We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place tucked away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Fair Oaks CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place tucked away”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Smoke Tree Resort is a great find. The front is deceiving but don't let that stop you. Behind it is a little oasis. Rooms are clean and equipped. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask-they'll get you what you need. AJ's grocery store is great-it is located right by the resort. I would highly recommend this place. Sue & Tennis from California

Room Tip: Tell them what you need and they'll accomodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
53
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Phoenix for the 2011 Ironman Arizona. Most hotels near the race site were booked or very expensive. After looking on Trip Advisor I found this little gem. From the front it may be off putting due to a restaurant space being renovated. However, turn the corner and it's a little desert oasis. Beautiful landscaping, well manicured lawns and a small heated pool all make for a wonderful view from your room. I felt like we got the deal of a century for $80/night. Our bungalow had a large living room, separate large bedroom with king bed, huge walk in closet, and standard bathroom. Our living room opened up to a small patio with a table and chairs. Lovely view of the pool. The living room had a new flat screen tv. There was a small wet bar with a microwave, dishes, sink and fridge. The owner was so kind to us, allowing my husband a late checkout the day after his race. This is the only place we'll stay when visiting the Phoenix area. It's private, quiet and secluded. Far better than your everyday run of the mill chain hotel. The only downside I found was spotty wireless internet service. Other than that, five stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandt917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I am currently staying at the Smoke Tree Resort and truly believe this is a hidden gem. My unit has new carpeting, queen bed that is really comfy, kitchenette with microwave, frig, coffee maker and wet bar. Very nicely decorated with flat screen tv, leather chairs, etc. There is a fabulous grocery store (A.J.'s about a block away in a nice shopping center). This is not the Ritz, Hyatt or Sheraton, thankfully. It is a place where you can truly rest. There is a swimming pool and the grounds are lovely: tall mature trees, cactus, flowers, etc. A place like Smoke Tree is very hard to find these days. Remember the places your parents took you every year for vacation that became a sort of second home? That is Smoke Tree. I hope that it remains just the way it is and is not pressured into changing in any way. The owner is a lovely woman who I happened to run into while walking on the property. She has owned the resort for more than 40 years!! The price is extremely reasonable and the location is great.

I read the review by the person who said he ran away because the restaurant is closed and the office sign wasn't very big. All I can say is that he truly missed out on a nice stay. I was told that the resort doesn't run the restaurant --they lease it and they are between lessees right now. It's not really needed when you can prepare food in the units and the shopping center is so close.

I also read an article in the Arizona Republic, Scottsdale section, by Michael Collins on 10/28 saying that places like Smoke Tree are not meeting their potential and consequently the City misses out on more revenue. You need to mind your own business, Mr. Collins. I personally look for places like the Smoke Tree Resort and they are few and far between.

If you are ever in the area and want a simple, clean, homey place to stay, I highly recommend the Smoke Tree Resort.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are at the back of the lot and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PALandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Had made a reservation at this place online based on reviews here on Trip Advisor. The reservation was made 3 months in advance. When we arrived in Scottsdale the GPS took us to the address but I drove away unsure the place was still in business. The parking lot was empty, there was an empty restaurant space I gather and trash all over in front in the lot. There was a tiny "office" sign on the left portion of the lot pointing to the office...
I was so shocked we just ran, never checking in and went right to the Hilton Scottsdale who took us in minus reservation. They were great!!!
I went online to read the cancellation policy and it said 7 days prior!!!
If you want clients then you need to clean up and at least put signs out there showing you are alive and well. There were so many empty stores in the area that seeing this (what looked like) abandoned place), gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank snowwhiteMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STmanager, Manager at SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
This guest did not stay at our resort or even speak to any of the staff.

There is a vacant restaurant space on the North end of the property but that
has been the case for the past four years. This does not effect the grounds, grass or
gardens of the Resort.

We have asked Tripadvisor to remove this unfair review and look forward to
many more years of providing great hospitality to our guests.
Eric Williams
SmokeTree Resort and Bungalows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2011

A fabulously relaxing stay. The accommodation was great with the only slight criticism being the lack of plates and bowls. However, all in all great value for money and still worthy of 5 stars. Great for bird watchers.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I agree with the other posters who think this place is a hidden treasure.- a little oasis with pretty grounds, clean and comfy, well located. The rooms are nicely renovated, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. It's an older, character property, family-run. Yes, the showerhead was cranky and certainly the front entrance is less than prepossessing, due to the vacant restaurant fronting the complex. But these things are minor. Sit outside at your patio table, enjoy a glass of wine (walk over to the gourmet market to purchase food and drink or eat at the many restaurants nearby) and take in the sunset. Have a swim. Relax. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmumirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Third visit. Still the best deal in town. Hot weather rates get silly low.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrrsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
1.4 mi away
The Scottsdale Inn
The Scottsdale Inn
#44 of 75 in Scottsdale
596 reviews
4.6 mi away
3 Palms Hotel
3 Palms Hotel
#34 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
0.6 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows

Property: SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Address: 7101 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-4417
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke Tree Resort & Bungalows is a true desert oasis. Five lush acres are home to 26 recently remodeled suites and bungalows. These individual private retreats offer luxury accommodations with all the modern amenities. Enjoy a workout or relax poolside in the manicured gardens. The expert staff arrange everything from golf and tennis to hiking or massage. World-class shopping and dining is just steps away. Life is too short to sleep in chain hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoketree Resort & Bungalows Hotel Scottsdale
Smoketree Resort And Bungalows
Smoke Tree Hotel
Smoke Tree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing