We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - kind courteous - couldn't have been more helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed for 10 days in May and everyone at the hotel were so helpful and utterly courteous. room was fine and comfortable but after a little noise from next door we were moved to an even nicer apartment. The grounds are cleaned daily, the pool is small but refreshing and the resort is so calming. The location is excellent with restaurants and a high quality supermarket very close. at the price it is an absolute bargain. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJD744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed here this week not knowing what to expect and I have to say I am really pleasantly surprised. This is a delightful little retreat run by a family that gives great customer service, friendship and basically all you need. Why stay at one of the bigger, sterile corporate hotels when the peeps at the Smoke Tree are just so NICE?? I am coming back!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank KT-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This resort is beautiful. The bungalow that we stayed in (#6) was like a nice apartment. My wife loved the vanity in the large bathroom. The back patio was secluded and beautifully landscaped. This unit was also close to the office.
The staff was awesome. Colin even called the bar that I was going to one evening to make sure that they would have the hockey game on that I wanted to watch.
We made the 5 minute walk to AJ's Market every morning for breakfast and supplies. There was boutique shopping and some very nice restaurants all within a short walk.
For the money, This place can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Great location for shopping and restaurants. Comfortable clean rooms in quiet surroundings.
Safe environment for women travelers. Responsive staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

My husband and I were booked for two nights at the end of March for a wedding. However, we were caught in a blizzard in CO that closed all the airports and highways and we were unable to get to Arizona. I called the hotel right as we got to the airport to aprise them of the situation and the owner seemed friendly on the phone. However, later when Expedia called on our behalf to say our flights had been cancelled through no fault of our own, he responded, "Well, we're tired of excuses like Grandma getting sick and bad weather. They still owe for a night's stay." So much for hospitality. Be be forwarned -- if there is any chance your plans might change, stay somewhere else that has a friendlier refund policy. We certainly won't be staying here ever and have told anyone traveling to the area to choose some place where the owners are more reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank tamiindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STmanager, Manager On Duty at SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2009

he Resort regrets that weather and flight issues do occur and can sometimes cause a loss of deposit. The Smoke Tree always gives every guest the option to use their deposit amount again at a future date and this guest was given this option. As this reservation was not booked directly with the
Resort, the travel agent would have had to
also honor this option and they did not.
In high season (this was a March reservation)
Resort occupancy is very high but this cancellation did result in a room not being able to be re-sold. The Smoke Tree hopes the guest will visit the Resort and will honor
their deposit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We were traveling with another couple throughout the Southwest for 2 weeks with Smoke Tree Resort being our final 2 nights in Arizona. A great place to wind down. Very quiet, owners were on site, very friendly and helpful, grounds were beautiful, and rooms were comfortable, clean, and value priced. The location made it very easy to get to the Apache Trail for sightseeing as well as the airport for our return trip to the East Coast. If you're looking for the amenities of a Hyatt or other 5 Star Hotel, this is not the place for you. If you prefer low-key, quiet, and few amenities as we do, this place may be the perfect respite for you. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The first day I was here you could have heard a pin drop next to the pool, with the exception of the pleasant sound of birds. The resort has a beautiful view of Camelback from the pool area. In a 2 day stay, I encountered 6 people next to the pool. It felt as though the place was deserted.

I will agree 100% with the previous review writer. When I pulled up on Sunday morning to a boarded up hotel restaurant and lobby, a note on the door that the management would return soon, and nobody to be seen, I thought I had been scammed. I asked to be shown the resort and the rooms and was satisfied that it was truly still in business.

Cleanliness was fine, nice rooms - no issues there. There is a fine foods grocery store within steps of the property which was a huge plus. I think this is a very nice resort for the price, but would ask that they update their website to indicate that it is under construction, it does not have a restaurant or massage service poolside. The reason for my visit required work/writing so seclusion was perfect, however it was literally a ghost town. This resort has been seriously affected by the economy. I wish it the best and do not wish to deter customers. Bottom line....this is not a chain hotel. There is no restaurant, food service, wake up call, massages, exercise room, etc. the wireless is free but very spotty.....however...for those who do not care about those amenities, it is a great location in Paradise Valley, clean and very, very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristenBMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STmanager, Manager on Duty at SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2009

This guest seemed to dislike the Smoke Tree from the moment she arrived for her 10am check in. Luckily her room happened to be ready early or she might have had to wait. Her comment about the economy was right on the money in that the "downturn" did cause the resturant operator to fail and not open as expected. This guest could have seen that on our website as it was clearly posted.
In reality, the weaker economy has greatly increased the Resort's occupancy as guests search for better value. As for food, guests enjoy the 13 resturants within walking distance and the gourmet market right next door.

The Smoke Tree is a small place with only 26 rooms but some guests seem to think they are booking a reservation at a large chain hotel like Hilton or Marriott. The staff work hard not to be like that and the motto is that "life is too short to sleep in chain hotels."

As for the other comments, the Resort does have massages, an exercise room, free internet, wake up calls and free bike rentals. It is not clear how this guest missed all these items but hopefully she will return and enjoy the Smoke Tree on her next visit to Scottsdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sundial
Best Western Plus Sundial
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
653 reviews
4.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#60 of 75 in Scottsdale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows

Address: 7101 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-4417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $128 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke Tree Resort & Bungalows is a true desert oasis. Five lush acres are home to 26 recently remodeled suites and bungalows. These individual private retreats offer luxury accommodations with all the modern amenities. Enjoy a workout or relax poolside in the manicured gardens. The expert staff arrange everything from golf and tennis to hiking or massage. World-class shopping and dining is just steps away. Life is too short to sleep in chain hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoketree Resort & Bungalows Hotel Scottsdale
Smoketree Resort And Bungalows
Smoke Tree Hotel
Smoke Tree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing