms were cement painted walls at first looked clean enough. But then I noticed the blanket on the bed was covered in white anilmal hair. After a call to the frint desk two nice woman came over to shake out my blanket! We checked out after that and the owner was very nice about it. I had read all the good reviews and thought it would be great but I was very disappointed. It is run down and feels very out dated.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lkleinphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STmanager, General Manager at SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
The room shown in this review was extremely clean and the Lead Housekeeper as well as myself visited the room with the guest
as they checked in. There was a claim that dog hair was seen but non could be found during the inspection with the guest. Some guests look for a reason to do a last change and avoid the cancellation charge. As a positive review can be seen at a nearby hotel on the same day, by the same guest, we
stand by our commitment to great room cleanliness. The room was recently remodeled and there is no aspect of the Resort that looks run down.
Our restaurant is under renovation at the front of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Scottsdale North
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows

Property: SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Address: 7101 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-4417
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke Tree Resort & Bungalows is a true desert oasis. Five lush acres are home to 26 recently remodeled suites and bungalows. These individual private retreats offer luxury accommodations with all the modern amenities. Enjoy a workout or relax poolside in the manicured gardens. The expert staff arrange everything from golf and tennis to hiking or massage. World-class shopping and dining is just steps away. Life is too short to sleep in chain hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoketree Resort And Bungalows
Smoketree Resort & Bungalows Hotel Scottsdale
Smoke Tree Hotel
Smoke Tree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing