We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Holiday Was Worth the Hassles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Villa Holiday Was Worth the Hassles”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Summary: Very nice, but not perfect. Staff helpful overall yet the facility is showing a little age. Light sleepers should ask for empty neighboring units if possible. Detailed review follows.

I booked a villa for the Christmas holidays several months in advance, so I got a reduced rate. This was a splurge holiday with multiple travelers flying from multiple cities so I wanted to be sure we had ample room to be together (and had space enough to get away from each other if we were experiencing any tension).

For our purposes, this 2-bedroom villa was great. The master BR was spacious, with an en-suite bath that was better than in the hotel itself. (Have been a guest at the main hotel previously.) Our headboard backed a neighboring suite's TV, and unfortunately the other guests started watching loud morning news about 4 a.m. Not quite loud enough to complain about, but loud enough to bother me (a very light sleeper).

Sweet little patio area was great, with a table-and-chairs setup that let the one smoker feel part of the space though she did could not smoke in the villa itself due to other travelers. I enjoyed early morning coffee here and would love to do so again.

Kitchen appliances pretty standard -- full-size fridge, oven, cooktop. Microwave. Dishwasher (which was loose in its case and needed to be pushed back into place several times to close properly) with a box of soap. Sealed sponge, small dish soap, paper towels supplied. Otherwise, kitchen was minimally furnished (not enough plates or wine glasses for four) but the hotel "in-room dining" staff kindly brought what was needed in one of the golf carts used to supply villa needs and help housekeeping get to the villas. I planned to do a breakfast meal the first day, and started to crack an egg into the single skillet when I found there was not a spatula of any kind. The other pots were okay, but obviously there for show and not really used often.

Since I planned to do some food prep for the holiday meal, I found it was worthwhile to just buy a spatula, plus some grocery-store quality baking sheets and pans ($40 or so). If you relied on what was in the kitchen you could stir soup but that would be about it. We did use every pan and pot for the main holiday meals, so it all worked out (once the menu was simplified).

Remainder of the villa was fine. Fireplace was used less than planned (city of Scottsdale had a ban on burning because of the weather) but the hotel quickly provided two mini-logs when asked to do so. I really missed having the fire crackling as we gathered to open gifts, but our tech-savvy traveler hooked the big screen TV up to Netflix for a video fireplace. (Way to go, B!)

As a nod to the holiday, I added my own decorations in each room. Bright kitchen towel splurge from the nearby AJ grocery had Christmas cactus image (cactus with a Santa hat). I also ordered an inflatable two-food saguaro to stand in for the Christmas tree, and it had plenty of space in the living room corner, a nice large window on each side. Even had tiny stockings over the fireplace (thanks to those great Command removable hooks). It helped make Christmas in a hotel room seem less impersonal. A dozen red roses from Safeway dressed up the table (thanks again to the hotel staff for finding me a vase to borrow!).

Last day there the washer's water pipe burst. While I might have. Hoped for faster help, in truth this could happen to any washer at any time. When the problem could not be fixed immediately, the hotel offered to get our clothes laundered through their usual service but since we were leaving the next day this wasn't practical. Appreciated the hotel trying to "step up" for the problem.

At full rate and high season, this villa would have been way too expensive for me (and not worth the price tag). At the reduced rate and as a special trip, this worked out nicely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 1MoreReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you and your family for being with us over this past holiday season. We appreciate being part of the celebration, your business and this positive review and feedback on your stay in one of our Villas. I do apologize for the "hassles" you encountered but am glad that the staff did all they could to assist and make your time with us better. We do hope that we will see you again next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    448
    233
    89
    53
See reviews for
393
313
73
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I am relocating to the Phoenix area and have been staying in one of the Villas. They are excellent! Very large, clean, fully equipped with everything needed to stay over a long period of time. The hotel is a bit far away if you want to take advantage of their amenities. The hotel restaurant is mediocre as is the fitness center but since the Villas have full kitchens I have not needed the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartytraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for selecting our resort's Villas for your relocation stay and for this outstanding review and highest ratings. We appreciate your business and feedback. We have passed on your comments about the restaurant and fitness center as we do not accept "mediocre". I wish we had more specific details to work with but they will work hard to be better. I hope you enjoy your new home and that we will see you again when there is a future opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here just for one night but loved it! The hotel staff was very accommodating! There are many restaurant options to choose from within walking distance of hotel. The Ambassador at this hotel was Awesome! He was very helpful and Friendly! I will definitely be returning to this hotel the next time we visit Scottsdale.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for selecting our resort for your visit and for this very positive review of our property and the service and hospitality of our staff, especially our lobby ambassador, James Beeler. He is truly an asset for us and our guests. We are so sorry that you were only able to be with us for one night but all the more reason to come back to get away with us from the cold of winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel to visit in the Scottsdale area, I would highly reccomend this location. The hotel is centraly located to various restaurants, art galleries, and lots of shopping. Upon arrival we felt very welcomed and the bell service was very friendly. Should you go, make sure to sit at the outdoor bar (located by the pool) and visit with Michele. She is very sweet and outgoing. She is a huge reason that we would re visit this Hilton location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cadie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Cadie for being with us and for this very positive review and highest ratings on our resort and the service provided by our staff. We will pass on special thanks and recognition to Michele, who you mentioned by name. Michele and all of us at the Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Room great size, bathroom extremely small, fan had a very annoying squeal, door was peeling, in need of an upgrade, not Hilton quality. Mattress was very mushy, did not get a get a good nights sleep, needs to be replaced. Service was excellent, restaurant coffee was superb! We choose this property due to location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for selecting our resort for you visit and for this feedback on your stay. We appreciate your compliments of our location, coffee and the service provided by our staff. I apologize for the room issues you experienced and will review them with engineering to address them immediately. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location to shopping along Scottsdale Road and great restaurants in the area. Easy access to the 101 interstate. Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Comfortable beds. Very pleasant, friendly, and caring staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Debra, thank you for being with us and for this very positive review and highest ratings of your stay, our resort and service team. Since you are only hours away in Flagstaff, keep us in mind if you need a little more sun and warm later this winter. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent hotel with easy access to Old Scottsdale Staff very friendly Villas were very big and spacious All amenities you would need Shuttle service used was prompt and friendly Pool was very nice and bar area was very good Would be happy to return to this Hilton on future trips to the Scottsdale area

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mecca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for making our resort part of your special Holiday vacation. We appreciate your very positive review of your stay, our resort and the service and hospitality provided by our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. If the winter gets too long in Canada, remember that you have sun, warmth and our staff waiting to take good care of you here in Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
2.4 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
1.4 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
0.7 mi away
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas

Property: Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
Address: 6333 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85250-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#31 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#35 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#47 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Scottsdale Resort And Villas
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Hilton Scottsdale Hotel
Scottsdale Hilton Resort Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing