We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed and supported a local business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We loved our king bungalow, and this place is close to everything in Scottsdale, with plenty of restaurants nearby, and a nice boutique grocery next door. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

If you want a laid-back stress-free place to stay, that is also a great bargain and alternative to the national chains, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

We can't thanks enough the staff. We went to Scottsdale during Spring Training (as we do every year) and found this place by chance. The reviews were not all favorable but we decided to see for ourselves and we couldn't be more happier with our decision. Smoke Tree is in deed the best kept "little secret", is away from everything that may interfere with your piece and quite. Great stores and restaurants nearby. This place has a "home like" feeling and yes we'll be back and for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Let the staff know wheather you want to stay close to the street, the pool, the back but no matter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinkNGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This place from the front looks like its abandoned as it once had a restaurant (and is presently being renovated for another) but once you pull in it's a little oasis! Quiet, lovely older but very nice rooms. Small resort (of which I like as I don't like the large flashy expensive resorts) Filled with birds, has a lovely private table and chairs where we had coffee every morning. It has a microwave, little refridge, coffee maker, place settings for two. Just very clean and nice. I loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRtravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Chose Smoketree for four nights because $88/night was saner than $329/night for the Hilton one block away, where the conference I was attending was scheduled. Family-owned since 1960 and clearly run with love. Small pool, Bocci-ball court, lawns, laundry microwave, fridge and rooms all clean and in working order. Quail and Hummingbirds greeted me every day, as did the super-friendly and helpful staff. Attached restaurant unfortunately out of business, but was within walking distance to 3-4 other bars/eateries as well as a small supermarket and drug store. Facilities built in the 50’s-60’s with nice solid brick walls and obviously maintained very well. Convenient to Loop 101 and Old-Town Scottsdale. Many different sized rooms (incl 2-bedroom) available.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Upon arrival to the property we did notice the large vacant restaurant that put off some of the other reviewers, the exterior is well light, as is the parking lot. The office to check in is located to the west side of this building (right side as you face the property). We were greeted immediately, checked in and escorted to our room. We stayed in a King suite (2 separate rooms), the unit was clean as were the bed linens and towels. There was ample hot water for bathing. The A/C unit worked very well. The mattress was firm and not lumpy. This is an older, but well maintained property, the exterior walls are of brick which allows for a very quiet stay. The WiFi was a nice touch, we had 2 bars of signal and were able to check e-mails, watch videos without trouble, gaming might be an issue for persons who participate. The grounds are well kept and lend the feeling of being out of the city. This location is close to fine dining, casual dining, amazing pizza, upscale grocery stores, and shopping, all with in walking distance. I would stay here again and recommend to a family member or friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was my first trip to Phoenix and frankly wasn't all that excited. We choose this place because it was significantly cheaper than the big resorts down the street and the suites are good for families. When I pulled up to this place I was so worried; the front does look abandoned and gross. When we pulled around back to the room I breathed a sign of relief. We were in a two bedroom suite (3 queen beds) with one bathroom, a kitchen and large living room. It was a great size for three of us.

Out the back door we had a large patio area with chairs and plenty of shade (a commodity in Phoenix). We were right next to the pool which is tiny but since there wasn't really anyone around worked just fine. The pool area has both natural shade and sun with green grass everywhere (see the pics). I also really liked that they had a bocce ball court.

This place is so quiet so if you are looking for a busy pool scene or restaurants, it isn't for you. If you want a quiet retreat its very nice. As someone else said, the AJs market next door is awesome and a great place to get supplies if you plan on eating in the suite rather than going out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gopher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed at the Smoke Tree many times in their suite called "Rancho Raymundo" and must say you'll likely never find anything like it. It's not so much the fantastic Scottsdale location, quiet seclusion or the mature, desert oasis, but more so the people who have run it for nearly half a century. When I stayed there, it was operated by Curtis and Melinda, but now it's run by their children, Colin and Eric and family. What an amazing capacity to serve with genuine smiles and big hearts. I cannot say thanks enough for making my stay, well . . . personally historic! Smoke Tree, you have my undying gratitude. Try to match that Hyatt, Marriott and the rest. Try to match THAT. . .

Room Tip: Ask for "Rancho Raymundo" if it is still available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sundial
Best Western Plus Sundial
#31 of 75 in Scottsdale
651 reviews
4.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#60 of 75 in Scottsdale
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#35 of 75 in Scottsdale
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows

Address: 7101 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-4417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $129 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke Tree Resort & Bungalows is a true desert oasis. Five lush acres are home to 26 recently remodeled suites and bungalows. These individual private retreats offer luxury accommodations with all the modern amenities. Enjoy a workout or relax poolside in the manicured gardens. The expert staff arrange everything from golf and tennis to hiking or massage. World-class shopping and dining is just steps away. Life is too short to sleep in chain hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoketree Resort & Bungalows Hotel Scottsdale
Smoketree Resort And Bungalows
Smoke Tree Hotel
Smoke Tree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing