We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We love this place, this was our second visit to SCR and again we found the front desk staff to be really helpful. Due to an error on our booking (through a third party) we found ourselves allocated a 2 bedroomed unit which was far too big for us. We spoke to Gina on Reception the morning after our late arrival at the resort and she promised to try to get us into a Studio Unit which was what we wanted - within the hour she phoned us to advise that she had a Studio available facing the putting green and we happily changed units.

While the resort is small it has a massive heart, it provides lots of great activities (make your own jewelly and dream catchers etc) has a restaurant (with fabulous hot Pretzels), bar (with brilliant cocktails) and a cinema (showing recent dvd's) on site and every member of staff is approachable and helpful. They've also installed some adult outdoor fitness items on the Kokapelli trail, so if you don't like going to the gym, you can do some fun fitness things in the beautiful ground surrounded by birds, bunnies and lizards :)

I would again recommend this resort to anyone who wants to be well looked after and feel comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jax077j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We love that you took advantage of all the resort amenities and activities. We like to keep our guests busy and having fun! Our front desk staff enjoys helping you out. Can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    240
    84
    21
    17
See reviews for
371
277
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I own two weeks at a timeshare resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida---at a stellar Gold Crown Resort. I traded one week to stay here at the Scottsdale Camelback Resort and what a mistake. I've traded my weeks for other timeshare weeks all over the world and this was one of the worst and certainly one of the most disappointing vacas I've had in a long time. Since it's a mile from Old Town Scottsdale, I assumed it would be top notch. UGH. It was really bad. Right from the start when we entered the room, it smelled like a very bad musty odor --- and it was old and dark--smelled like it hadn't been aired out in a year. It was dark and really depressing. The room needs freshening and updating for starters. Second, there is no where to go. There is a small pool and a small bar/grill next to the pool. There is also a restaurant that is more like a combination diner/fast food take out joint. Other than this, there is no restaurant on the premises. So, you better have a car and "a plan" for your meals and entertainment, because there is absolutely nothing to do at this resort and you certainly won't want to stay in an old dark smelly musty room. Never again. I urge the owners to do some updating---pronto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abbyk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is lovely, everything was very nice. The pool is great. Several areas with ice water filled with lemons, strawberries, pineapple available at the pool and lobby. Outside eating and sitting area is very inviting, lots of water features made us want to hang out but it was around 118 degrees the whole time we were there. Lol. So, I grabbed a couple of lovely wine glasses at the store because we had paper cups in our room, planning on staying in our room to stay cool and enjoy a glass of wine (I hate paper cups) the next day the maid took one of them and sent it to who knows where. She seemed mortified and called trying to find it. I called the front desk and just asked for another glass. They apologized profusely and immediately sent two goblets to our room and took $20 off our bill. I told them They didn't need to pay, I'd only paid a couple bucks but they insisted. I call that exceptional service. I'd stay here again. Food was great at all the restaurants there too.

Room Tip: We were across from the pool, it was a perfect spot. They called it the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlabell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is our seventh time here in the last ten years, and love it so much we've bought our own villa. Our main attraction to this resort is the swimming pool and recreation options. The villas are well-equipped, and you certainly feel like you are at home. There's no better place in the western hemisphere to relax and catch rays!

Customer service is always eager to please, and groundskeepers and maintenance personnel are always circulating the property making improvements. We've been here in January, July, September, and October, and there's so much to do both inside and outside this property that you never feel like the resort is crowded.

The on-site restaurant has a great menu, and food is priced very reasonable for a resort of this caliber.

You won't be disappointed staying, playing, wining, or dining at the Scottsdale Camelback Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We appreciate your 5 star review and are excited you have had so many wonderful stays with us! We are happy to have you on board and are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Said a week..problems started at checkin, everything cost extra when ur there..promised free breakfast..given none..pool has kid area but not family friendly..had to ask to get room cleaned...there are a lot nicer places closer by..not friendly staff..front desk acted anything u asked bothered them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beardedbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Public Relations Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant. This is not the service that we take pride in and I want to thank you for letting us know. It is through your comments that we can correct any wrongs and provide service that we are proud of. If you find time in your busy schedule, I would love to speak with you and gain an opportunity to make things right for you. My contact information is 480-947-3300 ext. 528. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you again for your response.

Sincerely,

Julie Witt
Directory of Marketing and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The studio unit can easily sleep four, but everyone will share one bathroom. The kitchen is well-equipped, including dish soap and a full-sized dishwasher. We enjoyed the pool area and the poolside Grille restaurant and bar. Don't miss the $2 tacos (on Tuesdays and Wednesday when we were there.) We stayed a week, but could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailgaiamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Public Relations Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay with us at Scottsdale Camelback Resort. Thank you for the positive review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be happy to help you plan your next trip here!

Sincerely,

Julie Witt
Director of Marketing and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Scottsdale Camelback Resort for 2-3 weeks periods for the past 10 years. Needless to say - we enjoy staying at the resort while in Arizona. The resort curb appeal is excellent, rooms are a good size with updated furnishing. The units are well equipped with the necessary cooking utensils. The pool, hot tub and poolside area is excellent - a good size and well kept. Of particular benefit is the poolside bar/cafe area. This provides a nice and relaxing environment. The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. They will go out of their way to meet your needs. The fitness centre could have some updated and additional equipment. We will return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate the 5 star review! We are thrilled you found our poolside atmosphere to be so fantastic! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
4.5 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
3.4 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Property: Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Address: 6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1997
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Camelback Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Vacatia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Scottsdale Camelback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Camelback Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing